We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, Sophisticated and delicious”
Review of Spicy Duck

Spicy Duck
Ranked #338 of 12,989 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Chick, upscale and 5 star. Start the evening at Blue Bar (next door). They have a beautiful outdoor area, overlooking their 2nd floor garden/putting green which is the place to be weather permitting. The drinks card is obviously extensive. The food menu is definitely lacking, but move inside to Blue Ginger for a somewhat Indanised (yet very good) version of Vietnamese in a very upscale and polished setting.

The menu is extensive and there something for everyone. Our servers were very helpful in making recommendations. The quality was unquestionable and service impecable. Portion sizes was measured though. Blue Ginger is a great ocassion resturant, its impressive and expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RM2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Spicy Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and giving us your feedback with regard to your meal experience at our Blue Bar and Blue Ginger.

I am delighted to read your kind compliments with regard to the ambience, food and service. I have communicated your feedback to the Blue Ginger team.

A seamless blend of chic interiors, decadent ambience, effervescent music and a range of world class beverages – The Blue Bar gets you to indulge your senses, reclaim yourself and soak in the environment. Great drinks, groovy music, scrumptious food, elegant décor set in the finest ambience is what defines The Blue Bar which is 'THE' place to spend the entire evening and unwind yourself over uninterrupted conversations.

May I also take this opportunity to inform you that we also have a highly successful value meal option at Blue Ginger specifically designed for single diners which is the Bento Box option which also has Ciroc martini as an inclusion.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

A beautifully done restaurant with very nice service but food was quite adapted to indian palate.The dimly lit ,nice and romantic ambience sets the mood for fine dining.Starter was good.Prawns in tamarind sauce were probably cooked like in Indian Saunth.Noodles were good.Overall nice experience not foodwise but service and ambience wise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sundoll2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Spicy Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi

Thank you for sharing your feedback in the Trip Advisor. We have noted your comments with regard to the food at our Vietnamese restaurant – Blue Ginger. I would like to assure you that Blue Ginger serves authentic Vietnamese cuisine with all ingredients imported from Vietnam. No substitution of any ingredient is permitted in Blue Ginger. In fact the new that has been launched recently, has had an inclusion of more pungent and spicier Vietnamese food which North Indians would find more suited to their palate. However, this is authentic spicy South Vietnamese cuisine and not Indianised Vietnamese cuisine.

We thank you for your kind compliments for the service and ambience of the restaurant and
hope you will be back very soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great food and in a very modern restaurant, friendly staff and knowledgeable. Big portions so ask before ordering, good wine list and reasonably priced.

1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Spicy Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your kind feedback shared in the Trip Adviser.

We are grateful for your appreciation for the food, restaurant, staff and the wines and have conveyed the same to our team.

At Blue Ginger- the capital’s contemporary Vietnamese restaurant, guests can experience the brand new culinary journey of the unexplored land of Vietnam. Blue Ginger is a perfect place to enjoy the ultra- fresh flavors of Vietnamese cooking by International Vietnamese Chef- Chef Ho Thi Ngoc Thao and Chef Animesh Joseph Minj. Visually stunning in every way, Blue Ginger makes an ever lasting impression on the global palate.

Thank you for choosing to dine at Blue Ginger and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Food was good but nothing that will bring me back. Also the restaurant is a little dark and gloomy. I would go to the Blue Bar (just next to it) any time but not to this restaurant.

1  Thank Kirtiseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Spicy Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

We thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor with regard to your meal experience at the Blue Ginger.

We have noted your disappointment with regard to the food at The Blue Ginger. This feedback which although not necessarily pleasant for us is absolutely invaluable, as it ensures that we not only become aware but are being proactive in addressing our guests concerns.

We have communicated your feedback to our Executive Chef and our two Vietnamese Master Chefs and have ensured that corrective steps are being taken to ensure authenticity of the dishes being served at our restaurants.

We have also noted your feedback with regard to the ambience of the restaurant and thank you for the same.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at Blue Ginger and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

It was a brilliant restaurant which needs to change the authenticity of the dishes. Though most of the dishes were yummy, a lot of the tastes I thought was Indianized.

I was very disappointed with the traditional 'Pho'. I think they got it completely wrong. The Vietnamese taste was definitely missing.

Though, the service was impeccable. The hostess, Nanki Chawla, took really good care of our guests.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PKT207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tphgm_del, General Manager at Spicy Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

We thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor with regard to your meal experience at the Blue Ginger.

We have noted your disappointment with regard to the taste of the ‘Pho’. This feedback which although not necessarily pleasant for us is absolutely invaluable, as it ensures that we not only become aware but are being proactive in addressing our guests concerns.

We have communicated your feedback to our Executive Chef and our two Vietnamese Master Chefs and have ensured that corrective steps are being taken to ensure authenticity of the dishes being served at our restaurants.

We have also noted your kind compliments for our service and particularly for Nanki and your kind words have been communicated to her.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at Blue Ginger and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spicy Duck also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Spicy Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing