We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What to say? Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What to say? Perfect!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We loved every moment of our stay at Leela Palace, New Delhi. Their airport pick-up and drop-off at the airport is second to none and the smooth transitions were very much appreciated. Once reaching the hotel, we were treated to a really fabulous traditional welcome with garlands and bindi and from then on wherever we went in the hotel the staff all knew our names and greeted us with a smile. Our Royal Club room was beautiful and completely luxurious, right up to the butler asking if he should run the bath. We thoroughly enjoyed our happy hour drinks in the Club Lounge and the snacks were delicious. There was a wonderful selection of tasty offerings throughout the day in the Club Lounge, as well as some exotic teas and jars bursting with sugar coated almonds, fruit jellies and many different coloured sweets. The décor, whilst extremely lavish, is equally tasteful. There are countless displays of beautiful fresh flowers. Breakfast in the Qube was certainly one of the best breakfast buffets we’d ever experienced. We loved the heated rooftop pool and the great views over Delhi. The picnic basket with a cold flannel, ice cold water and fruit sticks was a very thoughtful refreshing touch. For our last stop in India on this trip, Leela Palace was perfect and we’ve promised ourselves that we must do it again soon.

Room Tip: The Royal Club was a big treat with its Club Lounge and all of the wonderful offerings there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wotwosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,383
    332
    72
    31
    15
See reviews for
504
993
171
684
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

From your entrance to the hotel, the staff could not be more accommodating. Friendly, welcoming with a definite expertise in customer service.

The rooms are large with extraordinarily comfortable beds....mmmmmm, sweet sleep and on top of that enormous bathrooms with fantastic soaker tubs and seperate power shower.

Would recommend the Library for cocktails (Passion Fruit & Cranberry Martini) and the Qube does an excllent breakfast (Waffles and fresh fruit).

Room Tip: So close to the Dilli Haat that it would be rude to miss this excellent opportunity to shop for Indi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_scot1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I must say I have been thinking over the last week what I should write as my feedback for this hotel; and as I sit here on the last day of my 8 week stay here I can truly say that this has been the best city hotel experience I've had in my life. For me a place is the people and that's exactly what makes the Leela Palace so special - the people. From the very initial reservation contact many months ago (Manasi has a special mention here) to all the staff I have met and come to know over these last 7 weeks, everyone has been so polite and nice. Nothing has ever seemed too much trouble and they've been so welcoming that you feel completely at peace at this hotel.

This brings me on to my next point which is that of peace and relaxation, my trip here to Delhi was for business and even when the hotel was completely at it's guest capacity you never feel the rush and noise like you would in other hotels (not only in Delhi but in most of the other 5 stars hotels located in major cities). For me this was of the upmost importance because it meant I could focus on my work and even when having lunch or coffee meetings in the lobby you are at ease.

Based on what I've already wrote this hotel would receive 5 stars in my mind, but it would be an injustice not to also mention the hotel itself which is magnificent, when you first enter the hotel upon arriving you know immediately that you are in for a very special experience (the meet and greet is a very nice touch). The art, decor, furnishes are all of the most exceptional standard and presentation. The attention to detail is flawless and the entire hotel is spotless and clean, clearly the management here have a clear grasp on the entire operation.

The gym and spa are also worth a mention, since they too exhibit a real ambience of serenity and since the gym is not open to external memberships (like other hotels) that too give a very personal feel.

On the food choice & restaurants again, exceptional. The Qube serves an excellent buffet breakfast which you should not miss (they even have a real honey comb to scrap off your fresh honey from...) and that serves food all day until 1am. Other restaurants like Jamavar (Indian) are excellent and although I did not sample the delights of the new Japaense restaurant Megu and the French/Italian restaurant Le Cirque I hear that they too are exceptional.

The Library bar has a great feel to the place and has one of the best collections of fine alcohol I've ever seen with some real rare whiskeys for the discerning connoisseurs. I myself prefer Vodka, but was pleasantly surprised to see the excellent collection that is kept in the Library (likes of Kauffman, Roberto Cavalli etc). In the evening right opposite the Library bar outside there is a very nice seating area, more 'loungey' and relaxing where I spent quite a few evenings. I would definitely advise guests to visit this area to absorb the unique experience offered.

On the top floor the rooftop pool presents another breathtaking experience with panoramic wide views of Delhi, the pool itself is presented superbly and is visually pleasing to the eye and just as nice to swim in (it's heated too). With the WiFi access at the rooftop, it became a slight guilty pleasure of mine to occasional work pool side during the day. Judging by some of the other guests there too I think they too felt the same way!

It's worth mentioning the Internet connection which in India can always be a hit and miss affair, I'm pleased to say at the Leela the Internet connection was very fast and stable. I was able to make video calls without interruptions and even during peak usage times I never had any issues.

The bedrooms are spacious (Deluxe rooms & Royal Cub rooms) and the bed is very very comfortable. You even are presented with a pillow menu in case you have special requirements there. The sleep quality you get at this hotel is brilliant. The bathrooms are exceptional and the the bath even has an inbuilt tv against the wall. In room entertainment is great with a wide choice of channels and an iPod controller (normal tv remotes are so 20th century!).

The hotel take feedback very seriously and although for a long term guest you can sometimes be overwhelmed by the survey cards you are asked to fill in, you come to understand that it is important for the continued improvement of standards and experience of the hotel. I only recall once when I had a negative comment about service in the restaurant and straight away the restaurant manager engaged with me to apologise and assure correction action. That for me is a sign of an institution that has it's house in order and that is a credit to the senior management of the hotel who are running a very slick operation here.

To summarise I will hold the experience at the Leela close to my heart and I will leave here feeling that I made the absolute best decision to stay here when presented with many options in Delhi. Having stayed at other 5 stars and visited others in Delhi I can say that this is clearly ahead of the others. I am already making plans to return to Delhi on business and I would not consider any other hotel. Moreover I'll be sure to recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay here in Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PookeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spend 1 night at this hotel and were overwhelmed by the staff, interior, food, rooms, bar, ambiance, etc., etc.!

A perfect experience and we can only recommend this hotel! Thank's to the whle Leela Palace team for the wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

“Over the top style, impeccable service, rather a Four Seasons George V meets India. Luxurious is an understatement; but it is tasteful. I took seven of my executive team to Delhi in the final stages of a joint venture we are creating. We were all pleased with the business meeting space and thoroughly enjoyed dining one night at Le Cirque (within the hotel). I adored the spa – impressively large and well laid out with excellent local and international style treatments. Just opened last year – I’d bet this place becomes the hotspot of the town. I will likely be back with my family.”

Room Tip: We were told this is the most expensive hotel ever built in India. One must like this “style” and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed at the Leela for a week on business, I can normally be critical but there was not one thing to complain about. Beautiful property, excellent staff, comfortable rooms and delicious food. It is pricey but for once you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Services excellent. Room was nice and comfortable. Fruit basket, chocolates and biscuits to spoil the guest. Breakfast included and full range to choose from. Airport pick up also included in rate and check-in was a breeze. Guest relation officer met me at the hotel entrance and did the check in in the comfort of the room. Newspapers of choice also provided. Location of hotel in the diplomatic enclave and security is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairecindy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,793 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,809 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,932 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
2,740 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing