We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good new spanking hotel with terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good new spanking hotel with terrible service”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed at the spanking new Leela Palace hotel in the capitals diplomatic enclave. Being a new hotel, the facilities, fixtures and decor are very very good. The over all ambiance is royal, consistent with that of the Leela Bangalore.

However, the hotel needs to spruce up its services. When I checked in, the bellde sk department took considerable time in locating their trolley. ANyway, I was okay as long as I wasnt asked to drag it myself. The receptionist was charming, courtous and professional but fumbled while taking the check-in and looked dis-organized. Once the check-in got over, I was escorted to my room, but no features were explained. Anyway, its not difficult for a business traveller to figure out a hotel room.

During the dinner in the hotel's coffee shop, the waiter fumbled disastrously with the wine menu. Even the basics were not clear. Someone intelligent had him removed from my table, but the supervisor wasn't of too much help either. I was finally rescued by the in-house sommelier who did a fab job and put me in comfort. One reason why I chose to dine at the coffee shop were the exhorbitant prices in the Indian restaurant. I wonder why it isnt called Jamavar 1200, since most of the dishes had this crazy figure in front of them.

Regardless, when I asked the server for the ice cream flavours available, he quipped ' let me check sir... and I'll come back to you'..... and it took him a while to come back. It could have been my imagination, but I scratched myself when I noticed a food tit bits on the corner of his mouth when he came back. The restaurant was busy, and to be able to have a small bite in a busy restaurant seemed laudable for him!!.. the food however, was good and very filling and appetizing.

Overall experience was decent but the services definitely need to be improved.

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank CandiceJohanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamir_Kobrin, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. It is most unfortunate that you have had such experiences, particularly, as we pride ourselves in the excellence and consistent service that we offer to our guests. We truly hope you will visit us again and provide us with the opportunity to improve in those areas you indicated. The team will learn from your feedback and ensure improved performance in the weeks and months to come.

Tamir Kobrin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,331
    323
    72
    31
    15
See reviews for
484
974
169
671
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

If your budget permits, the new Leela Palace is the place to stay in Delhi. I paid about $367 per night for four nights for a "business package" that included airport transfers (in a new BMW 5 series), daily breakfast, and Wi-Fi internet. The hotel is located in the diplomatic quarter, and, because it is so new, one has to be careful in telling taxi drivers to go to this one and not the Leela in Gurgaon. There didn't seem to be much in the way of sights right around the hotel, but it is close to the airport and only Rs. 100 by motorized rickshaw to Connaught Place in the center of Delhi. Hotel taxis are available, but they are far too expensive unless you insist on traveling in luxury everywhere. The room was well-light with logical light switches and enough electrical outlets, and a great bathroom with separate tub and shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the large, flat-screen TV was easy to operate. Wi-Fi internet was fast and reliable. Staff went out of their way to be helpful, although the newness of the staff was evident on a few occasions when some were hesitant in their giving of information. The pool was closed during my stay, but the gym, spa, sauna, steam, etc. were open and all excellent. Breakfast was outstanding, in a glassy, high-ceilinged breakfast room and the option of eating outside. The bar was also lovely with a good selection of drinks (but not of food). It's convenient to the airport, too. Overall, first class all the way around.

Room Tip: all rooms r good but Executive Suite is wat i like
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitjalan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

If your budget permits, the new Leela Palace is the place to stay in Delhi. I paid about $367 per night for four nights for a "business package" that included airport transfers (in a new BMW 5 series), daily breakfast, and Wi-Fi internet. The hotel is located in the diplomatic quarter, and, because it is so new, one has to be careful in telling taxi drivers to go to this one and not the Leela in Gurgaon. There didn't seem to be much in the way of sights right around the hotel, but it is close to the airport and only Rs. 100 by motorized rickshaw to Connaught Place in the center of Delhi. Hotel taxis are available, but they are far too expensive unless you insist on traveling in luxury everywhere. The room was well-light with logical light switches and enough electrical outlets, and a great bathroom with separate tub and shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the large, flat-screen TV was easy to operate. Wi-Fi internet was fast and reliable. Staff went out of their way to be helpful, although the newness of the staff was evident on a few occasions when some were hesitant in their giving of information. The pool was closed during my stay, but the gym, spa, sauna, steam, etc. were open and all excellent. Breakfast was outstanding, in a glassy, high-ceilinged breakfast room and the option of eating outside. The bar was also lovely with a good selection of drinks (but not of food). It's convenient to the airport, too. Overall, first class all the way around.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Middle_East_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

A truly magestic hotel. The beautiful intricate artifacts shipped in from Jaipur positioned beautifully around the hotel grounds took your breath away. The countless fresh exotic flowers framing the vases about the hotel made you feel as if you were in a paradise oasis. Every attention to detail has been thought out with consideration in this exclusive palace. Having stayed in some of the best hotels in London and around the world. This is hard to beat. The rooms were opulent. Our room overlooked Delhi city. What more could we ask for. Comfortable beds. Ornate furniture, and spectacular bathroom. The staff were very attentive. Welcoming and friendly. Our driver Mr Sidju who was a wealth of knowledge. Who conquered Delhi streets with all the expertise of a Rolls Royce chauffer. The concierge Mr Karan made sure our every request was met with the minimum of fuss. Our two young daughters enjoyed the solitary budda head in the vicinity of the gardens. Many a morning was spent running around it. The key to every success is constituency and maintaining the highest level of service to your guest. You managed this when we were there. Just keep it up. We no doubt will be back next year.
Mrs Sheila Voralia

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheilaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford Cheshire
Level Contributor
195 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This hotel is situated near to Delhi airport and we stayed there prior to joining the maharaj train for a trip to mumbai or Bombay as it's called by the over 40s! The hotel is situated on a main road but at the rear is a big shopping mall with a selection of shops, food courts and bars. The food in the hotel restaurant, as we later were told was extremely expensive but we had already enjoyed the food in the mall.
The room was beautiful with a panoramic view from the windows and a sunken bath in a wet room in the centre of the room. Glass sided, blinds could be pulled down for privacy. The public rooms were large, spotless with marble floors.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The Hotel is just opened in the heart of new delhi in Chanakyapuri , it is one of the most posh localities of new delhi surrounded by all diplomatic area and important government offices. It is very centrally located and has a wonderful staff which takes care of you. I only ate the coffee shop since other restaurants are yet to open. The food is very good and the service is excellent. If you are coming to stay in delhi and can afford and expensive hotel its the best place to go to.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank navreetsehgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

It is not often that you come across perfection in India. Have to say the Leela palace in Chanakyapuri is the closest thing to perfection.

The amount of craft and art and lavishness in the hotel is quite stunning.
The room is too clean and all that you need. It has iPOD integration to the TV set and provides great entertainment when you are in the room.

The bath is simply awesome. Everything from a shampoo is of the finest quality.

The only gripe is, the food is way too expensive. A buffet breakfast costs 4K Rs. and food ordered for my kid costed 2K.

All in all, have to say well done to the staff and its simply a remarkable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balaji J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,714 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 715 in New Delhi
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
2,669 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,006 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing