We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally ok but room for improvement”
Review of Hotel Golden Wings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Golden Wings
Ranked #202 of 1,127 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel was adequate in most regards. Good location close to Railway Station and Connaught Place so easy o get to most places n the City.
The only reason we have marked low on some aspects is because we found that the rooms were not cleaned on a daily basis and things such as towels, toilet paper etc were only changed/provided if we requested.
We also found that throughout our stay we were unable to access the 'free WiFi.
With a little effort this hotel, which is basically ok, could be much more satisfactory

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank djmpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Located just in front of the New Delhi Railway Station (PaharGanj) around 200 meters away(aerial distance) from the main road. Have the hotel phone number handy with you so that they can send someone to guide you till the hotel. Even though they write Free pickup service, they said that we have to pay for the rickshaw fare !
Staff is very welcoming, rooms are clean and room service is prompt. There is no dining hall, you have to order your food to your room. The food quality is excellent, though not all items mentioned in the menu were available.
Overall it was a very good experience. Will recommend family.

Room Tip: Keep the phone number of the hotel to so that they can guide you to reach the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank SpiritChirag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Hotel Golden Wings is a small but quite new hotel at a very good location that offers quality rooms for a very fair price (we paid only 900Rs for a double room). It is located in the middle of one of the liveliest, busiest and craziest neighborhoods of Delhi, at walking distance from the New Delhi Railway Station and the Delhi Metro station. You will notice that the hotel feels like an oasis in a very hectic environment every time you enter it. The staff speak English very well and are very helpful and professional.

With this hotel you really get good value for money. Our first room on the 3rd floor at the front side was exactly what we needed: clean, nicely decorated, TV, AC, wifi, good shower, comfortable beds with clean mattresses, nice view (overlooking the roofs of adjacent buildings were kids were peacefully playing with kites) and, very important, it is located in a small quiet street where the sounds of the main bazaar don’t disturb your sleep. The breakfast is not included but against a small additional fee you can order a meal from your room. If you walk to the train station you will pass a very good restaurant at your right hand (after the corner in the small street).

Mind that my rating of this hotel is based on the room described above. The room on the ground floor is of less quality. They gave us that room when we returned from the Golden Triangle trip because the other rooms where occupied. The room was clean but it has no view and it is more noisy because it’s located just behind the counter so if you are in time with booking try to get one of the better rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor. They have a good reliable elevator so that will not be the problem.

From the airport you can reach the hotel by metro or taxi. If you are intending to take the metro it is a good idea to buy yourself a prepaid Indian SIM card first (only 300Rs including 200Rs balance) at the Airtel counter next to one of the exits. Then you will be able to give the hotel a call to make an appointment to pick you up from the New Delhi Metro station.

When you want to take a taxi to the hotel be very alert with the guys behind the taxi counter at the airport. They try to rip their costumers off. There is nothing wrong with the taxi fee they charge (about 350Rs) but when you pay with a 500 or 1000Rs note there is a good chance they will try to trick you by telling you that you paid with the wrong note. They will show you a 100Rs note to try to convince you. They have tried this trick with many clients before you if I may believe the stories on Internet so be aware. Just check Google. Maybe best is to show them the note before paying and mention what note it is. They probably will not try to trick you if they notice you are alert.

Back to the hotel. This hotel was recommended to me by other travelers and I can fully confirm that this is a good place to stay at a good location and not expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nico O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

It's a very good hotel in New Delhi. Rooms were nit and clean. Bathrooms were good. It will be better if there was hand shower in bathroom. Lift always works perfectly. AC was pretty good. Most of all, behavior of all staffs in this hotel was simply great. They know how to treat customers. WIFI was fully free. everything was fine. We stayed there 7 days & they were always beside us to help. Great holiday we have. It's a affordable good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I chosed Pahar Ganj area for its accessibility to everything - food, shopping and also transportation as it's reasonably close to the metro for me to do sightseeing and also the main train station for my routes to other parts of India.

This hotel is off the main bazaar road so finding it could be hard, I booked a taxi via the hotel for a whopping INR600 but the owner already stated that booking at the airport would only cost INR200+ but after a long flight and with luggage and my first time in India, the last thing I need is more hassle. You could do the cheaper way by taking a cab to Pahar Ganj and then call the hotel to send someone to meet you on the main street but be mindful that Pahar Ganj is not very accessible to cars during peak hours.

Back to the rooms, pretty basic and averagely clean. There's hot water and also toilet paper so major complaints. FREE wifi as well but you need to get the owner to add you manually into their network. It's more quiet than being on the main bazaar which is what I like about it. There's flat screen TV with lots of channel and a lift if you are on the higher floors.

I was quite satisfied with it that I booked extra days with them directly upon my return my Agra and Jaipur

Room Tip: Unless you are looking for bargain, the one room on ground floor is very cheap BUT very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielwongkaifai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

this hotel is a good place if you need to be close to the railway station. it is also good that it is located in a relatively quiet road with less hussle and bustle, so we found it a good starting point for our first trip to India.
cleanliness is ok and also the value (we paid 1.400 for a double) is quite good, if you think of the expensive pricing in Delhi's hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williwieberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Hotel Golden Wings is located on a quiet lane one street back from Main Bazaar Rd, and is on the New Delhi Railway Station end of Paharganj which makes it a perfect place to stay for those commuting to/from New Delhi Railway Station (less than 5 minute walk, including 3 minutes to cross the road to the station). They claim to be a new hotel, and the neat décor in the rooms seem to indicate that it is. We stayed in two different rooms on the first floor during our two separate stays, and both rooms were fairly small but clean. One of the best things about the rooms are the hot showers which are a must at the time of year we stayed in Delhi, while the array of TV channels (for those wanting to just nest in the room) was comparable to any others we’ve come across during our 5 months in India. Staff were friendly and professional. They let us leave our bags at the hotel while we spent a few days outside of Delhi and we had no worries about security. You can definitely get cheaper accommodation in Paharganj, but if you want a bit of comfort for around Rs 1,000 per room, then I’d highly recommend Hotel Golden Wings.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 721 in New Delhi
771 reviews
Hotel Vintage Inn
#57 of 1,127 in New Delhi
66 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 721 in New Delhi
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#38 of 721 in New Delhi
4,079 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 721 in New Delhi
1,733 reviews
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 721 in New Delhi
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Wings

Address: 135 - 136 Krishna Street | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 1,127 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: £8 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Golden Wings 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed right in the center of town as well as a 2 minutes stroll from the Railway Station, this newly built budget accommodation provides for a perfect reside in this bustling city of New Delhi. Ideal for corporate and leisure travelers are the well-appointed rooms boasting elegant decor and professional management leaving no room for grievances. Along with a tour desk in-house, where you can plan your itinerary, guests can take advantage of the 24 hours room service. Comfort and convenience are the hallmark of Hotel Golden Wings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Golden Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing