We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ashoka International
Ranked #570 of 1,053 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Arrived Delhi late at night and taken to this hotel after being told that other hotels were fully booked. We're taken to supposedly a travel agent who made several phones calls while we waited only to be told that there were no vacancies anywhere. We were then taken to ashoka international where we were well overcharged, the room was dirty, the bathroom was terrible and the shower and toilet very dirty. Lots of Mosquitos in the room. We were getting ready to go to sleep when the front desk rang asking a question and then several minutes later there was a knock at the door and they were asking for an up front deposit. At breakfast the table tops were dirty and looked as if they had not been changed for some time. In the morning we saw the driver that took us to the hotel the night before, sitting in the foyer with other staff. When we tried to discuss the over pricing of the room the staff got quite aggressive. Later we looked on the web and saw the cost of the most expensive room they had available for a fraction of the price we were charged. Having been to India before and to several other countries including Asia and Africa this hotel is by far the worst and most unpleasant hotels we have ever stayed in. We would not recommend it at all and do not have one good thing to say about it

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    13
    3
    37
See reviews for
9
24
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Of the aeroport, we asked the taxi to pick up to Paharganj. One time arrive, he says that it is not a good place for the family. This aera not good for us. And leads(drives) us to Ashoka. The bathroom is dirty. The hotel is very expensive for this quality. It is thieves and touts .We remained one at night and left by our own means in parahganj. We found very suitable rooms and cheaper.
It's shame for Ashoka, to practise this politics.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed in Ashoka International for 3 night. I found it pretty descent. Customer service was amazing. very helpful. Food was great as well. Would definitely stay there again. And it was reasonably priced as well .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irtik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel when we arrived in Delhi. We had originally booked a different hotel but the taxi driver suddenly said he couldn't find it and stopped at a "goverment approved" tourist office. We had to follow him inside and the guy working there told us that we had booked a hotel in a very unsafe area and that we should not stay there. We felt pressured and let the taxi driver take us to a new hotel; Hotel Ashoka International.

Stay away from this hotel! Room and bathroom is smelly and very dirty.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

It's interesting now reading other reviews of this hotel regarding the possibility of it being part of a scam as we (2 couples) have a similar story.
Having arrived in Delhi after a long flight we took a taxi at the airport to our hotel.The drivers mate after some lengthy driving around told us it was impossible to get to our hotel due to the police sealing off the area due to security reasons (at the time there had been disturbances in Delhi due to a high profile rape case) We were then driven to a travel agents who rang our hotel and allowed me to speak to the manager who told me the same as drivers mate.In hindsight I cannot say who I spoke to really...it may or may not have been the manager.However drivers mate told us he knew a hotel etc etc, of course out on a limp and very tired we went with him to yes that's right The Ashoka International !
Was this all a genuine sequence of events or a well choreographed set up to channel us to this hotel? I have no evidence either way but on returning home and one of our party contacting the original hotel regarding the security incident they said there was no such occurrence and now on reading other reviews it seems to have a certain parallel...These are the facts, I cannot say for certain if it was or was not a scam...So make your own judgement.
The hotel itself was over priced, grim and dirty, our toilet actually leaked onto the floor when you did your business.. Lovely! oh yeah it didn't flush either !We ate there too in the restaurant, again dirty table tops.. Food was OK.
One plus.. The WiFi worked.
We would never have planned to go to this hotel, it was awful. If you do find yourself arriving here by whatever route I suggest you immediately do an about turn and exit the building!

Room Tip: Check out and go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StraightDownTheLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

After arriving in Delhi and being told we couldn t get to our hotel due to security issues the taxi drive took us here , the whole thing is a massive scam . The hotel is disgusting the bed linen is dirty and the bathroom is dirty and shabby the internet doesn t work , Never ever stay in this hotel .

Room Tip: All rooms are the same awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexgirlnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

An absolutely awful, rip-ff place and a terrible start to our trip.Our cab driver took us from airport to here in the middle of the night, so we stayed.
It is dingy and dark. They notably overcharged us initially and when we mentioned wanting to move the next day to our Gov. operated tour manager he said said he would fix a lower price for us, so he did for the next night. So the over-charging is obviously a front-desk scam by staff. Then things changed for the worse at the hotel.
They turned off our hot water and pretended they couldn't fix it, stopped all room service and stood smirking at the front desk as they watched us having to go in and out for supplies. They would not carry our bags out for us when we left and were very rude when talking to me.
One of the staff ripped us off for phone cards he was arranging for us, coming to our room and charging me again for them when my husband was out and had in fact already paid him. This caused an unpleasant argument in the lobby and I actually left this hotel yelling at them that it was a terrible place. We have been to India many times and this was the WORST place we have stayed.
They prey on tourists here.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose any room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.1 mi away
The Ashok
The Ashok
#164 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#58 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#444 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#75 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ashoka International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ashoka International

Property: Hotel Ashoka International
Address: 3382 D B Gupta Road | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #570 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ashoka International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ashoka International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing