We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wood Castle
Ranked #14 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is our first stop in India and after a long 15 hr flight, we were picked up at the airport. If you book the hotel directly thru them, I think the airport pickup is free but you can confirm that with them. Great little hotel in a nice neighborhood. Good rooms though they don't have an elevator but there are people there who can help you with your luggage. Very comfortable rooms.

They have both Continental and Indian breakfast(available after 8am I think). Indian food is really good. They also do foreign exchange which we actually used and they gave good rates. They also have a travel agent(Hassan) associated with the hotel and he is really good at organizing the tours. I actually emailed both the hotel and Hassan before leaving US and they both responded very quickly.

Hassan actually arranged cab with driver for us to show around Delhi and also take us to Jaipur and Agra and he also took care of the hotels in Jaipur and Agra. Only thing is you need to pay cash. And we really got lucky that we got the best driver to show us around. His name is Kamal. You should totally ask for him. We always felt safe with his driving and he knows local people and shops. Very nice guy. Hotel is in a safe neighborhood. There is also a local market near the metro station within a mile from the hotel that you can check out.

Overall a great hotel with great service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    266
    77
    19
    14
See reviews for
137
383
161
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our first hotel in Delhi and a great introduction. Good location, close to the metro (Rajendra Place is the nearest and usually 15 rupees or less per journey). and a quiet position off the main road. Easy walking to interesting local areas . Very helpful and cheerful staff and good food for breakfast (we didn't eat here in the evenings as we were exploring elsewhere in Delhi but looks a reasonable menu). the rooms are quiet and comfortable with a n individual heater for hot water which usually took no more than 10 mins to warm up. Only downside in the bathroom was that it is a wet room but the floor slopes away from the shower so the whole floor gets wet. Overall a good stay. many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel has excellent helpful staff. They offer sound advice, organise a car if you need one for a day but are also happy to let you find your own way- the hotel is very close to a metro station. We never once felt hassled and the area is very safe- even when returning late at night! I made a huge error and left something very important in my room when I left and they found it, kept it safe so when My partner returned to Delhi he could collect it. Their airport transfers are reliable and prompt. The rooms are spacious and clean- with hot water. I only gave them a 4 because the aircon is loud (really not an issue!). I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Nice and Clean hotel at good price. Free breakfast. Owners are very friendly and willing to help. Sometimes taxi had trouble finding the place, but this shouldn't stop from booking here. Offered shower when we were leaving late for our flight. Recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Although this hotel is tucked off a Main Street it has easy access to the metro and Karol Bagh bazaar. A warm welcome from all the staff. Room was a good size and the bathroom. Cleanliness was of a high standard. Comfortable beds even provide slippers. Food was good too. It was a great place to launch our trip from. Helped us ease ourselves into India's flow. There is a lovely guy linked to hotel who will organise trips and train fares etc for you. Just remember when using hotels to organise trips etc you will pay commission on top. Would definitely recommend this hotel for you stay in Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Wood Castle for 3 nights and all in all it's a good basic hotel. Plenty of tuk tuks available at the end of the street to get out and about sight seeing and metro station is within walking distance. Karol Bagh market easily accessed on foot as well as good clean eateries.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv-my-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed with my family for 6dayz....quit a humble staff.
Very peaceful convinint to travel as itz located close to all major points....
Food was amazg & a lot of variety in breakfast
Had a great holiday

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle Grand
#4 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Hotel City Star
#22 of 716 in New Delhi
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#29 of 716 in New Delhi
681 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 716 in New Delhi
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Castle

Property: Wood Castle
Address: 8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wood Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the area of karol bagh in new delhi,Karol bagh is the centerally located i.e. heart of delhi. karol bagh is 16km from international airport, 12km froom domestic airport & 3km from new delhi railway station.We are quality focused,great in service,one of the three star amenities rooms.We have super deluxe rooms with EUROPEAN styles,with contemporary comforts to create a luxurious ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Castle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing