We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 733 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Without a shadow of doubt the best hotel my and I have ever stayed in. It really was the most extraordinary experience and one that we will definitely repeat on our next trip to India.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendEscapeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,473 - 2,479 of 2,989 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

First Class in all respects. The hotel, rooms, staff, restraurants are excellent. Nothing negative to say about this beautiful hotel. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabagab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Leela Palace for 3 nights at the beginning of our 3 week India trip. We were extremely impressed by the security here; having never been to India it was a concern to us. The staff are very polite, courteous, and attentive; Indian hospitality at its finest.

The hotel is even more grand and opulent than pictures can show. The fresh flower arrangements are unbelievable, the artwork and decorations are beautifully displayed. Even though it is a new hotel, it looks and feels historical while having all the modern amenities. There is so much to see in the hotel that you could easily spend a day becoming acquainted with it. The pool is breathtaking with a beautiful rooftop view. We enjoyed the complimentary drinks given by the pool butler.

We ate dinner at Qube one night and found the food to be okay and very pricey but the ambience is fantastic. The complimentary breakfast at Qube was the best we had during our trip; huge assortment of fresh fruit, smoothies, cold cuts, pastries, yogurts, and hot food both Indian and North American.

Our “basic” room was spacious with hardwood/marble floors, beautiful view of the garden, and luxurious washroom. We loved having a bathtub, separate shower, w/c, and double vanities. The t.v. in the bathroom was difficult to program and awkward to see when sitting in the tub. We loved that the entertainment system is controlled by an ipod touch; easy access to movies, music, and videos. We also really enjoyed the cookies, sweets, fruit and chocolates that were left in the room every day.

Our only critiques are that the hotel is outside the old city and not in a great location for tourism; a taxi/driver is needed for any sightseeing or going to an outside restaurant. The area outside the hotel is very busy and not pedestrian friendly or picturesque. We found the staff to be too eager to help and suffocating at times. We used the concierge desk twice to book dinner reservations outside the hotel and a local taxi; both times they asked us to wait in the lobby but didn’t tell us when the taxi had arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the garden. It is beautifully landscaped and at night is lit with candles and fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank physio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The Leela Palace is a beautiful hotel. When you enter the lobby, it seems a little cramped but there is a big courtyard out there and there is more. Check-in is accomplished by getting a staff member coming to your room and checking you in! He takes down all your details and answers all your questions, etc. And introduces you to the floor butler who walks in with a welcome drink. Cheers to that. He also takes down the list of newspapers you need the next day - but as it has happened at the Oberoi at Gurgaon, the papers you want aren't the papers you get. Don't bother going through this exercise folks if you don't have the papers I want to read!

The room is fancy and has all the amenities for the business-like hotel that it is. The windows don't open but smoking is allowed. You have a nice comfy bed with a pillow menu. Now these pillow menus are usually dicey - I never ever get the pillow I want!

The bathroom has a bathtub as well as a separate shower and toilet cubicles. As always my grouse is that there is no jetwash next to the potty seat - only toilet paper. Heck, this is India folks, so please have it put in your toilets. Toilet paper just isn't enough!

The hotel has a terrific Italian restaurant - the famous Le Cirque - at the top, with a balcony area next to the bar that overlooks the city. It is a beautiful place. The food at the restaurant is really awesome.

Other than these niggles, a great place to stay with terrific service to go with it too.

Room Tip: The higher floors will be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srinik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We have stayed in this amazing hotel on our way back to Europe and enjoy every minute of our stay here.

The elegance and the attention to detail can be observed from the first step.The staff is very friendly,welcoming and helpful. The room and the bathroom were absolutely wonderful,spacious.We enjoyed a dinner at the the Qube, although a little bit pricey,but the quality was very good.

The spa facility was great and the staff very professional.

It was one of the best experiences and definitely we recommend it .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgraluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

A relatively new hotel located in the diplomatic enclave in New Delhi. This was our first trip to Delhi so were unsure of locations and booked due to recommendations on Trip Advisor. The hotel was 1st class and the staff were very friendly although sometimes it got a little too much. If you were on your way to breakfast and passed 5 staff members, each one would say "good morning, how is sir and ma'am today, what plans do you have today, have you visited Delhi before, where are you from". Whilst this is great and shows the obvious training and attentiveness of the staff, it became a bit much answering the same questions over and over to every person you walked past. Also unsure if there is a staff incentive program in place, I am sure there is, but every person we came in contact with advised that we needed to fill in the guest feedback card and please mention their name. Actually our breakfast waiter stalked us for 4 days to fill in a card, we ended up not going back to breakfast on the 5th day. The doorman, a very tall gentleman who usually works the morning shift is FANTASTIC!! Very organised, un-obtrusive and has a very dry humour. We would often stop and chat with him. I would say the food was good, nothing fabulous, and we dined at 2 of their restaurants whilst we were there. Le Cirque unfortunately had a set menu moroccan themed for the entire week we were there, so no other choice available other than the moroccan menu. The rooms were well appointed, we stayed on the exec level and I think we were the only people there as we only saw 1 other guest on 1 night of a 6 night stay. The exec lounge had background music playing and as we were the only ones there we asked if the music could be turned down so we could watch the evening news. This was not possible we were told and the solution was to turn the volume up on the TV" so you had loud TV and loud music in competition. Maybe after the hotel has been up and running for a bit longer the staff may relax a little more. Exec level food sub-standard for a hotel of this price and class.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in Delhi for 2 years up to April 2010 and on my first visit back to India, I tried the Leela. It is an excellent hotel and whereas it does not have the colonial charm of the Imperial or Claridges, it takes service to another level. Unbelievable attention to detail, and helpfulness, taken to another level. And the staff are as friendly as can be, quite unbelievable!

The pool on the roof is great, excellent vistas of Delhi. And the breakfast is better than that of any Oberoi or Taj we have stayed in, including Taj Rambagh or the Taj Lake Palace Hotel, or the Oberoi New Delhi or Mumbai. Very well-situated hotel for visits to Delhi, also not too far from the airport. The spa is unbelievable, run by Espa.

Room Tip: Higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 733 in New Delhi
4,130 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 733 in New Delhi
2,972 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 733 in New Delhi
2,879 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 733 in New Delhi
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110 023, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £229 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing