We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ran out in disgust to return the scam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OYO 5795 Karol Bagh
Ranked #250 of 1,135 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Like other reviews we were conned into going here rather than our original hotel by a so called official taxi driver at the airport who called our hotel and said our booking was cancelled. We only paid a fraction of the total room cost to get a bed for the first night. The next day we worked out it was a scam and found our original hotel (Bloomrooms near the station great place) and then ran out of the hotel to a waiting tuc-tuc. Never believe taxi drivers who claim your hotel is closed.

The rooms are basic but clean but not worth the money they ask for them.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_AshokaINT, General Manager at OYO 5795 Karol Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for stay at Hotel Ashoka International Our Management of Hotel Ashoka International has changed before 1 month Rooms and, Service Staff got improved. Please continue stay with Hotel Ashoka International

Thanks & Warm Regards
Team Hotel Ashoka International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Be warned ! Much the same as everyone else on this site, I had to stay here on 11th February 2014 and was also was scammed into staying here, with what seems like the usual racket, i.e. taxi, road closed, government tourist agent, no hotels apart from this one and you end up paying a relatively exorbitant fee for the privilege of staying in a dustbin!
They say there is no WiFi, and I'm sure this is to prevent you from looking at tripadvisor to read how the hotel is rated once you are here.
Watch out for the food, I looked into the kitchen and Yuk and I really do mean Yuk!
The room I stayed in bears no remote reality to any of the rooms pictured on their site.
I just do not understand why they allow such a hotel to get into this condition, it was very dirty, and there just isn't any need for that.
Unbelievable! Just be aware of the scam that starts at the airport etc. and BE WARNED.

Room Tip: Be sure that you are not taken here by the taxi under some false pretence, just be firm with the dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 77Wes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_AshokaINT, General Manager at OYO 5795 Karol Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for stay at Hotel Ashoka International Our Management of Hotel Ashoka International has changed before 1 month Rooms and, Service Staff got improved. Please continue stay with Hotel Ashoka International

Thanks & Warm Regards
Team Hotel Ashoka International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This place is a scam! We were tricked into coming here by a number of local people all working together. We were stopped at the train station & told we needed a permit to get anywhere around town, then were taken to a false travel agency to get a "permit" because of a false "Muslim holiday" that we were told put the city on Red Security Alert. The travel agency made a show of calling many places and said this was the only hotel available. This hotel charged us $80 a night (which is the price for an upper-range hotel in Delhi) and this place was a pit. While my husband payed for the room, I rode up the elevator with a staff member who tried to grab my breasts THREE TIMES! When we tried to go out for dinner, the staff told us we couldn't go outside because it was too dangerous with the "Muslim festival," so we ate at their filthy (to put it politely, overpriced restaurant and were the only customers. After, we logged online to read about this festival and alert on the city and found absolutely nothing. We then checked the hotel's reviews and saw MANY reviews from people who had the exact same experience (scam, followed by scam). We confronted the staff late at night and they wouldn't give us a refund until we threatened to call the tourist police. We then went across town at 11:30 at night (no Muslim festival after all, nor road closures, nor a need for a permit), stayed at a MUCH, much nicer hotel for less than half of what Ashoka asked for and in a much nicer part of town.. Scam! DON'T stay here!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnonymousOne4458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_AshokaINT, General Manager at OYO 5795 Karol Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for stay at Hotel Ashoka International Our Management of Hotel Ashoka International has changed before 1 month Rooms and, Service Staff got improved. Please continue stay with Hotel Ashoka International

Thanks & Warm Regards
Team Hotel Ashoka International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were scared and lied to at 4am, until we resigned to staying in any hotel Sam from the "tourist information" could find us. We payed what we'd budgeted for a whole week, and it was beyond horrible. The bath would have made me dirtier if i'd tried to wash and I was glad to have a silk liner to sleep in.

We couldn't have left a minute sooner, and when we did we were intimidated and threatened by the staff as they tried to push us to give them even more money. At 6am on the road-side, I found this scary and we had to hail down a rickshaw and make a run for it.

Horrible, I dont know why this place hasn't been shut down

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_which
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_AshokaINT, General Manager at OYO 5795 Karol Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for stay at Hotel Ashoka International Our Management of Hotel Ashoka International has changed before 1 month Rooms and, Service Staff got improved. Please continue stay with Hotel Ashoka International

Thanks & Warm Regards
Team Hotel Ashoka International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

as other have said, people lie to you to get you to stay here then charge you more than a night in the finest hotel in india. It had one of the worst bathrooms ive had and it's in the middle of nowhere on a main road. The staff threatened to call the police on us when we refused to pay a further 1,000RS ontop of the 8,000RS we'd already spent on the room. We ended up having to run away.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Royfray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_AshokaINT, General Manager at OYO 5795 Karol Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for stay at Hotel Ashoka International Our Management of Hotel Ashoka International has changed before 1 month Rooms and, Service Staff got improved. Please continue stay with Hotel Ashoka International

Thanks & Warm Regards
Team Hotel Ashoka International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were booked to stay at this hotel for three nights but decided to leave after one night because it was so bad. We were originally supposed to stay at a different hotel in Delhi but were informed we could not get to our hotel because of road closures. We were taken to a "government tourism agency" (also known as India on Steps) where the guy working there dialed some other hotels and we were informed they were fully booked. It was only upon reading the other reviews for this hotel that we began to suspect we had been scammed. Rubbish/bottles cluttering the stairways, cold showers and the "restaurant" at the hotel looked filthy.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Dominique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_AshokaINT, General Manager at OYO 5795 Karol Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for stay at Hotel Ashoka International Our Management of Hotel Ashoka International has changed before 1 month Rooms and, Service Staff got improved. Please continue stay with Hotel Ashoka International

Thanks & Warm Regards
Team Hotel Ashoka International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Like the others saying this place is a scam we were in the exact same scenario with 'road blocks' in December this year.
Got a prepaid taxi, apparent road blocks because of riots, went to 'government' tourist office, book our entire trip through India on Steps. Not sure if the hotel is part of the scam or India on steps use them as a hotel. This was the last hotel we stayed at in Delhi and probably the worst. Flakey sheets, Very loud, doors slamming till 3am. There's a drain on the opposite side of the room to the shower?!?!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank viviensimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_AshokaINT, General Manager at OYO 5795 Karol Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for stay at Hotel Ashoka International Our Management of Hotel Ashoka International has changed before 1 month Rooms and, Service Staff got improved. Please continue stay with Hotel Ashoka International

Thanks & Warm Regards
Team Hotel Ashoka International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
The Ashok
The Ashok
#209 of 736 in New Delhi
611 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#21 of 736 in New Delhi
785 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 736 in New Delhi
2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 736 in New Delhi
2,882 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 736 in New Delhi
4,139 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 736 in New Delhi
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYO 5795 Karol Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYO 5795 Karol Bagh

Address: Plot No. 3382, Christian Colony, D. B. Gupta Road, Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110055, India (Formerly Hotel Ashoka International)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: £17 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OYO 5795 Karol Bagh 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your OYO 5795 Karol Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing