We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

In few of words I'll complete my review ...
Rooms: nice
Food : great
Spa : good
Hospitality : good
Child care : awesome ( provided free chocolates --- toy--- baby food )

Unlike Taj here u have to tell staff what to do and when to do ... Nothing special for couple celebrating special days ... It was managed as per my guidance no innovation by them
Rest everything was well managed


Overall : 4.5/5

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ravish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Leela Palace New Delhi.

I am glad to note that our services met with your expectations and thank you for the kind endorsement of our child services and food & beverage offerings.

Special occasions for our guests are very special to us and to avoid a standard experience we always try to seek every detail possible prior. We do regret if this has given the wrong impression.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Leela Palace New Delhi soon.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,388
    332
    72
    31
    15
See reviews for
504
995
171
684
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I travel to Delhi three to four times a year for business and I have stayed in all the 'best' hotels in Delhi (The Imperial, The Oberoi, Taj Palace) but the Leela is above and beyond the rest of them and I won't stay anywhere else now.

The service is absolutely outstanding, the staff are warm, friendly and can't do enough to help. I feel like I come home when I stay there. The food is amazing, Megu for wonderful Japanese food, Le Cirque and The Qube for a selection of Western and Indian food. The library bar is awesome and feels homely plus they do excellent cocktails!

The rooms are luxurious, spotlessly clean, well appointed with every need catered to especially in the bathroom which is huge. The tv in the bath is great, the penhalligans toiletries are great. The beds are huge, comfortable with great pillows you won't want to leave the room.

The rooftop infinity pool is stunning with a great view of Delhi and the spa is the best I have ever visited, the therapists are excellent! Highly recommended!

All in all the experience of staying at the Leela will exceed your expectations.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank luciusfogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation of The Leela Palace New Deli and for bestowing us such high marks among hotels in Delhi.

It is a pleasure to note your appreciation of our restaurants and bespoke accommodations with Delhi’s most luxurious bathrooms.

The team at The Leela Palace thank you for being our patron and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

beautiful hotel and most importantly great customer service. 4.5 stars tot he hotel as they still have some room for improvement - miss the "indian sweets" by the bedside, that they used to serve every evening!

5 stars to the one and only person I have dealt with everytime I stay there - Nancy Gujral. Great hospitality coupled by attention to detail and ensures stay is not only comfortable but absolutely delightful. Great hire by Leela Palace!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
It is a pleasure to read your kind review and I am delighted to learn of the recognition and praise for Nancy.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will surely bake some Indian sweets myself for your next visit to The Leela Palace.

Looking forward to the opportunity of meeting you personally upon your return to The Leela Palace New Delhi.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel only one night at the end of our trip to India, but it was a great last night in Delhi. The property itself is on a bit of a busy corner, so it doesn't have the closed in "compound" feel that the Taj Mahal Hotel did, but it is still very secure, with all cars getting checked before entering the property. The lobby is quite nice, and we were taken to our room, which was a gorgeous and clean, state of the art "business-like" room, with one exception--the bathroom was particularly gorgeous, with a tub its own separate TV and a very large shower (which, unfortunately leaked all over the bathroom floor), but hey--I am always a sucker for hotels that put effort into making bathrooms nice. We got in a bit late, but went to the rooftop pool for a dip before it closed, and were glad we did. The pool was gorgeous and the view at night was amazing. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was quite good, and had a restful sleep. Our last day in New Delhi our flight was quite late, so we arranged with the front desk to have a spa treatment and late check out. They have the right to charge for late check out (I think we checked out as late as 4 pm after our spa treatment), but they were very nice, and apparently had some vacancy and did not charge us. The spa was lovely--I wish we could have spent more time there if we weren't in a rush. We both got this very special Indian oil scalp treatment, which was very relaxing and I would recommend it as something different to try. The area around the hotel is very interesting. It is on somewhat of a busy street, and although most people wouldn't really consider Delhi much of a walking city, we wanted to walk around a little bit. We wanted to try Goan food, and it turns out that right near the hotel there are all of these buildings with relationships to different states in India. There is a Goan House within 10 minute walking distance of Leela Palace with a very good, affordable cafeteria serving Goan food, which I would recommend to anyone looking to try something a bit different. Charge for internet was really my only pet peeve with this hotel (as it was with almost all of the luxury hotels we stayed at), but I really liked this hotel overall, and would recommend it to people traveling for business or pleasure to Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed views of your recent visit at The Lela Palace New Delhi.

I am delighted to read that you got the chance to experience our rooftop pool with the panoramic city lights at night. We appreciate your kind comments on our accommodations as well as overall services and are happy to learn that you explored the local cuisines in our neighborhoods.

We thank you again for staying with us and we hope you welcome you both back again in not too distant future.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Such a beautiful hotel with gracious, helpful staff. I stayed for a week on business and couldn't have been happier. The room was huge and beautiful. The staff was both ever-present and never in the way. The breakfast room had multi-story glass walls overlooking a garden. I particularly appreciated the concierge's suggestions for buying high-end saris and fabric.
And I commend the warm, helpful door staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_Swimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of The Leela Palace New Delhi following your recent stay.

It is a pleasure to read your commendations and that your week with us was so enjoyable. My team joins me in thanking you for being our guest and we are already looking forward to your return.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Rather an oasis of calm in fun and bustling Delhi. Service was excellent, everyone on the staff was friendly and efficient. Our room was well laid out, with a very comfy bed and all amenities, including a fine luxuriously large bathroom.
Breakfast in the Qube restaurant was excellent with great variety and service. We did not eat in the hotel (unfortunately as I think we missed out!). An evening drink in the garden was also very nice. The main bar is fine although rather quiet with no external view. Rooftop pool was very nice.
The spa was also excellent - and huge! - with very reasonable prices for a lovely massage, needed after the long trip to get here!
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for staying at The Leela Palace New Delhi. I am happy that you found our location an oasis in a bustling city.

I am sorry to read that you missed out on our wonderful restaurants appointed with Delhi’s finest open air dining venues including our tenth floor terrace at Le Cirque, however I am glad that you did experience the majestic views of Delhi’s skyline at our rooftop swimming pool and our award-wining spa.

Thank you for your praise on our facilities and staff services.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope you’ll have more time at hand to experience our vast variety of restaurants and exquisite cuisines.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The interior of the hotel is ornate and can be ostentatious to some people, but the furnishings are all quality and tasteful. The room is spacious. I loved the in-room check-in and the individualized attention that you'd get as soon as you've arrived. You are acknowledged by every staff every time you pass by one in the hotel. The selections at breakfast was for the most part standard but I've loved the non-gluten offerings. The pool is stunning on the top floor. The concierge was friendly and helpful. Everyone was helpful, in fact, without making you feel like they are waiting for a tip. The only sad thing is that I heard the hotel is up for sale. I hope whomever takes over will keep up the good work.

Room Tip: any one will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davewuhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the unparalleled quality of our hotel and luxurious accommodations.

Everyone at The Leela Palace joins me in thanking you also for your recommendation of our staff services.

Thank you for experiencing our gluten-free menu at The Qube and please come back in the near future to experience our soon to be launched new summer menus boasting many more delights for your enjoyment.

The Leela Palace New Delhi teams look forward to many, many more years to be of service to you.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,801 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,825 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,939 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
2,744 reviews
4.7 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#3 of 715 in New Delhi
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing