We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IYH New Delhi (International Youth Hostel)
Ranked #122 of 997 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed in a private room, and fortunately spent very little time here.

Positives (really searching for them):
- cheap (but not particularly good value)
- breakfast included (lowest possible breakfast, but at least saves searching)
- internet in dining room
- quiet location
- ok outdoor area to sit
- choice of private or dorm rooms

Negatives:
- location, while quiet, is not near anything - not convenient shops, not restaurants, not attractions. A big problem unless you are getting picked up by a tour bus or car
- curfew (which is normal for a hostel, but worth keeping in mind if considering it as hotel alternative)
- breakfast poor and other options not readily available. Would be terrible to be sick and wanting to have a day in, as would really be stuck for food options
- very hard bed
- toilet not working, we were given a bucket to flush it with eventually
- poor service - see the 'eventually' above
- room dirty, with bird droppings all down the wall behind the door of our bathroom

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed there just two night and we didn't like it. This hostel it's not cheap (1400 rupies for a double), the rooms are shabby and not that clean. There is not private bathroom and the restaurant is not good (the breakfast was disgusting).
The area is quite far from the centre of the city.
I just not recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laragazzaelaminiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I have been staying here ever since my childhood days, they have dorms, non a/c rooms with common bath and a/c rooms. Its quite clean and safe place to stay, the a/c double room costs about Rs.1400/- including breakfast.

The only problem here is, its located in Chanakya Puri and there is nothing outside, there is one small market walkable distance. As Chanakya Puri is High Security area with counsulates and govt offices.

You can make online booking : http://www.yhaindia.org/hostels/state/7

Pl note they have lots of regulation there, as its not like a regular hotel, NO -Smoking in the premises, No Drinking allowed, cannot take outside food to your rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

so far from metro but safety because this area have many embassy

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chitraporn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed there just one night! It was horrible to sleep within this hostel because there were mosquitos everywhere inside the room!! If we closed the window it was hot because there were not ceiling fun or air conditioner but if we left the windows open more mosquitos were coming inside! The mattress were extremely uncomfortable, dirty sheets and the toilet which we had to share with more people was very small and not clean at all.
The hostel is not easy to find as it is quite far from the city centre.
I think they should use all the plenty of room they had as it could be a very nice hostel to stay in if they would take care of it.
Very disappointed this one belongs to IYH.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

First of all we turned up early from a flight at 530am, we could not check in for 6 hours. They told us to wait in the canteen, no breakfast was served for another 2 hours. I saw three rats in the canteen. We asked for Wifi because we were working on a project at the time so it was critical for us- of course there was none despite the information on the booking. Their excuse was no wifi because it is a national holiday- what nonsense!!!! Then breakfast came, terrible slices of bread we have to toast ourselves with instant coffee boiled with toilet water.
Fast forward to check in, the room was smaller than expected, there were no clean sheets. I asked the guy to change my pillow sheet three times. The first was covered in vomit stains, the second looked like a used tampon and finally 30 minutes later he returned with a clean one and proudly presented it to me.
Immediately we wanted to check out but we had already to prepaid for an expensive 4 nights, so we were stuck.
The staff again were unhelpful when we approached them, no information on wifi or when it would be available or where we could get some. They always treated us like we were a nuisance- what kind of service is this? a freaking dead monkey could do better!
The next morning we are woken up at 830 AM for loud celebrations for national day which is a speaker phone playing music from Slumdog billionaire and some old fat guy making a speech about how great the hostel is, he definitely has/had delusions of grandeur.
4 terrible days later we left this dump and vowed never to return again! Luckily we managed only to spend time sleeping here for a few hours a night. Pahar Ganji where we stayed first was a five star luxury resort compared to this, at least they had friendly staff and wifi!
To conclude- worst hostel ever experienced as a traveler and I have been to over 30 countries. I certainly did not expect this kind of medieval quality from the 'International Youth Hostel of New Delhi' sleeping on a concrete floor in rural China was a better experience than this! I hope this hostel closes down and is replaced by a hospice, because it certainly seemed like one.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maxgluxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

IT is a good hotel more lika a hostel.
Especially you will meet lot of young chaps.
Food is clean & cheap. It is VEG.
Good for a place like delhi.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t_samdup_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#428 of 733 in New Delhi
154 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#22 of 733 in New Delhi
782 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 733 in New Delhi
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 733 in New Delhi
2,990 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 733 in New Delhi
2,880 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 733 in New Delhi
4,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IYH New Delhi (International Youth Hostel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IYH New Delhi (International Youth Hostel)

Address: 5 Nyaya Marg, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110021, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 997 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your IYH New Delhi (International Youth Hostel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing