We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice budget Hotel for Delhi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wood Castle
Ranked #13 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very nice budget Hotel for Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Very comfortable here. Room is big, clean, bathroom is modern, has hot water (press button, wait 20 minutes, then hot, indian style). shampoo, soap provided.

Wifi only works downstairs, but it gets everyone to go down there and hang out, where there's a TV, lounge, eating tables, etc, very homey feel at night to hang out and exchange war stories of braving the streets of Delhi !!

The owner is nice and welcoming, service is good. Only negative is that since i came with a driver, they were mean to him, didn't want him anywhere near their hotel, didn't provide any accomidations (normally hotels give drivers a special room to sleep so they don't have to sleep in their car). Would be nice if they were at least half as nice to indians as they are to the tourists.

oh and this is a good area, lots of tourist shopping and all as lots of hotels in a few blocks, but dogs bark early in the morning, so bring earplugs!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    259
    75
    19
    14
See reviews for
135
376
160
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our group is just back from spending 4 nights at the Wood Castle and we are thrilled with our choice. Good price, modern and clean Rooms, Very helpfull staff. The food was very fine.
This is an excellent choice when you want something at a reasonable cost without reducing the quality of the lodging.
Would go back to that hotel without any hesitation!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a king size bed and were pleased with the choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValjeanVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel (we stayed 6 days). We had stayed in several other hotels throughout northern India that were double the price, and were half as clean and friendly as this hotel. As far as what westerners expect from a hotel, this one has it. Super clean, great facilities, hot showers, basic but satisfactory free breakfast, AWESOME staff Friendly and helpful speaks good English..If you need any help with transport, trips or itineraries there is a chap called hassan who will help you out with questions. He were incredibly helpful and polite. It's in a nice location that is probably relatively quiet compared to other areas in New Delhi. The metro stop is just a couple blocks away, and even when coming back at night we felt pretty safe.

Room Tip: We stayed 201 it was beautiful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The best thing about Wood Castle was the quiet. I've never stayed in such a quiet place in a big city in India. The rooms are very comfortable (even electric blankets in winter!), and hot water plentiful.However there are some doubles that are smallish and have no window. It is only about a 7 minute walk to either of two metro stations, but I think for a short stay in Delhi of a few days I would have preferred something more central. Also, their "tour guy" was a bit pressing about it. Not unusual in India of course, but still, after the chaos of the city, I really want somewhere to retreat to for peace. In general though the staff are friendly and helpful. They did get a bit confused about our booking, but when we insisted we really did need two rooms when our fourth person arrived, all was well.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a window if it matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayasalaama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The managers have been incredibly friendly and had helped me with all my needs.
When I got here I was sick with the Indian malady, they went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and at home. I have been treated like family.
One of the managers Javiet knows a lot about India and has given me sound advise about what other places I can visit in India, he also arranged my transport to go visit places of interest in New Delhi.
My room was spotless, the hotel is very clean, and the food feels like home cooking, even though I do not cook Indian at home, I live in New York City.
Used to the best by being a New York City Girl I can say that this has been an excellent experience which was in a way surprising considering the hotel is not expensive for the amenities and the warmth of the people that tend it.
Do not hesitate booking here next time you come to New Delhi.
I will most certainly come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cterre2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

A group of 13 of us stayed at Woodcastle. We started our Indian journey there and after travelling, ended our journey there.
We were a lucky group that had pickup from the airport arranged by the hotel, and even them along for the journey. We were greeted with fresh flower necklaces, and drinks for the journey to the hotel. This was a perfect way to start off the trip, and got us all excited for what was to come.
All of the staff were so helpful. They were all happy to help with all of our luggage as soon as we got there.
I was quite anxious about the food i would be able to eat as i'm vegetarian and gluten free, but Woodcastle was excellent and even when there wasn't much on the breakfast menu for me to choose, they said they would go out and get me anything i liked! Fresh fruits, yogurt and honey! Everything on the main menu was perfect and no problem to choose from if you have dietary requirements. Infact, some of the food i had here, was the best i had in India, and we travelled around!!
The rooms were lovely and everything was so clean!
They made us feel so welcome, it really did begin to feel like our home in India.
I'll definitely will be going back and encourage anyone thinking of booking to do it! You wont be let down!

Room Tip: The double rooms are big enough two friends in without knowing there is someone else in the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was our first hotel in India and well located in a quiet(ish) part of Delhi. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and relaxed especially hassan . Lots of great places to eat nearby and interesting place to just wander around and look at life in Delhi. The hotel organised a driver with good language skills, a sense of humor who knew his way around. Delhi was eight kinds of crazy but strangely endearing. Would stay at Wood Castle again. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was cool and quiet.Awesome hotel and look forward to visiting again

Room Tip: Ask room 103 very quit and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lacr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#46 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#31 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Hotel City Star
#17 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Shanti Home
#4 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Castle

Property: Wood Castle
Address: 8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wood Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the area of karol bagh in new delhi,Karol bagh is the centerally located i.e. heart of delhi. karol bagh is 16km from international airport, 12km froom domestic airport & 3km from new delhi railway station.We are quality focused,great in service,one of the three star amenities rooms.We have super deluxe rooms with EUROPEAN styles,with contemporary comforts to create a luxurious ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Castle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing