We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This won't be the last time I stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amarya Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amarya Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This won't be the last time I stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

By pure luck I became acquainted with Amarya Villa after befriending a foreign couple on a flight into Indira Gandhi International. Sight unseen they reserved a room in this property which only opened it's doors in October 2010. After my rapid walk-through of the front entrance and lobby, plus their delight with the facilities, I was impressed enough to reserve a room upon my future return to Delhi just 3 weeks later.

The French owners took what they describe as a city mansion, and transformed it into a home-away-from-home. Finding Amarya Villa can prove tricky if arriving after a late night touchdown into the airport. There is no sign nor placards pointing guests in the right direction. It takes good old fashioned street number reading to arrive at the nondescript building just inside the upscale Safdarjung Enclave. Any trepidations immediately vanish upon passing through the white picket fence gate. New arrivals are met with smiles and welcomes by any number of the friendly, well spoken staff.

Crushed rock lines a narrow stone pathway leading past the building on the left, and the continuing white picket fence on the right. Privacy comes easily from this high fence blocking views of the street and surrounding neighbors. At the end of the pathway is a small, efficient office where no request too big or small is handled with the simplest asking. Adjacently located through French doors is a beautifully decorated lobby dripping in traditional vibrant Indian colors. This large space conveys a warm feeling with large glass doors on either end, a luxurious glass chandelier in multi-colored hues, and simple, elegant furnishings which exude meticulous thought and caring into their existence.

Access to guest rooms comes via a winding staircase quietly positioned in the corner. Upstairs, the ambiance turns into a homogeneous stark white cocoon broken up with scattered doors here and there. Unlock any door to discover well appointed rooms so neat and clean they can honestly be called spotless. Color once again enters the environment by way of whimsical bedding, wall designs, paint choices and unique lighting fixtures. Tourists will enjoy the modern bathroom complete with dark marble, bulky porcelain sinks, chrome fixtures and the open glass showers.

Downstairs houses a spacious yet intimate dining area tastefully decorated in a way to let the food provide the visual stimulation. Breakfast is included in the room rate and may be enjoyed here or in the guest rooms. Simple lunch choices are available although a bit on the high end compared to local cafes. Dinner is chef's choice, prepared on-site in the sleek stainless steel outfitted kitchen adjacent the dining room. This area too, is so neat and clean that guests are welcome to pop their heads in for a peek. No Delhi belly here.

The vibrant city of New Delhi, in the northern reaches of India, offers so many wonderful hotel and guest house options that picking one is nearly impossible. Amarya Villa, with years of experience from two sister properties, perfectly executes the Indian guest house experience. A terrific staff, sumptuous rooms, relaxing common areas and understated privacy tucked away in a walking friendly area of this booming city make this new property the only choice from New Delhi tourists.

Cost: Rs 6000 for a deluxe room. Included taxes, breakfast and unlimited WiFi throughout the property.

© 2010 FullStopIndia.com India Travel Blog

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    65
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
86
34
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

After several stays at Amarya Haveli we were wondering whether the Villa would be up to the same very personal and comfortable standard- it didn't disappoint, probably it is a little more sophisticated in decor. Clean airy rooms with stylish personal touches, it feels more like a private home. The breakfsat was lovely, the staff are very helpful, the drivers they arrange don't get lost and you can relax and enjoy a Kingfisher on the Terrace at the end of a working day ... we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

I felt so at peace;so at home the moment I walked through the gates of Amarya Villa.Nema made me instantly feel welcome and I immediately knew I was in the right place.I will be eternally grateful to all the staff at Amarya Villa for the many kindnesses they showed to me while I was a guest there. They were so helpful in making my stay in Delhi enjoyable.No request was too much trouble and it was always done with such grace and warmth.The rooms at the Villa are so hip and tastefully decorated with the colours and decor which celebrate India.The beds were so comfortable;the bedding and towels smelled so good and for your added comfort they supply a mobile phone with their #and address in case you get lost and need to tell a tuk-tuk driver how to get to the Villa.The meals were delicious and available at any time of the day and as always served with a genuine smile.This is a wonderful place,filled with wonderful people.My stay at Amarya Villa was one of the highlights of my month in India.It has been said before Amarya Villa is the jewel in the crown. Paula Cline Vancouver Canada

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spirit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Ranchos, NM
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

In Delhi, accommodations are often just tolerable - or impersonal 5-star hotels. This is a top quality alternative with friendly, impeccable, 24-hour service. Yes, the rooms are gorgeous (with the only fluffy pillows in India!) but it's the service that makes it special. If you come in late, they'll prepare an impromptu meal. Need help with a tuk-tuk? No problem. I've already recommended it to a number of people!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

We were the very first guests of this newly opened Amarya location (they have two others). They couldn't have possibly been nicer if we were family! The room was nice and clean, with amazingly soft sheets and towels; spa quality. The kitchen staff was so pleasant and made wonderful meals to order. The staff was very helpful, friendly and always cheerful. The owners were kind/helpful and down to earth, even while they were working putting the finishing touches on this new location. Wonderful furnishings, colorful and tastefully decorated; it's a peaceful little spot in Delhi. We would certainly come back again and again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnAndSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

A beautiful Guesthouse with rooms blending indian influences with french style and modern design . Ideal for feeling at home and not like a tourist. Very nice cook who fulfills every wish also for the kids.Very nice blend of indian meals in combination with french style.
Beautiful breakfast: the kitchen does it as you like :indian or europian style.
We loved the Amarya villa and had a wonderful time starting our holiday in India with our kids.
The staff was always so nice , helping us with ideas where to go or just having a talk.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallolilliemmacocolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

My husband and I stayed here for over a week on two separate occasions during a trip to Asia in November. He was on business; I was vacationing, so I guess we had pretty demanding travel needs (he was going one way, I was going another).

Amarya Villa is a very chic boutique property, centrally located, great service, and a good price. It is usually hard to find all of these attributes in one place, but all of my expectations were exceeded at the Amarya Villa.

We stayed in many rooms during our trip- the most expensive (gold-has a really cool deck with lounge furniture) to one of the least expensive (orange- small but very cozy with a window seat). We also stayed in green and blue. I think that the green was our favorite, which has a cool seating area on a porch (and an adjoining room with a twin bed). The rooms were spacious and well decorated- I liked them all. I would be happy to stay in any of them again- even the least expensive. The villa overall is very chic with lots of unique touches everywhere-(they definitely need to have an onsite gift shop for the amazing cotton robes in the rooms along with all of the beautiful home accessories). The property is 2 combined large flats with a common courtyard. The architectural details of the buildings are nice, sweeping stairwells with iron railings, etc. The location is also very central to spots in Delhi (by car) and the airport.

The staff at this property is what makes this place so special. A trip to India can be very overwhelming for western travelers. They were helpful from the start, with the booking and the extra assistance in the way of airport transfers, drivers, and guides, tickets, etc- and millions of questions about this and that.

The manager, Athaliya, has remarkable attention to detail and personal service. From hunting around Delhi for goat cheese to finding me a female guide with particular knowledge of architecture and culture (Anchaal was excellent and entertaining). She is as helpful as any manager/concierge in any 5 star hotels in the world, don't hesitate to tell her what you need to make your trip memorable- loved her!

The food was always great. The chef will make whatever you felt like eating (he even purchased steak knowing that I like it and may want to order it– so nice). We never had to worry about food or drinking water here (they take extra precautions to ensure that western travelers do not get sick and use bottled water to rinse their dishes and their fruits and vegetables)- we ate fresh green salads and fruit without hesitation.

We had at least one of the drivers reserved for every day of our trip- this was a huge benefit and highly affordable). We alternated between two brothers, Jitender and Naris. They were both very good drivers and spoke enough English to get you anywhere that you needed to go. Jitender is so smiley that it is infectious. We took a very long drive to the Taj Majal with him and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. He also has a gift when it comes to car decorations (fringe, paintings, a silver tissue box, etc.), this made it extra entertaining.

The owner, Alex, was on the property several times checking in on guests and was very nice. He has a gift for combining that “je ne sais quoi” that makes an inn so special.

Staying here was a highlight of our trip. I felt like I had a home away from home here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Jenkins_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 705 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#37 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 705 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#24 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarya Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarya Villa

Property: Amarya Villa
Address: Amarya Villa A - 2/20, New Delhi 110017, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 899 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarya Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarya Villa opened its doors in October 2010 in New Delhi’s Safdarjung Enclave, eloquently transforming a city mansion into an idyllic home-away-from-home in the very heart of the bustling capital. The property comprises two 3-storey villas that are replete with large bay windows, a sunlit atrium and several private verandas. A cheerful mélange of contemporary chic and cosy comfort, the Villa follows in Amarya charm, tastefully blending Indian ethnic motifs with a funky modern touch.The guesthouse offers 9 spacious, sunny and stylish guestrooms that have been themed on the ‘Navratna’, India’s 9 auspicious gemstones; each stone resplendent in its unique lustre and astrological resonance, which when combined is believed to yield a profound mystical energy. The masterful chefs craft meals for each individual palate. Guests may enjoy candlelight dinners in the enchanting starlit terrace or indulge in aperitifs in the sumptuous chandeliered lounge. Meanwhile, the bustling city with its myriad sights awaits, just outside the tranquil walls.Our chefs offer home-cooked meals that are as delightful as our home itself and available any time of the day. Guests may order as they desire, from Pan-Asian to Continental fare. Our caring personal service is what sets the us apart, and our dedicated team is always on hand to service any request and ensure every guest feel right at home.Amarya Villa, is a jewel in the heart of the city, in a graceful setting of service, serenity and style.A charming blend of cozy, comfort and chic, along with caring personal service, at Amarya Villa we assure to all our guests a truly memorable experience, just welcoming them home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Amarya Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarya Villa Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing