We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in India-Truly a luxurious experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
bangalore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best in India-Truly a luxurious experience.”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

A truly out of this world experience. This brand new palace hotel gives a whole new definition to luxury. I am told that the investment made, makes it India's most expensive-to-build hotel in a location that’s very premium

The royal experience begins with a pick up in a 7 series BMW at the airport , then a grand welcome by larger than life stone elephants at the porch, regal and plush interiors, 60 feet ceiling heights, hand blown Murano glass chandliers, twenty four carat gold leaf friezes and paintings on the ceiling, solid silver furniture, priceless sculptures and artifacts, imported flowers from Thailand which are all over the hotel and take one"s breath away.

Before it all quite sinks in , I am greeted and escorted to my room , and welcomed by my personal lady butler (since I am a lady, nice touch!) The room is large, the largest in Delhi I understand, very richly furnished and has a large marble bathroom with gold fixtures ,mother of pearl accessories, bath tub, shower cubicle and the works. State of the art technology in the room is what makes this palace a modern one, I-touch docks to control every aspect in the room, Ad Notem technology in the bathroom which incredibly has a television on the bathroom mirror facing the bathtub, hands free phone in the bath area, hi-speed internet are some f the features.

Internationally renowned restaurants Megu Japanese and Le Cirque are both coming to this hotel as a first in India but were not open while I was there. The Qube and Jamavar which I dined at are of a contemporary design, stunningly and richly appointed with the food being the finest I have eaten in a long while.

The Library Bar is intimate and cosy. I was told that there over a 1000 first edition books specially sourced for the library from around the globe..... priceless!

Beautiful gardens with flowers, waterways, lotus ponds with torch lit pans and a gorgeous head of a goddess which sits in the middle of an exquisitely landscaped lawn can be seen from rooms and restaurants.

Excellent Service by well trained, polite and gracious staff rounded off my perfect stay.

Luxury of this sort does come at a price, but believe me it is definitely worth every penny or rupee spent in this hotel. I spent three days here and the experience has been unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nina827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,331
    323
    72
    31
    15
See reviews for
484
974
169
671
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at the Leela Palace Kempinski for four nights and though the hotel construction was not yet completed, the stay was really excellent. People were very warm and welcoming.
The rooms are really large and very sophisticated in repects to entertainment and technical equipment.
We dined at the Cube restaurant where also the breakfast buffet is and the food was not cheap but really good. Unfortunately, the other restaurants were either not yet open or full.
But all in all, I can really recomment this hotel for a business trip to Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I stayed there for two days for a conference. It was on April 8 and 9, 2011, before the hotel officially opened. However, they were fully up and running in the pre-opening phase. The stay and the conference was hassle free except for the frequent power cuts. The hotel's gen-set takes 1-2 minutes to resume power. Power cuts are not the hotel's fault. The room was great with a big tub in the bathroom. Even a TV screen to watch while in the tub. Breakfast was good. Dinner in the coffee shop had good variety and the food tasted nice. The entire property is decorated like a palace and makes one forget the world outside. Just one small complaint - the AC in the room needs to be more effective. The rooms must be expensive but we got a pre-opening deal. Hope I am able to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilli_desi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

It was our first stay in India and we'll stayed for one week in The Leela. The decorating of this hotel is unbelievable beautiful, the interior architect did a very good job. The best quality is given to you as a guest by the staff, the novelties in the room (like the entire room controlling by Ipod touch and the mirror image digital projection tv in the bathroom), the room decor and linen. There's also a very good fitness studio with a spa and at the rooftop an amazing pool (too bad it wasn't opened yet for us). The bar is maybe a little bit too dark inside but the outside terrace is, again, very luxurious and relaxing to sit down. The two restaurants are very beautiful decorated en the food is excellent.

Overall, this is the new place to stay if you visit Delhi next.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindeVogels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. Booked 2 interconnecting rooms - 1 for us and another for our 3 children. In brief, we stayed during the soft-opening stage and there were some issues on the first night, but the manner in which the senior management handled them was very good.

The hotel is glorious, grand, very regal. The rooms are huge - lots of marble, heavy carpeting and curtains. Technology is amazing - everything controlled by an IPOD which the kids loved. Good movie selection as well. The bathrooms are wonderfully large. Towels are nice and fluffy. All very regal and comfortable.

This hotel will become a major destination. New restaurants are opening soon and will definitely be the places to be / seen.

Next time we're in Delhi, we'll look to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaysethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend.. attending a event at the hotel itself. From the moment i got out of the car at the Poche (being greeted by the Darban) to the Reception and the Butler service in room.. i had the perfect weekend at the hotel.

The hotel offers you spacious stay with huge rooms, spoiling you with the all butler service .. making you feel like royalty from the start.. The restaurants offer you amazing food both Indian and continental... (Cant wait for the Japanese and Italian restaurant to open).

The staff at the hotel is amazing.. always there for you ready to offer service and help one out. The complete experience here has been amazing and not to miss the most amazing service at the Spa... A complete relaxation from the first step..

Room Tip: Definately try the the Restaurants ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saccharine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The best hotel i ever had.. thank you to my company for choosing Leela Palace. The staff was friendly and always smile.. helping me when i have problem with the equipment at midnight. All the modern gadget was superb!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVSEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,714 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 715 in New Delhi
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
2,669 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing