We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arrived at this hotel excited as we wanted to stay there after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Our tour company had changed our Delhi hotel to the Leela Palace from the Oberoi Gurgaon just before our departure from Australia. The female receptionist who took us to our room sneezed, snorted and coughed after entering the lift and continued all the way to our room. On arrival at the floor of our room she had to ring reception to find out which room number we had been given. The room was very good but the guest toiletries in the bathroom were very limited - only soap , shampoo, body lotion and shower caps. The bar staff were very aloof and distant compared to our experiences at The Taj and Oberoi Hotels. We couldn't wait to finish our drinks and leave.
The Qube Restaurant - Spectacular decor but we seated next to the work station. The staff were arguing with each other and the Restaurant manager asked them to leave the work station and look after the guests. We had to ask to be moved to another table as they became too noisy. This was done grudgingly and we were made to feel in the wrong.The food was okay but overpriced. We were very disappointed to end our stay in India with less than a 5 star experience when we expected so much more.
A beautiful hotel but the staff need lots of training.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

I assure you that my team is highly disheartened to read that we were not able to live up to our service promise.

While we tried contacting you post your comment card, I am taking liberty to reach out via TripAdvisor and hope you would give me an opportunity to speak with you in person.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,914 - 1,920 of 3,037 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have spent really nice time in the Leela! Designed with a lot of taste, nicely combining elements of Indian culture with design Leela offered excellent environment during my business trip to Delhi. I very much enjoyed my breakfast in the garden, the roof top pool, gym and spa. Front desk and consierge as well as in general ALL employees including pool and houskeeping were very attentive, friendly and helpful. I will be happy to come back to Leela.

Room Tip: The room was great. I rate it only as very good since in similar hotels I had a larger room for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkdamiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

It is wonderful to read your kind endorsement. All Leela properties are unique in their architecture and are bejeweled to orchestrate an experience truly inspired by a rich cultural heritage combining the warmth of traditional Indian hospitality with our luxurious interiors.

Thank you for kind praise for our staff services and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights on business and really found this place to be faultless.
Friendly welcoming service, excellent food, lovely rooms and amenities. Lovely pool area and excellent spa facilites too.
The sushi restaurant was superb - don't miss it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gummo0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for commending our luxurious accommodations, staff services and Food & Beverage experiences of your recent stay with us.

Chef Saito-san is delighted to note that MEGU, our modern-Japanese New York import scored high on your experience. We also thank you for being our guest at our award-wining spa, by ESPA.

We hope that business will bring you back to The Leela Palace New Delhi soon and the rooftop pool eagerly awaits your return.

With best regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

When you arrive at your hotel at 2am you're not sure what to expect. Well considering we were picked up at the airport in a gorgeous BMW 5 series I should have known. We were greeted at the entrance by our front desk person who called us by name and escorted us directly to the rooms, we did not have to go through a classic check in process, everything was handled with the customer in mind. The stay was like that the whole time we were there (2 weeks). Beautiful hotel, wonderful service and reasonable rates. Would absolutely return.

Room Tip: There really aren't any bad rooms, the noise from the street is completely muffled, I was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattk_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and a heartfelt thank you for the glowing appreciation of our features and staff services.

I am happy to know that our seamless check-in upon arrival at 2am was a success and that we were able to uphold our service promise throughout the remainder of your stay with us.

Your wonderful review is the true testament to our daily efforts and the team at The Leela Palace New Delhi and I am looking forward to welcoming you back as our patrons soon.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. I liked everything about this wonderful hotel. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The service was truly outstanding, the whole staff go out of their way to make the guest feel more comfortable. The decor, the food, and the rooms were all top-notch!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LulwaSalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

I am delighted to note that you and your friends enjoyed your experience at The Leela Palace New Delhi.

I am pleased to read your kind compliments on our features including the food & beverage offerings, our luxurious accommodations and staff services.

Thank you for being our guests and we hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again soon.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After experiencing the gold standard for customer service (the Oberoi) the service at the Leela felt almost clinical. The staff were professional, but not warm nor did they give the sense that they would go the extra mile. The concierge, for example, often didn't pick up the phone when we called his desk and we were told by the operator a couple of times that he would tell the concierge to cal us back which he didn't.

The restaurant staff were the best and there is an amazing champagne buffet which we loved, though we had an unfortunate incident where we made an order only to be told 30 minutes later that the station we had ordered from had subsequently closed. Only after complaining did the assistant manager, who was wonderful, and the chef come to apologise.

It is the little things that spoil the whole experience, we very much got the sense that you have to be someone important for them to go the extra mile.

Compared to other business or 'big city' hotels, it is above average, the rooms are beautifully decorated, the staff professional, but I wouldn't put it at par with what I consider to be the Gold Standard of business travel, Four Seasons.

Room Tip: We loved our floor, I think it was the 7th or 8th where the suites were. We had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZedTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and I am happy to read that you loved your accommodation and views they present. Naturally we are disheartened for not being able to provide a seamless experience during your time with us.

Please be assured that your comments have been duly noted and revisited with our teams.

We hope to have the opportunity of being of service to you again in the not too distant future and exceed your as well as our own standards.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Arrived at the Leela Palace after long flights from the US. Staff was gracious and very helpful in getting us settled. Room was large, quiet and very comfortable. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet and eating outside in the garden patio. The spa was awesome with great massage therapists.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Many thanks for recommending our luxurious accommodations and I am delighted that you found time to experience our award-wining services at ESPA along with the Delhi’s most beautiful alfresco experiences.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Leela Palace New Delhi and we look forward to seeing you both again in not too distant future.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#28 of 777 in New Delhi
2,936 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 777 in New Delhi
4,219 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 777 in New Delhi
2,199 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £195 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing