We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and overpriced”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #238 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 24 October 2011

At the time of my reservation I booked a car to pick me up at the airport and was assured by the manager that all the necessary arrangements had been made. However, when I eventually arrived in New Delhi, early in the morning after a long and tiring flight, no-one was there to meet me. I was later told at the hotel that they had no record of any car being booked.

I then found that nothing in this hotel seemed to work quite as it should. Perhaps the most annoying problems were the fact that the tv regularly cut-out and It took about 5 minutes for the water in the shower to warm up. In addition, the rooms were very noisy and you could hear other peoples alarms going off. I felt that I could never really relax.

This feeling of unease was further exacerbated when I asked if I could leave a suitcase in storage at the hotel for a couple of days whilst I was away in another part of India. I was amazed that the initial reaction was to refuse even though I would be returning for two more nights.

On the positive side the staff were friendly and the location was good. Overall, however, I would say that a lot of improvements need to be made before the management can come anywhere near to justifying the prices they charge.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blankko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The hotel and rooms look NOTHING like the web site and I'm not sure where those pictures come from. So don't expect anything like that.

It is being renovated (apparently this has been going on for many months now) and is therefore both noisy and dusty. The first night, I had to change room late at night because of some loud mechanical noise in the room. The room phone did not work. Room amenities are poor.

Overall it was not a good stay. This hotel is not comfortable and I would not recommend it. Next time I will spend more and stay at a proper hotel.

The upside is that this hotel has a decent garden and the breakfast is quite good.

Room Tip: Find a better room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel during a business trip. The room was small but good and clean enough. They gave me a twin bed room although I came alone. The room service was bad, they forgot my order and I have to wait for two hours before I rang them to remind about my order. The breakfast was not a buffet breakfast. You have to order from the menu, so the choice and size were limited.

On the positive note, internet was free and the hotel location was good. But comparing the price with the room and service, overall I think this hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radjaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The hotel is in a good part of new delhi, especially if one has work in the diplomatic Enclave. But the positives end there.

The hotel adds on charges which the guest never incurred. I saw a poor lady trying very hard to convince the desk staff (the single desk staff who is there, that is) that she did not incur some charges. while I was chekcing out the next day, surprise surprise, I was hit with some additional non-existant charges too.

They tried to stick me in one of the rooms of the 112-114 series, which is the old wing. Upon vigorous protest, they finally changed my room 4 hours after I checked in.

The rooms had no electric outlets: I had to move the bedside table to unplug the bedside lamp and plug in my adapter to that my laptop could run in the Indian system.

Now here is where they really rip off their customers: when you check out and head to the airport, they call a cab with who they have an arrangement and a cut, no doubt. The cab picks you up, but the meter is hidden by a piece of cloth. One the guest is halfway to the airport, they remove the cloth and one discovers the meter is showing 700 rupees or so already, while a drop to the airport should not cost more than 300-400 Max. They tried this with me, and I had to cough up 500 rupees. never again. Avoid this hotel; there are plenty of other hotels in this range.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason_M_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We were in Delhi for 4 days and stayed at the Diplomat Hotel in Chanakyapuri. We paid Rs. 7000/- per night. We were a couple and they gave us TWIN Rooms when we mentioned we wanted a Double Room (Dont think the staff understand the difference). They told us they would shift us the following day but when approached said they were full. Like we didnt know that would be their excuse.

Mr. Thomas at the reception couldnt read our Check-in details and was asking us questions answered in the form already.

I called them us 6 times for a confirmation and they gave me verbal confirmations. I would advise anyone to look at other options which would be worth the cost. The hotel is pricey and other than location has not much to offer. People say the restaurant is good, but I beg to differ.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelferns80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Average room, very clean, let hot water run for several minutes to warm up. Food is great here. At end of stay have cash in hand, everyone comes to see you when you check out and expects to be tipped.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KL214504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I liked the nice, contemporary design. The service in the reception was fine, but a bit slow.

The hotel restaurant served Italian food in the evening - not the best I've had, but ok. The breakfast was a bit limited, just some small items to chose from in a menu.

It was a fairly expensive stay, and overall I don't think it was worth that kind of money.

The hotel is located just next to the consulate district.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#419 of 715 in New Delhi
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashok
The Ashok
#203 of 715 in New Delhi
587 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#111 of 715 in New Delhi
631 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
2.0 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#77 of 715 in New Delhi
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: 9 Sardar Patel Marg | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110021, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £78 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomat 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst lush greenery , the 25 room Four star Hotel located on 9 Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave Chanakyapuri, is a reflection of contemporary sophistication, luxurious elegance, exquisite Interiors, Impeccable service and unparallel hospitality with a myriad of amenities makes it the capitals finest Boutique Hotel. The Hotel offers you marvelously designed 17 deluxe rooms and 8 Suites with quality interiors and decor where no two suites look alike.The Hotel boasts of housing one of the most elegant and stylish restaurant, Olive Beach. done in classic white and brilliant blue, offering true Italian cuisine with its fashionable eclectic crowd, busy bar and its exotic Mediterranean menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing