We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible!! horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Maharaja Continental
Ranked #686 of 1,084 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“terrible!! horrible”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

we visited delhi for 3 days trip, i booked online this terrible hotel paying 2200rs per night felt just threw out these bucks from my pocket which was heavy for me.
very dirty, very noisy, unhygine place, no hot water, never elevator working, no clean bed, no blanket provided, no AC switching on. for everything we need to ask them. delhi is such hot city they are not switching on AC. IN Total terrible experience we had in three days people are not organised, very dirty sleeping int he reception on sofa over night. rooms were very small, congested & dirty.they arranged vehicle to drop to airport charged me very high and sent me one jatka dakota dabba gadi which i never expected no seats were alright inside, oooops!! please dont even turn towards this hotel. very very bad!!!

Room Tip: never look for this hote. not suitable for humans to stay even one night in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lathapai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    4
    4
    13
See reviews for
8
5
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I am so harassed by the manager who told me the rent was inclusive of 10% taxes but later charged 20% tax up and above. Room are kept very dirty and the towels are black due to dirt.
The location is very dingy and smelly. The staff lie on the face and charged me for the pick up extra when it is supposed to be free. Cab I booked for airport was grossly overcharged and was with no AC. Overall experience is more than a nightmare for me.

Room Tip: No rooms are good.. never go to this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shubh1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The hotel is situated in narrow & congested lane in Delhi. The atmosphere is always noisy & chaotic. Rooms are too small & beds are undersized. You will have to call the room service each time you want hot water or flush on the toilet. Food quality is very poor and costly. Room rates are not fixed, different rates for different people, depending on the bargain. My recommendation is that "stay away from this hotel".

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

its a beautiful place to stay and i recomend it to everybody visiting delhi

to begin with you can 2, 3, 4, 5 , 8 bed rooms for family , friends , etc,etc,etc,etc

its for everybody and above all its a luxurious place with attach bath ,lcd , double door fridge , high speed internet access etc,etc,etc,etc



above all if you are finding a place to be in luxury come here

itz really a home away from home!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sukhbirbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

I found this place by accident. I had been staying at Lal's Haveli around the corner and thought I could do better. So glad I found this place. Unlike any budget hotel I've stayed at in Pahar Ganj, this one has wifi in the rooms, 24h, free! That's important to me, as a business traveler. I paid 700 rs for the economy room, which is quite a deal, especially with wifi. Beware the rooms facing the street. Lots of construction going on in Jan 2010 and this is a very narrow street, so constant honking day and night. Maddening! But not the hotel's fault. Not sure if you can get an economy room off the street, so bring ear plugs. This should change in a few months. The service staff is very helpful. Room service cheap and speedy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekmayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

The hotel is above average. i would say. I was in Delhi for 2 days for some work. The hotel has good rooms and nice service. The breakfast was also satisfying. The location of hotel in Delhi is good to travel around Delhi. It was quiet relaxing in the room after working hours. The hotel ambience is worth mentioning. Worth the money......

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NMA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,799 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 716 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#27 of 716 in New Delhi
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,761 reviews
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#39 of 716 in New Delhi
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maharaja Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maharaja Continental

Property: Hotel Maharaja Continental
Address: 8194-96/6, Arakashan Road Paharganj | Paharganj, New Delhi 110 055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #686 of 1,084 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Maharaja Continental 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL MAHARAJA CONTINENTAL is a best budget hotel in pahar ganj near New Delhi Railway station.Our luxury Budget hotel provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centers, ministries, embassies and heritage markets.hotel Maharaja continental is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi..Visit Delhi's prime tourist spots conveniently and relish diverse culinary tastes of India at its various reputed eateries nearby. At the same time, the hotel does not burn a hole in your pocket and keeps you happy with its services - the prime advantage of boarding our hotel Maharaja continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Maharaja Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing