We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaaya
Nearby Hotels
US$150
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$209
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$214
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suryaa(New Delhi)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
US$326
US$284
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$110
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$96
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
US$159
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$80
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
94
17
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
17
1
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2010

on our trip, we returned 2 times to Rumas place. The first time because we missed our flight due to heavy fog and the second time because we wanted a few hours of rest before we went flying back home. Ruma helped us with her warm and wise nature with train tickets, hot drinks, soup and hot-water bags through cold days and made them sunny! the rooms are very elegant and tasteful and showed, that Ruma has got style. I really recommend this homestay and all in all it is one of the most charming places in Delhi.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellsaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Wonderful flat, magnificent hostess, nice neighborhood, close to Humayu´ns tomb amd gardens, and nizamuddine railwail station. Staying in Amaaya is much better than staying at a hotel, you feel there the true essence of India

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Repiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Title: Cherished private sanctuary

We consider ourselves extremely fortunate to have found a room in this wonderful home tucked away in a quiet, leafy, serene pocket of Nizamuddin East, only a few minutes moments stroll from the major train station, Humayun’s Tomb and the delightful Cafe Turtle.

A few nights at Amaaya in the gracious company of Ruuma and Sylvie is a blissful remedy to weeks of travelling and staying in somewhat less salubrious lodgings elsewhere. We felt very welcome and were taken straight from the front door to a beautifully furnished, air-conditioned room where we couldn't resist taking an immediate nap. Featuring all the delights of hot water, free WiFi, charming decoration and artworks, a green rooftop garden, a sunny shared living area, fabulous breakfast and chai, laundry service, secure lodgings, etc., there's nothing much else to ask for or need. Ruuma will also go out of her way to assist with queries and help make your stay in Delhi memorable and hassle free.

Amaaya is especially recommended for amiable couples and women travelling solo.

Amaaya deserves all the raves and accolades it will no doubt receive. Like us you may wish it remained a well-kept secret!

Tip:

For very early morning/late night arrivals/departures, proceed on foot directly to the main Gate (from memory it's No. 2) -- all the other gates will be locked.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katsuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

This was our first trip to Delhi and a friend had highly recommended Ruuma's Bed and Breakfast to us. From the first time we made e-mail contact with Ruuma, in advance of our trip, I knew that we had made the right decision in staying at her Bed and Breakfast. Ruuma took the time to respond promptly to our questions and was VERY helpful in setting up and recommending excursions and activities while in Delhi. Her recommendations for restaurants were wonderful, her drivers she arranged for us were reliable and friendly and our room was clean, comfortable and tranquil. Additional added touches such as the wonderful Chai tea that Sylvie made for us at breakfast and the beautiful rooftop patio made it that much more memorable. Ruuma is a wonderful warm genuine person who truly strives to make your visit to Delhi a memorable one. When you stay with her, you feel like you are part of her family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyT65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Due to the serious transport delays caused by fog in January, we had missed our next onward train connection,and we needed an urgent overnight stay in Delhi. We were recommended this delightful home-stay.It has 3 rooms- but WHAT rooms!!!! Upstairs in a very beautiful colonial building in Nizamuddin East,

Amaaya is a private home, owned by a gracious & friendly lady named Ruma. Our room was cosy and tastefully furnished. The bathroom had expensive toiletries for guest use, and shiny clean tiles. The shower was modern and had plenty of hot water. The bed, we thought, was THE most comfortable bed we had ever slept in on any trip to India-AND it had a hot water bottle tucked inside.
The following morning we woke to the sound of birds, with sun streaming in through the large windows.I went out onto the little balcony to drink morning chai- pure delight. Trees, birds and sunshine. Total serenity.
Ruma gave us the BEST breakfast, served on delicate china- everything about Amaaya is perfect. I do really recommend a stay here. Having only a few rooms available- it is wise to book early.
We eventually had to leave for Rishikesh, and I am sorry that I did not have more time there to enjoy the obvious delights of Rumas place, and her gracious, warm hospitality. But I have no doubt that I will return here, for a long stay,


Unique Qualities: Amaaya has a lovely garden rooftop terrace. It even has a smallpatch of lawn.And flowers and shrubs. The view from the rooftop is lovely.
We loved the soft eiderdown covers on the beds
The hot water bottle was welcome on a cold Delhi night
And the Breakfast was cooked to perfection-omelettes light and fluffy.Rumi can arrange onward travel for guests, and goes out of her way to make everyone feel like a friend, not a guest, and I would recommend Amaaya to anyone who wishes to have a memorable stay in Delhi. I know that I will always stay there on future visits. The personal touch is what makes the difference.



Theme: Bed and Breakfast
Internet available

Prices: US$40-80 (R3500) per room.
(--)
Directions: Nizamuddin East is near Humayuns Tomb, in South Delhi. A lovely quiet neighbourhood.
(--)

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elloraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews