We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Messages”
Review of Devna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Devna
Ranked #58 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Messages”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend on our last night in Delhi. We had read such good reviews about it so were a little underwhelmed when we turned up.

There was a really bad smell in the entranceway and whole of the downstairs reception area, our room upstairs was only marginally better.

Overall our room was OK, quite clean and opened up to a little terrace. The room had a lot of character which was nice, and great not to be in a chain hotel.

They arranged a nice evening meal on the terrace as we had wanted to eat out locally but most places weren't open, and they were very accomodating of this.

However, our main issue was when we first arrived we asked if we could use our credit card and they agreed this was fine. However, upon checkout they said we had to pay for a portion of the cost in cash. At this point we were running to get to the airport and had used up our money as it was our last day in India. They told us to go to the ATM to get the money. I reminded them that we had asked if we had to pay in cash the night before and they said no, don't worry. Eventually they agreed to let us pay them by card. It was all rather an unecessary hassle at the last minute.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0nd0ner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    66
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
103
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The location was really excellent -- it was in a pretty, quiet part of town, across from a cricket field, and a 5-minute walk from Sunder Nagar market, coffee shops and taxis -- a welcome respite from Delhi's buzz. Service was also excellent -- there was always someone available late at night and early in the morning and staff was attentive. The one cautionary note -- really try to stay away from the basement room -- it is pitch black, as no natural sunlight gets in. If the downstairs room is the only option for your stay, I would not stay here. The upstairs rooms are nice though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Sunder Nagar is a very nice enclave, green trees and lawns. Good shops and restaurants just round the corner; Khan market 10 mins away. The Devna is friendly, clean and uncomplicated. It doesn't have the spit-and-polish of a posh chain, but is all the better for that, in my view. The owners are helpful and nice, and can arrange taxis, etc., for easy getting around town. WiFi, digital TV etc. Homely atmosphere. And walls covered with fascinating photos and paintings, and many nice pieces of antique furniture. I'll come again, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Lonely planet comment is right: Devna, which has just five rooms, enjoys a wonderfully quiet location opposite a grassy green park in the classy suburb of Sunder Nagar. With friendly owners and beautifully comfy rooms, it's a rare and relaxing Delhi gem.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank margo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
La Sagrita
La Sagrita
#69 of 715 in New Delhi
332 reviews
Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar
#112 of 715 in New Delhi
142 reviews
Shervani New Delhi
#162 of 715 in New Delhi
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ahuja Residency Golf Links
#111 of 715 in New Delhi
82 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#35 of 715 in New Delhi
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devna

Property: Devna
Address: 10 Smaller Gate, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Nizamuddin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Devna 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property houses it's private art collection and guests are welcome to enjoy the art - a collection of new and old paintings by India's finest artists. Ten, which has just five rooms, enjoys a wonderfully quiet location opposite a grassy green park in the classy suburb of Sunder Nagar. It seems to be particularly popular with people staying in the Indian capital for more than just a couple of days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Devna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing