We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a home away from home where the staff treats u like family”
Review of Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wood Castle
Ranked #15 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely a home away from home where the staff treats u like family”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

i had a great stay at wood castle the staff was more than friendly they treat you as family and at the same time treat you like royalty the rooms are exquisite very clean air conditioned and comfortable and also fully loaded with many amenities such as microwaves and small fridges as well as satellite television room service was excellent the food is great and the evening parties are great as well with a chance to sample various Indian beverages and foods all in all my stay at the wood castle hotel in Delhi was delightful and hope to return soon to visit my "family " at wood castle

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cadillac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    266
    77
    19
    14
See reviews for
138
385
163
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Spent one night here after arriving in Delhi, prior to moving on to the north of India for a few days. First time in India and hotel staff could not have been more hospitable! Gave us drinks when we arrived, made sure we knew where we were in the area, took bags to our room, which was clean, spacious and very comfortable, and air conditioned - perfect as we were pretty tired after an overnight flight.

Also we asked for a recommendation of a restaurant as we didn't want to wander for hours looking for somewhere and were recommended Raffles. It was fantastic! On the main road in Karol Bagh and food delicious, freshly made to order etc (it was full of people with young kids which I always think is a good sign). So good we went back the next day for lunch too! Hotel also very convenient for the superb new metro station - about a 5-10 minute walk. I can highly recommend this hotel - go there if you have a short or long stay in Delhi - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This was my first trip to delhi indiain my life & with god's blessing i got hooked up with the greatest group of people at woodcastle hotel.
from the owner to the cleaning crew everybody was so nice & eager to help you with or do anything you needed done.
start from the time you arrive at the airport ,woodcastle would arrange your airport pick up ,when you get to the hotel you would not have to pick up any of your bag's the hotel staff would handel it for you .
anytime room service available ,breakfast in bed ,to dinner all in home cooked to your liking .
trip advisor's on hand at woodcastle who would help you planning your trip the best possible way ,where you save some money & get to visit more places in shorter time you can say get more for your money.
the hotel woodcastle is located in a central part of delhi so it's easy to get to your location pretty easy ,local shop's close by .
here is a very cool thing the hotel provides is currency conversation at the woodcastle office desk ,which saves you time to go look for bank's who would deal with that , cause after we went to different part of india we had to spend lots of time driving around to find such a bank ,so it's a plus.
oh the most important thing is that there is a high speed internet service at woodcastle also ,so you can keep in touch with loved ones & friends.
taxi service to any place you like to go can be arranged by the kind woodcastle staff from the front door of the hotel & this taxi people the hotel get's you are safe drivers.
here comes the best part >>>>>>>>>>>>>after being out all day you come back to the hotel ...........it's like comming home where everybody greets you one on noe level they offer you the drinks of your choice the way you like ir at home followed by snacks indian style & when you had your share of all this & still hungry the owners of the hotel will arrange late dinner for everybody there ..........like being at a party at home,what a great way to end your day. now it's time for the other wonderful place called the bed room ,always smell clean & it's clean too ,cool aircondition the lighting is great in the room.we also have tv with all your fav. channels.
I had heard some negative things about INDIA not true by me .& i think if i had stayed at some other place not soooo friendly than i might think otherwise.
so with all this positive things at woodcastle i know i will be visiting DELHI [INDIA] MORE OFTEN just to relax at woodcastle & enjoy my new friends again



I

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djoshimale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This is by far one of the best Hotels I have stayed in whilst traveling through India. This summer four friends and I decided to travel Chennai up to Delhi in just three weeks and sampled a huge array of hotels, home stays, resorts etc, and for price, location, service and, well, everything Hotel Wood Castle was by far the best. The staff are friendly and super hospitable, it really was a home from home, the perfect place to get your bearings in New Delhi especially if you have just arrived in India.

The rooms are well sized and clean, as are the bathrooms (especially the showers!!!) which are decadent in comparison to some of the ones we stayed in during our time there. The hotel also has a menu, and the food is fantastic. Being four girls (one who is allergic to buffalo milk, one who doesn't like sauce and peas (don't as why we took her with us) and two relatively varied diners) it was usually quite a hastle trying to find something everyone was happy about, however at Wood Castle we had no such problem and the food was fresh and fantastic.

On a final note, I implore you to at least try to stay here, if not you will be missing out. I would happily recommend the hotel to anyone, friends, family and people of all ages.

It is absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahbrunt90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashkent
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

When you read the inconsistencies of reviews on this hotel, you may begin to wonder who to believe in the first place, well I don't blame you. Prior to choosing this hotel I was in the same dilemma. My fears began to come to reality as I drove in a dark alley (where the hotel is located) at 3 am but was pleasantly surprised to find someone waiting for me. I knew that it was a small hotel so my expectations were well controlled, nevertheless, I was taken aback by the hospitality and the friendliness of the people who worked at the hotel. Obviously, if you are looking for a 5 star comfort, then you are knocking the wrong doors. What you get at this hotel is a friendly environment, a psychological comfort, and a good bed to sleep. People know you by your first name, and try their level best to make you feel at home. I will highly recommend this hotel to travelers who are looking forward to sense a simple middle class Indian lifestyle, which you find in every aspect of this hotel. I like genuineness, and in hindsight everything is 20-20, who wouldn't want a good location, and a great service, but what I appreciate about this place is the genuine effort that the people who work at this place put in to make you feel good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kshameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Great hotel to escape the madness of the city buzzing around you.
After a pretty efficient check-in, we were escorted to our respective
rooms by the front desk manager who was courteous and helpful. The
hotel itself is quite clean and the staff were helpful and
friendly.The location of the hotel is very good and is very near to
two metro stations.The room was cozy but spacious enough.The European
styled bathrooms with 24hrs.running hot and cold water.The food here
is very delicious, Chinese particularly.The owners are very friendly
and kind and helpful to make our trip successful.I was really happy
with my stay and would surely recommend this very centrally located
hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Before you dismiss this as a rant please look at the other great reviews I have written of hotels in India and beyond. I am not hard to impress but this place was nothing beyond a mediocre bed and breakfast/backpacker's hostel.

I booked this hotel based on the strength of the number 3 rating on tripadvisor and was very disappointed upon arrival. We stayed for 2 nights as part of a golden triangle trip across india and hated every minute of it. First thing was that there was very limited supply of hot water (we were not shown how to use the boiler in the bathroom but eventually worked it out for ourselves) and a decent shower was hard to have. They give you a soap and 2 small sachets of shampoo so please come prepared with your own toiletries.

Electric sockets are far to close to shower and is hazardous. Room basic, layout not great and a bit stuffy. After a day out in Delhi all we wanted was to come home to a shower (you already know the problems there!) and a clean room. To our dismay the room was not serviced! My husband complained and they argued that it was our fault for not telling them to clean it!

The phone rang on both nights we were there, firstly at 3am and again at 4am! Ridiculous, kept ringing until we picked up. Manager did not shed any light on this mystery. The place is very loud. Could not sleep after being woken up by shouting and loud workers in the hallway. State of the road outside is dreadful and no cabbie will know this place unless you give them detailed instructions.

Lastly I doubt some of the rviews on hereare genuine due to the large number of single contribution users- do you really create a log-in just to review a hostel type hotel in Delhi? Really? That good?

This place and the reviews baffle me, normally there ought to be some kind of redeeming factor but in this case I see none. I understand hindi so could tell the lazy staff who sit around all day in the lobby were talking about guests in front of them while we ate the awful breakfast.

Avoid at all costs. There are better options.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank trippingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodcastledelhi, Owner at Wood Castle, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor and keeping us updated.
Yes, we saw the other reviews you wrote about other hotels and shocked to see that all other hotels in which you stayed were four or five star category and you paid five or six times the tariff you paid in Woodcastle and still you are comparing Woodcastle a budget hotel with star category hotels . Woodcastle achieve no.3 rating not on the basis of stars category. Woodcastle is no.3 because travelers feels that Woodcastle giving comforts, luxuries and care in a small price of a budget hotel. No.3 rating doesnot mean that woodcastle is above four or five star hotels. Travelers push Woodcastle to this no.3 position on the ground of personal touch, comfort , luxuries and care in a small budget price, which they feel they don't get any where. Dear guest for how to get hot water we always explain to all our guests at the time of check in but as you have Indian roots and you are Non-Resident Indian our staff thought you were well aware of all the Indian wash room systems. Thus, they did not explain to you keeping in mind that you guys are Indian and well familiar with all the things. But as you shown your ignorance I my self explained to you about the water heater in the bathroom. coming to bathroom toiletries as majority of guests never use and they are particular about their own brands but we always kept two pouches of shampoo and soap each and never hesitate to give more quantity as and when guests requires and but you never asked any body for extra toiletries which means you are not using them and hence, we were not aware of whether you required or not. As you wrote about electric sockets near the shower, electric sockets in the bathroom are safe as they are dead and no current is running in them. Now coming to cleaning of room, sir, you took along your room keys with yourself and never left any instructions for cleaning of the room (which means you don't want your room to be disturbed) and our procedure is that we never enter in any guest room without their prior permission to maintain the privacy of the guest and don't want to disturb their valuables lying in the room. Kindly accept our apologies if our procedure hurts you. Phone rang is still a mystery for us as we checked all our details and found none of the phone call was made at that time and date of your stay from the reception counter and that might be called from some of the other guest room by mistake as all room phones are interconnected and any body can dial any room no. Once again we want to bring in your kind notice that Woodcastle is a budget hotel and should not be compared with four or five star hotel where they are charging five or six times of the price of Woodcastle.
But we apologizes we could not come up to your expectations. However, we want you to bear in mind the difference in tariff between the budget hotel and that of a Five Star Category Hotel. We hope in your next visit we can achieve the target of your expectations. So you may feel comfortable.

with regards
Rajesh
Woodcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#27 of 716 in New Delhi
696 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 716 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel City Star
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
1,298 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#5 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 716 in New Delhi
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Castle

Property: Wood Castle
Address: 8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wood Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the area of karol bagh in new delhi,Karol bagh is the centerally located i.e. heart of delhi. karol bagh is 16km from international airport, 12km froom domestic airport & 3km from new delhi railway station.We are quality focused,great in service,one of the three star amenities rooms.We have super deluxe rooms with EUROPEAN styles,with contemporary comforts to create a luxurious ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Castle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing