We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“#1 Hotel for Good Reason!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Palace New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“#1 Hotel for Good Reason!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I've just returned from a 7 day tour in India. My partner & I stayed in five different 5 star hotels in Delhi, Jaipur & Agra. The Leela Palace beat them all hands down.

Staff was friendly, efficient & beautifully turned out. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and the TV in the bath tub was especially novel. My daughter & son-in-law (who are travelling the world) met us at the Leela Palace as our guests and were made very welcome by the staff. The Door staff couldn't have been more helpful.

One downside for me was The Cirque restaurant, if you are hungry you may want to go somewhere else. I have no complaints about the food but the portions were very small & very expensive. The only other thing is the air fresheners in the hallways which were too strong & made me feel nauseous.

I would highly recommend The Leela Palace - it is now in my top 3 hotels in the world!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It is rewarding to read this review at the top of the morning. Many thanks for staying at The Leela Palace New Delhi with your family.

I am delighted that our accommodations with Delhi’s largest bathrooms and staff services were the high notes during your stay however I do take a careful note of your other observations. We welcome every feedback to be able to constantly improve upon our services and please be assured that the chef and I will have a look at his portion sizes.

We look very much forward to welcoming you and your family back again in not too distant future.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,201
    307
    70
    30
    14
See reviews for
460
927
158
628
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

It is hard to imagine that this hotel was not able to figure out the correct price and included services for 2 days by themselves.

All started with their prearrival confirmation where they confirmed correct price but were asking to pay for airport transfer which was actually included in the room rate.

I have clarified this with the organizers of my stay before the arrival and all seemed to be sorted out. The car was waiting for me and the trip was rather uneventful only if they have sprayed very strong perfume in the car, so I was forced to keep the car window open for at least 10 minutes to ventilate it out.

During the check in I was highly surprised to notice, that the hotel insisted to sign check-in form with Best available rate, and not with the preagreed corporate rate! Despite me giving the contact information for the organizers (what they certainly had), the hotel wasn't able to sort it out during 2 days and again i needed to take personal initiative and provide to them explanations and request to call the contact person so all could be sorted out finally. I guess, only that's why I was allowed to extend my check out time free of charge.

Didn't use their gym or swimming pool, room standard,WiFi not for free even in the lobby, breakfast was Ok, but surprisingly no smoked salmon available what is standard in many hotels. One can get it however, but it must be specially requested. I find it is really odd.

This hotel advertises itself as luxury, hassle free etc. Not in my experience. Will not stay there: simple things as IT system what works and reflects information correctly is a basic thing in any hotel. Apparently not in this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for reaching out on Trip Advisor on your less than satisfactory experience. I have taken the liberty to reach out to you you via separate email to find out more about your experience and to better understand what would have possibly gone wrong.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

From the rooftop infinity pool to the luxury restaurants. It's was a real delight and discovering all the amazing bits and pieces was an adventure in itself.

If your unused to Indian luxury hotels then the level of service can be overwhelming as there are so many dutiful staff waiting on the guests at all time. But it's something you get used to quite quickly.

Amazing hotel, fantastic memories. Left with smiles will be back!

Pros:
City views

Room decor is beautiful and classic

The food at all restaurants is above par however the food at le cirque during our stay edged out the other more expensive restaurants. Breathtaking.

The deluxe rooms are great and getting the included breakfast is a must.

Service is amazing staff are really helpful and knowledgable. From post to cheap taxi summons they did everything they could do make our stay amazing.

Laundry service superb cleaned the dirtiest fav travel shirt that would have been consigned to the bin otherwise.

Fantastic wine list.

Eagles swooping on the roof while you watch with a mohito is a must.

Spa treatments phenomenal.

Cons:
Any wifi cost is a travesty, how can any hotel justify 200inr per hour?
Roof Pool was a bit scummy for a early morning swim, night pollution in Delhi I suppose.
Wagu steak covered in garlic?

Misc:
Taxi from Delhi airport to Leela palace hotel Delhi - 550 inr - arranged through hotel.

Day booking of driver in a/c car from hotel to Agra and back - unlimited stops, inc tolls and petrol. 6200inr (approx 10 rupees per mile plus tolls) - we didn't arrange through hotel. But ask they might!

Delhi by day - driver inc car and petrol and tolls 1000inr for 8 hrs - not arranged through hotel. 50inr for additional hours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay at The Leela Palace New Delhi.

I am thrilled to note that you found time to enjoy our rooftop pool and moreover got a chance to see the many eagles gliding in the afternoon’s jet stream surrounding the hotel. It is a pleasure to read that our award-wining spa services by ESPA and menus across our restaurants scored high on your experience.

Our concierges along with our laundry team join me in thanking you for your kind appreciation of our staff services and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I went to attend a conference organized by PwC at Leela Palace, stayed overnight. Found the conference hall big and ceiling high enough to give us warm feeling, good facilities and services. Tea breaks and working meals served were of high quality. I liked furniture and arrangement in the lobby. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed dinner on the Terrace with grand City view.

Room Tip: take a round all over this grand property to feel really royal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeevbora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for staying at The Leela Palace New Delhi and for your kind review.

We are grateful for your compliments on our banquet facilities and accommodations.

The Leela Palace New Delhi features the most luxuriously appointed function and meeting rooms in the city and is the ideal place for business.

We are glad that you were able to experience this with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Booked here thru trip advisor recommendation. Place near the embassiies .

Room was comfortable and very clean.

Spa was well appointed, only. The mirrors fooled you and I nearly walked in one.

Heave lemon grass scent in the corridors and my lungs complained such that I had to run out of the corridors into street or courtyard.

No free internet and that was for me is a big negative.

Breakfast spread very good and the bar ,so called library had excellent menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We sincerely appreciate your time to review your recent stay at The Leela Palace New Delhi.
While I am glad that you enjoyed our accommodations, the experiences at our restaurant and bar along with our Spa services, I do take a serious note of other indicated areas. My apologies for the spotless mirrors and we’ll certainly ensure to review the area in question.

While Internet is unfortunately not free yet, we are pleased to offer some of the lowest choice options available.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Leela Palace New Delhi soon.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I loved Leela Palace for so many reasons. The welcome is absolutely lovely, they ask you before they put the red powder on you and the area the hotel is in is a quiet oasis. When you walk in the lobby, the furniture is beautiful and the ceilings high which make the space look warm and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and luxurious, we chose rooms on the club level. I wish we could have used the club lounge more, we picked this based on other reviews but I have to admit that because of its hours, we hardly used it at all. I wish we would have taken a cheaper room here but this is not the hotel's issue. The service here is great, the concierge helped me before I arrived and addressed some issues we had while we were there with no hesitation, they were great. Our flight to Jaipur was cancelled and even though they did not assist with booking it, they were quick to help us in booking another flight and also extend our room stay since we had already checked out. We had breakfast in the cube every morning - it was lovely to watch the day start since the whole restaurant is glass with very little lighting. The food was good enough, not spectactular but the service was wonderful. It was too cold to use the pool but I did check it out and it was peaceful and I am sure great to use when warmer. We went to India during a cold spell! I would highly recommend this hotel. We visited others for meals and though they were also nice, we were happy with our choice and if we had it to over, I would choose Leela again.

Room Tip: If you think you will spend time in the hotel, choose a club level room but we were out sightseeing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkGirlNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you some much for your kind recommendation of the hotel and it is a pleasure to read that your stay at The Leela Palace New Delhi met your expectations.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed our special touches including our traditional and personalized Indian welcome on arrival. My team joins me in thanking you for commending our staff services especially at the concierge and your breakfast experience at The Qube that overlooks the plush greens and our iconic DEVI statue.

Sad to hear that you could not fully use the club lounge that offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations along with many other exclusive benefits, I sincerely hope that you will have more time on your next visit to experience all other features including a dip in our the stunning rooftop pool with 360 degree views of New Delhi.

We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.

With warm regards,
Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Hospitality is something you observe right from the time we step at the porch. Its a warm welcome which greets you. Having done a couple of business events here, I am assured that my clients are in good hands when hosting a meeting at this place. Food is great and the décor and setup is serene, needless to mention. Location is a huge plus point, while away from the busy roads, its still extremely well connected to all of Delhi and NCR.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for posting your kind review. Your observations on our propitious location in Delhi’s elite neighborhood and our constant desire to provide personalized yet unobtrusive staff services along the versatile food & beverage menus are greatly appreciated.

We highly appreciate your support in selecting The Leela Palace as the preferred hotel in Delhi for your guests and I look forward to the chance of meeting you upon your next return.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
4.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing