We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hare Krishna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hare Krishna
Ranked #677 of 1,053 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good base”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hare Krishna's for our last 2 nights in India. For 600 rupees a night I couldnt have asked for much more. The staff were helpful, if a little stern looking, and when we needed toilet roll and soap they were happy to supply it. The rooms have no windows, and the floors could do with a good clean, but this was only a base for us. We had hot water everytime we had a shower, which is quite a rarity in India. The roof terrace is lovely, even with the frequent zapping sound coming from the insect killing machine thing! They do a really good lassie, so make sure you try one! They have the internet which is cheap to use, and 24 hour check in which is a great bonus if you are arriving late. If your just looking for a base this place is perfect. If you are looking for luxury and home comforts, perhaps you shouldnt really be going to India!!
I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    17
    13
    25
See reviews for
5
27
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We ended up staying here by accident after a long journey and looking at lots of hotels we settled for hare krishna.. Cell like windowless grubby rooms for a start.. no hot water after it was promised 24hr hot water sir!! The staff wake up and start shouting at 5am.. telephones ringing at 5.15.. so don't expect any sleep!! To top it all we visited the rooftop restaurant ordered our food and ate it.. the bill came they tried to overcharge us and when we complained the waiter started shouting at my wife saying it was our fault that they got the order wrong???? arguing with us in front of other customers.. a crazy situation!! i complained to the manager the next day and he didn't seem to care.. very very rude staff who just want your money!!

Room Tip: don't choose any room...shop around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damogoodwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I had a good experience at the Hare Krishna Guest House.
My room was clean, so was the bathroom.
The sheets were okay.
I loved the rooftop with a pretty good restaurant, open 24/7. There were some nice views.
The staff at the reception were not friendly.
I loved that it is on the main bazaar street; 5 minutes away from a metro station. It was very easy to go around the city.
There were many cafes, shops and money exchange/transfer places around.
Overall, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor. It was good but pretty dark with no views. However, no need for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

When we arrived the hotel the staff said the room was still being cleaned, we said we were happy to wait. When we checked into the room I noticed that quite obviously the sheets had not been changed. I went down to the front desk and said I did't want to be rude but could the sheets be changed. The staff member said as soon as we paid for the room we could have clean sheets 'if' he had any. I said I would rather get the new sheets and then pay for the room (I had an inkling that as soon as we handed over the money we would be stuck with the old sheets) The guy went crazy, it was actually rather amusing at first to watch a grown man acting like a 2 year old. Eventually he stomped up stairs, got us soon clean sheets and snatched the money. All very silly and unnecessarily we checked out in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krasnoyarsk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Do not stay there!!!!My property (digital camera,telephone,credit card) was stolen in this hotel, BUT all time the door was locked and the key was with me. I hate this hotel, his owner, who was extremly rude with me and my husband after this case. Theft - is a part of busines of the owner, take care of your property, and better - try to find another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

It has a small entranceway which properly reflects the tone of the hotel - quiet and tastefully elegant. The rooms are very spacious and impeccably maintained.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bred p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Despite being paid up beyond my expected departure time, was asked to leave my room hours before taxi to airport booking, because another couple wanted the room. Staff banged on my door at 3 a.m. to see if I was awake and would leave, when I said no the staff member tried to shame me. This kind of behavior is a simple cash grab, and lousy business with no respect for the customer. I guess they don't expect to get repeat business. They won't get mine.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukoshizutsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Ajay Guest House
Ajay Guest House
#497 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Anoop Hotel
#538 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Vivek Hotel
#159 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Arjun
Hotel Arjun
#125 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Shelton
Hotel Shelton
#92 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hare Krishna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hare Krishna

Property: Hotel Hare Krishna
Address: 1572, Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Formerly Hare Krishna Guest House)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #677 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hare Krishna 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside New Delhi Railway Station,hotel Hare Krishna offers rooms with free wired internet and a flat-screen cable TV. A 24-hour front desk and free parking facilities are provided. Hare Krishna Guest House is 900 metres from Connaught Metro Station and 1 km from Connaught Place. Indira Gandhi Airport is 19 km away. Rooms come with either a fan or air conditioning. A work desk and attached bathroom with shower facilities are provided. Currency exchange and ticketing services are available at the tour desk. Laundry and ironing services are offered. Guests can enjoy a selection of international food including European and Chinese dishes at Hare Krishna Tom Thai Restaurant. The guest house also has a bakery and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hare Krishna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare Krishna Guest House Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing