We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location comfortable 3 star”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #283 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel is located in the picturesque diplomaatic area of delhi, very near India Gate.
It is in a quiet neighbourhood. Do not expect 5 star comfort, it is reasonably priced for a good night's sleep.
the positives: the mediterranean resto bar Olive is situated in the Hotel, so easy to have a nice meal and drink after a long day's work. Breakfast is also at Olive..decent-eggs to order, cereals, and a fruit plate..do not expect cold meat platters, cheeses,etc.
the airconditioning works well, bed linen is clean and fresh
the negatives...no elevators, so have to climb up stairs, so not suitable for the elderly.
there is no counter space in the toilet around the sink, so nowhere to keep toileteries. they are very stingy with hand, face and bath towels, however provide them when asked. even tissue paper is given to you if asked, but very little.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagladyMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Early this year I was there on a business trip. I feel the room is overpriced. Breakfast is a joke.. They call it as a buffet but nothing close to a buffet. I purchased the room online for INR 7000. I dont recommend anyone to stay there at that price. I paid INR 7500 at Hilton Saket.. which was worth.. a BIG NO to this Hotel..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 571Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Diplomat and found the room to be nice and comfortable, the restaurant to have excellent pizza, and the staff to be friendly. The major drawback was that the toilet did not flush, for three days! They even said that they fixed it at one point, but the next morning it wasn't working again. The manager agreed to compensate me for one of the nights with a pizza, but when I checked out, I had to pay for the pizza too! It's too bad that this overshadowed a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DohaWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent. Rooms are nice and clean, staff friendly. The hotel does not run the restaurant on its own. The restaurant is a theme one, hence very over priced. However, me and my colleague landed up having hairstrips in our food; not expected at that price! Overall the hotel, accomodation, and staff are good, but the restaurant may be a pain!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KorakBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

For our first hotel in INdia for a 3 month trip, we wanted to land in luxury to settle in for a few days. For the price we thought this would be seriously decent accommodation. For starters we had to be moved rooms twice as the rooms were just filthy - layers of dust everywhere, and had not been cleaned recently. HOt water was dubious but eventually did arrive. Location was also very far out - further than we expected which meant lots of tuk tuks. The staff were friendly however and this was an ok place to stay but they charged too much for what it was.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugartot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Hotel Diplomat has a very nice location. The price seems a little too expensive at first but the quality of rooms are very good and the staff is polite. The food is also up to the standards expected from a hotel of this quality. I would recommend it to anybody who is able to afford the rates. Its a good option and has a great location in the lush green and quiet area of New Delhi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarun_wadhwa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

stayed for one night before an early flight

room was okay but a bit stuffy.

staff was very unfriendly.

restaurant is in a dark corner of the room

very easy to reach the airport

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#427 of 736 in New Delhi
154 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
The Ashok
The Ashok
#211 of 736 in New Delhi
611 reviews
Hauz Khas
Iris Park Hotel
Iris Park Hotel
#159 of 736 in New Delhi
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#76 of 736 in New Delhi
2,589 reviews
The Hans New Delhi
#113 of 736 in New Delhi
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: 9 Sardar Patel Marg | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110021, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £74 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomat 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst lush greenery , the 25 room Four star Hotel located on 9 Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave Chanakyapuri, is a reflection of contemporary sophistication, luxurious elegance, exquisite Interiors, Impeccable service and unparallel hospitality with a myriad of amenities makes it the capitals finest Boutique Hotel. The Hotel offers you marvelously designed 17 deluxe rooms and 8 Suites with quality interiors and decor where no two suites look alike.The Hotel boasts of housing one of the most elegant and stylish restaurant, Olive Beach. done in classic white and brilliant blue, offering true Italian cuisine with its fashionable eclectic crowd, busy bar and its exotic Mediterranean menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing