We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stands tall only due to no options in the near vicinity….” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel
Ranked #91 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Bangalore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stands tall only due to no options in the near vicinity….”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was my first ever stay at any Premier Inn properties. This was the only hotel located closer to my customer and hence my stay was booked.

The things that score well are spacious restaurant and decent good breakfast and smiles of few of the Stewards etc. Full marks for the spaciousness of the restaurant and the items served at breakfast.

Sadly, for a property that claims is part of ‘international’ chain, there are many not so good things. I am really concerned how big the list will be. But facts are facts. Extra small rooms, extra height beds, extra small TV with extra few channels, extra small bathroom-all are disappointing. The bed linen and bath linen have really lived their tenure and are not crisp at all. The window is at a very uncomfortable height and the view from my room was lousy to write the least. The spout in the bathroom gives hot water, but the shower gives lukewarm water. And the water from the shower head falls all over the place other than the body. The closet is very close to the Wash Basin and I felt uncomfortable using a wash basin that was abutting the closet.

And surprisingly, there is no newspaper delivered to your room. They gave me a Wifi Password, but the connection was crawling. The people who respond to number 9 were quite sleepy and unenthusiastic to say the least.

They have tied up with some Choice Laundry for their laundry and your laundry will not be returned crisp excepting that all the clothes are kept in plastic pouches.

TV channels are not only low in number but are of very low viewership. I got a feeling the channels must be paying Premier Inn for casting those channels. Not a respectable news channel in English like NDTV or Times is telecast and Premier Inn perhaps does not respect guests from non-Hindi spoken states. The Mini Bar is kept empty and I wonder why?

I found something very depressing at the entrance and reception. The Security Guard just by looking at my luggage [I carried two cartons] directs us to go to Inward Materials behind the hotel. The reception is very small and yet, till I go and ask no one comes to take the luggage. There is no rest room at the reception level and it is in their 2nd floor. After a long hour and half drive, imagine one needs to go to 2nd floor to use the wash room. Indeed, painful.

There was some drilling work going on and it was annoying even at night 0900 pm during my stay.

And some of their items listed in menu are much higher priced than their more premium counterparts. Why is this so? Only reason is there is no other decent hotel to stay in the near vicinity and there is no decent restaurant as well.

In summary, there are hardly any premier things the Premier Inn offers and there is nothing ‘international’ as well. Will I risk go there again? Highly, unlikely and pray another better property comes somewhere nearby soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLR43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIINDIA, General Manager at Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Premier Inn New Delhi! At the outset, we would like to thank you for making us the Hotel of choice during your recent visit to New Delhi. We are happy to note that you were impressed by our dining facility, menu and the smiling service team.

We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations in certain areas and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We have taken a note of your feedback concerning various facilities at the Hotel and assure you that we are working towards bringing improvement based on the same. It is feedback like this that helps us move forward in our endeavor of continuous improvement and for contributing towards this, we are truly thankful to you.

We hope you would visit us again and can assure you that your experience would be much more comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    65
    57
    23
    35
See reviews for
63
36
22
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

There are no words one can use to define how horrible this hotel is. The hotel can beat any other in terms of its pathetic service. Anyone interested in this hotel shall end up losing a hefty sum of money, and regretting at the end of the day, on your choice of this hotel. Incessantly high cost (Rs. 75/water bottle - which is illegal, Rs. 65/chapatti) rude staff,pathetic toilet design (flush button behind toilet seat, no shower curtain/door for the separate shower compartment) , noisy environment. The basic features that one looks for, in any hotel, are not present in this hotel at all.

Reception -

As soon as you enter the hotel, the hotel tries to disguise its faulty service by the lavish looks and high-fy infrastructure. The receptionist can cross all limits to make you infuriated, and shall only be satisfied after you shower all sorts of angry words at her. So after you're done with your first glimpse of what's gonna follow in the next 24 hrs, you move ahead.

The Environment -

You go up to your room, crossing all those fragments of costly decorations, which give you the effect as if you have entered a 7 star hotel, and try to establish a wonderful first impression, but do not worry, this is just a misconception that shall soon wear-off.

The Room -

You have a glance at the room, and instantly you remember all those rooms that you saw at 5 star hotels earlier. The hotel has tried to copy all features of successful hotels, but as one might say, even copying needs brains, something that's vitally missing in the management.
The room has a bluffing poster which says "good night guaranteed", but the double bed is a heavily springed mattress, which behaves more like a trampoline when 2 people sleep on it. And the extra bed is such, that you shall wake up in not more than 5 hrs, and with a heavy back pain. and cannot move around for the next day... Good Night indeed !!!

And the cost is so high, that perhaps even a five star hotel is cheaper. But it is the only in the area, and perhaps it maintains a monopoly. But perhaps this is now going too far....

By my 3 day experience in this hotel, I have come to the conclusion that the people who write a good review, are none other than the hotel staff. I hope this review could save the other tourists about to be trapped by this bait, which act like a currency-draining-pain-giving mechanism !

- Sushil Bansal

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 912Sushil_Bansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIINDIA, General Manager at Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

At the onset, we are disappointed that we did not meet up to your expectations during your recent stay with us. Like with all our guests, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to know our areas of improvement. I wish to assure you that contrary to the experience you have gained from your stay, the team continues to work hard to deliver high quality service and experience to all our guests. I and my team are also taking necessary steps to address and rectify the issues that you have pointed out.

Thank you for staying with us. Whilst you have indicated otherwise, we hope that you will grant us another opportunity in the future to deliver a better stay experience to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

For the first time i stayed here on 6 Aug for a night. Hotel has a good infrastructure but surrounding of hotel is not really good. Hotel rooms are good but corridors are quite noisy. Just after 30 min of checking in i have to shift my room due to corridor noise. Rooms size are reasonable with all basic furniture . Toilet sizes are good but requires more maintenance as drainage of shower area was not working at all.
There are no eateries around this hotel and that's why their in room dining rates are very expensive and basic thing like water bottle also they are selling it for RS 75/ and many more such exorbitant rates you will find in the menu list. Food taste is average in Breakfast as well as Dinner buffet but very good live music is performed in Restaurant.
They did not issued a receipt to me when i checked in and They took almost 30 min to trace my payment record . I was getting late to take a flight . Overall Just OK.

Room Tip: Surrounding are not really good but probably rooms facing Toyota showroom may be somewhat good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIINDIA, General Manager at Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Premier Inn New Delhi! Thank you posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor and for bringing to our attention the series of incidents you experienced during your recent stay with us. While we are delighted that you liked certain aspects of the hotel, at the same time, I am disappointed to know that we were not able to meet your expectations in certain areas.

I would like to assure you that the comfort of our guests is, without doubt, of paramount importance to us, which is why, we are working towards addressing the areas of improvement that you highlighted in your feedback.

I trust your experience has not marred your impression of the brand Premier Inn and hope that you will visit us again. Please contact me directly should you decide to return and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Gud comfortable stay.....within budgets

Room were compact and clean.

Service was upto the mark.

Front desk need to be little more softer while dealing.....rest all ok.

Food was OK, not great.....

Truly recommended hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KapilBhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIINDIA, General Manager at Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Premier Inn, New Delhi! It is indeed a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us during your recent visit and we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope you would visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The neighbourhood around the hotel doesn't really tempt you to go out during night time. Even the taxi drivers say it's bad area. Breakfast is good, but quite pricey. Rooms are ok, and hotel is quiet, so you can sleep well. Bed was comfortable and rooms clean. The bar/restaurant closes already at 11pm and I wasn't at least able to order for example evening beer after that. Hotel drivers are nice and the service especially for sightseeing is quite nicely priced. If you don't ask them to pick you up from the airport, be prepared to have exact address and phone number of the hotel, my driver at least had difficulties finding the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iippa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIINDIA, General Manager at Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Premier Inn, New Delhi! It is a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us during your recent visit. We hope you would visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

As a group of 189 students flying to Delhi from Mumbai we loved this hotel . We had an amazing nights sleep and the food was great ! We were scheduled to reside in the hotel for 2 nights and we sure were pleased by the service and cleanliness ! There was a variety of cuisine from pasta to curries and we enjoyed our meals. The hotel is located in a quiet corner of Shalimar Bagh ! The hotel staff and receptionists were kind and attended to all our needs even though we were a large group of noisy students ! The rooms are really clean and there was also a coffeemaker in one of the corners, the bed sheets were clean and didn't have nasty stains ! The hotel was affordable and quite satisfying ! Whether you are in Delhi for a business meeting or just for taking in the sights (and the food)... Premier Inn is perfect for you !

Happy travellin,
Regards... Shashank vaidish !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShankVaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIINDIA, General Manager at Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Premier Inn, New Delhi! We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us during your recent visit and enjoyed the services, facilities and amenities at the hotel. Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and therefore, your kind words of encouragement are very heartening indeed. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed for pleasure and i felt very comfortable and could not find a single thing bad about our whole experience at Hotel Quote except room tempture. The staff were very professional, and restaurant staff were outstanding and I would recommend mr.sanjeev and mr.naveen for their extra efforts ..They were incredibly pleasant, it made things very easy for me. All the positive comments made in previous reviews are accurate. The bed was very comfortable, wifi was ok, full amenities in the bathroom were ok but toothbrush set has not been provided and even bathroom sleeper too.). I requested for the good room tempture since I knew I would get exhausted when it is not maintained..but not happy with it .. The rest things are good.. thanks and regards sheetal

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheetal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIINDIA, General Manager at Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Premier Inn New Delhi! Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay during your recent visit. Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and therefore, your kind words of appreciation are very encouraging for all of us here and have been accepted with a lot of gratitude.

We have also made a note of your comments about certain amenities and have taken the necessary steps to incorporate your feedback. We hope you would visit us again soon and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel City Park
Hotel City Park
#152 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza New Delhi Rohini
Crowne Plaza New Delhi Rohini
#23 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Mirage
Hotel Royal Mirage
#308 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tivoli Grand Resort Hotel
Tivoli Grand Resort Hotel
#248 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sewa Grand
Hotel Sewa Grand
#183 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel New Delhi Paschim Vihar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel

Property: Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel
Address: Shalimar Bagh, District Center, ORR | Near Haiderpur Red Light, New Delhi 110088, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Delhi Shalimar Bagh hotel is an ideal choice for business travelers in the north of the city. The hotel is equipped with top-of-the-range business facilities and spacious meeting rooms, suitable for hosting conferences of all sizes. At Premier Inn, we are committed to making your stay a comfortable one, as well as ensuring you have everything you need to conduct business effectively during your stay in Delhi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Premier Inn New Delhi Shalimar Bagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing