We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisitely beautiful place to stay!!”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #273 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exquisitely beautiful place to stay!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I and my wife stayed at the hotel on 21st July, 2014. We are very much happy with the hospitality of the hotel staffs. They all are very much gentle, cooperative, with good English vocabulary! Their room air conditioners are powerful! Bathrooms are spacious, cool, neat and clean. Wifi is good! Minibar is nice! Room has telephone with calling outside facility. Breakfast is simple and nice!

Next time I wish to stay there again along with my family members and kids!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Atiqul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat2014, Manager Operations at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Diplomat

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel, service and staff have left you with a favorable impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team at the hotel who were happy to receive the same. Your positive feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Diplomat for another memorable experience.

Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    31
    34
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
14
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The rooms were neat and tidy and the toilets clean. We stayed for one night on July 3rd.
The restaurant is being renovated. As the building is old there is continuous renovations.
The staff are very polite and helpful and the rates are reasonable.
I definitely recommend this hotel and will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Very good location if you have work with the Embassy's. 10 minute ride Connaught Place to shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat2014, Manager Operations at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Diplomat

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel, service and staff have left you with a favorable impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team at the hotel who were happy to receive the same. Your positive feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Diplomat for another memorable experience.

Thanks & Regards

Sandeep Balodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

One should not stay in hotel Diplomat and waste their time, energy and money. Rooms are not good and service is also poor. Air conditioners were not functioning when temperature of Delhi was 42 degree C on 2nd June 2014. Air conditioner was just making noice. Further it was funny to know that since we booked through internet, therefore complimentary breakfast is not possible. Even on payment, when we entered, there were cornflakes, fresh fruits, bottled juice, tea or coffee. For any other item, it was on order. Material was not kept there. So we ordered for curd, aloo parathas, bread toast and it took more than 15 minutes for service.

Room Tip: there is no choice at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shankargarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat2014, Manager Operations at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Diplomat

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to our notice. I have noted your observations for suitable corrective action.At Diplomat it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.

Thanks & Regards

Sandeep Balodi

Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Diplomat is in the diplomatic enclave of Delhi and thus the name. However, few diplomats stay here. We had frequented the hotel's restaurant many times and enjoyed the food and quality of service. Unfortunately, the hotel does not match the restaurant. (which is now closed for renovations). Despite reservations and a paper showing the reservation, the hotel desk clerk seemed mystified at our arrival at 11pm but a room was found. It was very tired - the bathroom especially was in need of lots of upgrades, a thorough cleaning, and several repairs. The room was decent in size, fairly clean, and the beds comfortable. The next day we changed rooms to one that was somewhat in better condition, but again those bathrooms. Rooms need a fresh coat of paint and the exterior of the hotel needs a pressure wash and new paint. Staff English skills are pretty basic. While both of our rooms had refrigerators, neither worked. The a/c was efficient, quite necessary in Delhi in May. There was a flat screen TV but we never turned it on. One positive of the hotel is that the rooms have double paned windows, which very effectively cuts out the noise of the nearby busy street. The Diplomat would not be a hotel I would return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat2014, General Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Nero New Delhi,

Greetings from Hotel Diplomat, New Delhi!

Hotel Diplomat, since its inception, has been upheld for our hospitality and has enviable repute.Hotel Diplomat has been known for its unmatched service and a warm ambience and as a-home-away-from-home for its discerning guests.
It is our endeavor to not only meet your expectations but exceed it. It has been brought to my notice that the housekeeping standards did not meet your expectations. On the outset kindly accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of all team members at Hotel Diplomat. I have taken personal note of the challenge that you have faced and have taken the necessary steps to avoid any reoccurrence of the same with our other guests and your future visits to the hotel.
It has always been our endeavor to build a strong and long-term relationship with each of our guests and we will make sure that your future stay will be a memorable one.
I personally assuring you best in hospitality services and we always consider you as a part of our family.
I look forward to a close business relationship with you and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Regards,

Simran S
GM
Hotel Diplomat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed there on business last year, was due to stay there 3 nights, but they had only booked me in for the first night, and the hotel was fully booked for the other nights. They didnt bother to tell me that when I arrived, and proceeded to put me in a tiny, noisy room. They woke me up at 8am to tell me I had to leave. No apology, no discounts (I didnt care about the money as my work paid, but a gesture would have been nice). Scandalous.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nevillebartok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat2014, General Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Neville Bartok,

Greetings from Hotel Diplomat, New Delhi!

Hotel Diplomat, since its inception, has been upheld for our hospitality and has enviable repute. Hotel Diplomat has been known for its unmatched service and a warm ambience and as a-home-away-from-home for its discerning guests.
It is our endeavor to not only meet your expectations but exceed it. It has been brought to my notice that your stay at Hotel Diplomat did not meet your expectations. On the outset kindly accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of all team members at Hotel Diplomat. I have taken personal note of the challenge that you have faced and have taken the necessary steps to avoid any reoccurrence of the same with our other guests and your future visits to the hotel.
It has always been our endeavor to build a strong and long-term relationship with each of our guests and we will make sure that your future stay will be a memorable one.
I personally assuring you best in hospitality services and we always consider you as a part of our family.
I look forward to a close business relationship with you and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours.
Regards,
Simran Singh
General Manager

Hotel Diplomat,
Chanakyapuri-110021
New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed twice at the Diplomat during a 2 week trip to India in Spring 2013. First 2 night stay was pleasant, room was very nice, clean, neat, modern...no complaints..staff was friendly and attentive especially in the restaurant.
When I returned I was given a very second rate room, small, terrible bathroom and was charged the same price as the room I had previously. When I complained I was essentially ignored and told too bad, sold out, tough luck and same quality room...same price. The front desk were quite rude and indifferent. Upon further investigation (after the fact) I determined that I was given a lesser quality room and yet was charged for their top of line room. This is not an inexpensive hotel and I would advise folks to do as much research as possible before booking. Could have been a better experience with a little more customer service. Great restaurant if you want to try non-Indian cuisine...but why??

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat2014, General Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Jamie A

Greetings from The Diplomat, New Delhi!

The Diplomat , since its inception, has been upheld for our hospitality and has enviable repute. The Diplomat has been known for its unmatched service and a warm ambience and as a-home-away-from-home for its discerning guests.
It is our endeavour to not only meet your expectations but exceed it. It has been brought to my notice that the customer service and Italian Cuisine did not meet your expectations. On the outset kindly accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of all team members at The Diplomat . I have taken personal note of the challenge that you have faced and have taken the necessary steps to avoid any re occurrence of the same with our other guests and your future visits to the hotel.

It has always been our endeavour to build a strong and long-term relationship with each of our guests and we will make sure that your future stay will be a memorable one.
I personally assuring you best in hospitality services and we always consider you as a part of our family.
I look forward to a close business relationship with you and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours.
Regards,
Simran S
General Manager

The Hotel Diplomat
9 SP Marg; Chanakyapuri
New Delhi-21
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The price is the only downfall, its over priced compared to other hotels in the vicinity under the same caliber. Very friendly staff and always there to assist. Breakfast at the restaurant was good, the decor and ambiance was great, food was not too bad and enough choices as per continental plan. Even the auto drivers said that its a very expensive place...!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Samrat
#456 of 713 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
The Ashok
#175 of 713 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Greater Kailash I
FabHotel BMK Greater Kailash
FabHotel BMK Greater Kailash
#431 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#73 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Hotel Cosy Grand
#224 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
The Hans New Delhi
#108 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: 9 Sardar Patel Marg | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110021, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomat 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst lush greenery , the 25 room Four star Hotel located on 9 Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave Chanakyapuri, is a reflection of contemporary sophistication, luxurious elegance, exquisite Interiors, Impeccable service and unparallel hospitality with a myriad of amenities makes it the capitals finest Boutique Hotel. The Hotel offers you marvelously designed 17 deluxe rooms and 8 Suites with quality interiors and decor where no two suites look alike.The Hotel boasts of housing one of the most elegant and stylish restaurant, Olive Beach. done in classic white and brilliant blue, offering true Italian cuisine with its fashionable eclectic crowd, busy bar and its exotic Mediterranean menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing