We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delhi trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar
Ranked #106 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

location is very residential, green and central, easy to get taxi just front the residence, a lot of tuc tuc for a very economic price are easy to catch. Price of my residence was a very good price, good value with breakfast and wifi included and very good connection. The snacks were made ready at any time on the 4th top floor breakfast and resto room. My stay there was very pleasant.

Room Tip: all was great and staff very polite and helpful when necessary. Breakfast good with a variety of dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very nice, clean, comfortable stay. Friendly, accommodating staff 24 hours. Great breakfast in my opinion with lovely dining area. Up to date rooms and bath with very decent beds and linens. Location is excellent and centrally located for shopping and business. Proximity to upscale Khan mkt., SouthEx, Connnaught Place, etc. Quiet, foreigner friendly neighborhood near government/international area. Jeet's taxi service right outside has first class cars with English speaking drivers at good rates. Hope the good reviews and publicity doesn't drive up the reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonK1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The rooms were clean, large and comfortable. We enjoyed staying here because it was located near meeting locations and shopping. Breakfast was not the best. They could have more selection and real coffee. Good value for money.

Room Tip: 2nd floor are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T0pd0wn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

First stay at this Ahuja residence, but I felt comfortable. Rooms are nice and comfortable. The breakfasts are also very nice with options of all choice. Walking dictanc is the Nathus sweets, with veg and non veg thalis, sweets and famous Gol Gappe!

The service is quite good and i would reccomend to saty if you prefer a clam and quiet place to saty.

Room Tip: corner suits are larger (309)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rumana10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This delightful small property, one of several guest houses and serviced apartments owned by the charming Ahuja family, is a perfect base if you’re looking for a place to stay in central Delhi – either just for a night or two or, as in my case, for almost 3 weeks! With a little work to do in Delhi, after the first few days I had intended to move on and stay with friends nearby – but the combination of having my independence and staying somewhere that I felt was good value for money swayed me to stay on.

It is perfectly located (just a 5-minute tuk-tuk ride to Khan Market, with its many shops and restaurants; the rooms vary in size (and price) and are simple but very comfortable and clean (as are the bathrooms) - and I had no problems with wi-fi. You will receive the warmest welcome from each and every one of the staff. Avinash and Shweta at reception were ever-helpful; the doorman always on hand with his winning smile at whatever time of day or night; and all the room staff I encountered were friendly and very eager to please. A much nicer experience than staying in a mediocre, anonymous hotel. I much look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sldLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

There were 2 people at the front desk when we checked in - a cheerful, nice and friendly lady and a grumpy looking guy. Thanks to the cheerful lady, we requested a bigger room and we were given one (the room was actually not that big but reasonable...we wondered what a normal room looks like...) . We felt unwelcomed by the grumpy looking guy as it seems like he's doing us a great favour whenever we asked questions. We never saw him smile and we have no idea why he was in the front desk at all ! We're so glad to not see him the next day - there was another person stationed at the front desk and he's heaps helpful and nice. Breakfast was good and on request, they arranged an early breakfast for us as we were leaving at 6am to catch our flight home. This hotel could be a bit on the pricey side for what it provides but it's located in a reasonably nice neighbourhood. We also found a great place to eat just around the corner - it's a cake shop + eatery. The sweets were super yummy, request for a taste test before buying - they were very obliging.

Room Tip: request a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveladdict1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

unfortunately this is one of many hotels in India that try to rip off foreign travellers. In English, when you take money from somebody without being given permission, we call it stealing. That's what Ahuja residence does. When using a foreign credit card, they will charge it in your home currency (EUR, USD) not INR. They will do so at a very bad rate.

On top of that, the credit card receipt will say, falsely, that you have been offered a choice of currencies (not true) and that you refused to pay in INR (not true).

I challenged them and they were not willing/able to charge me in INR. They will say the payment terminal doesn't allow it which is not true. Whether this is incompetence or deceit i don't know but fact is I paid about 3% more than i should have due to this practice.

Only if all travellers who are ripped off like this protest will unscrupulous hotels and their banks change their tactics.

Other than that, the hotel was adequate- good location, rooms were fine. However, i find it inexcusable to rip off guests like this, hence the low score.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaideepahuja, Owner at Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Sir, I am extremely sorry about the unpleasant experience you had regarding the charge on your credit card at our hotel. Let me assure you that we do not make a single rupee extra by charging your credit card in your home currency. We use EDC machines provided by Axis Bank, one of India's largest and most reputed banks, and the exchange rate is decided by them and not by us. Also, we receive our payment from Axis Bank in Indian Rupees, and we receive exactly what we have charged you in INR less the bank's discount rate. We do not have any incentive or benefit to charge you anything extra. Axis Bank uses Dynamic Currency Conversion (DCC), which is a financial service provided on the Visa and MasterCard network and widely used by merchants across the world. However, we are working with the bank to disable this option, if the guest does not with to avail it.

I would also like to mention at this stage that we did give you the option to pay in cash or in any other form if you believed that the exchange rate being offered by the bank was unfavourable. Hence, the intention was never to cheat or over-charge you.

We have been in this business for over 30 years now and take our reputation very seriously. I hope this explanation would put to rest any doubts you might have had regarding our ethicality. For anything further, please feel free to contact me directly at jaideep@ahujaresidency.com.

Warm regards,
Jaideep Ahuja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
Shervani New Delhi
Shervani New Delhi
#189 of 779 in New Delhi
141 reviews
Nizamuddin
La Sagrita
La Sagrita
#64 of 779 in New Delhi
369 reviews
Ahuja Residency Golf Links
#94 of 779 in New Delhi
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Connaught Royale
#116 of 779 in New Delhi
51 reviews
Nizamuddin
Devna
Devna
#74 of 779 in New Delhi
301 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#78 of 779 in New Delhi
2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar

Address: 3, Sunder Nagar,, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £56 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahuja Residency, a renowned name in hospitality since 1982, is proud to announce the launch of its new boutique business hotel in Delhi's elite Sunder Nagar. An upscale choice for business and leisure travellers alike, this property is ideal for seasoned travellers seeking a spacious and cost-effective alternative to expensive five star hotels. This hotel blends the efficiency and luxury of a star rated property with the personalised service and attention of a small bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing