We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Vikalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Vikalp
Ranked #445 of 1,049 New Delhi B&B and Inns
West hills, ca
1 review
“Fabulous boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Amit & team are welcoming and friendly. Went above and beyond to ensure our every comfort and that we enjoyed our entire Delhi experience. Rooms are tastefully appointed with every convenience. Lovely bathroom--lots of hot water. Terrific experience! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetjt124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    34
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
26
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Pros - good wifi in the rooms and lobby, close to M block market.

Cons - management is severely lacking. Staff have no sense of customer service. Food was constantly running out during breakfast and they felt no urgency to replace it. Room was not clean - had not been dusted, sheets were kind of gross. Our tour with G Adventures required us to stay at this hotel on two separate occasions. Given that we paid for a Comfort tour with G Adventures, we were not happy with this very basic hotel. On the first visit, our room was impossibly small. On the second visit it was a decent size. So depends on whether you luck out, I guess.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a tour. The hotel is very basic. It has no amenities other than a restaurant for breakfast. It's not a hotel where you can relax. It's a hotel for you to sleep after sightseeing. It's closed to M block market, but it's not closed to any metro stations at the time this review was written.

If you decide to stay here, don't choose any room on the ground floor. It's noisy. The noise comes from the reception and service areas.

Will I come back... May be.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnocolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel, while it looks great from its website, is in great need of better management. I would not stay here again.

BAD
- the rooms were not very clean
- many things in the room was broken, knobs, bulbs, doors
- we could not sleep at night as our room was on the ground floor, and the front desk attendant was playing his music so loud at night it woke us up.
- very noisy outside hotel at night as well
- the breakfast was cold and dried out.

GOOD
- the front desk daytime staff were friendly
- the hotel is in a good location

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_guru2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I am a frequent visitor to Delhi and have stayed in a few hotels in Greater Kailash 1 including the Grand Vikap. Having had the experience of staying at other hotels in the area, I would say Grand Vikap deserves two thumbs up for a number of reasons. In my opinion, it should have four and a half stars rather than the three and a half as indicated.

Greater Kailash 1 is a residential area, home to many local people, and Grand Vikap is well known to local residents. The hotel is situated near the metro station Kailah Colony (about ten minutes walk). From here, it takes just twenty minutes to get to central Delhi (CP). But because the hotel is located in a residential area, one can truly get a feel for the local culture. For shopping, the M block market is just a five-minute walk away. This is almost a mini CP in itself: everything you want at reasonable prices. And if you are a movie-goer, then Nehru place is just one metro stop from Kailash Colony (or a few minutes on foot). Despite all this activity, the hotel itself is away from the main traffic and quiet enough to enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep.

The staff at Grand Vikap are all very pleasant. Starting with the security guard at the entrance, who not only welcomes you with a huge smile but is always ready to get you an auto. He will make sure that you reach your destination with ease: he will negotiate the fare with the driver and make sure that the driver takes you to the correct place. The hotel reception is the best place to chit chat and to have a good laugh with staff. Ajit, Sandeep, Amit, Himanshu, Sweta and others are all friendly and good humoured, giving you the impression that you are not just a guest there, but a family member! Having stayed in several international hotels around the world, Grand Vikap is the only hotel that has ever made me feel like I am at home! The staff are also very knowledgeable. If you are interested in trying new places to enjoy Indian food, Sweta has a long list of recommendations. Sweta is a particular gem and certainly reflects the image of the Grand Vikap. If Sweta knows about food, Ajit helps you with a healthy diet. The well-groomed, well-toned manager is more than happy to give you tips on healthy living. Amit, the operations manager, entertains you with his light-hearted jokes. He is very understanding, quick to deal with any issues raised by guests, and does his best to make your stay a pleasant one. Similarly, Himanshu, the front office manager, goes out of his way to deal with matters swiftly. He attends to all enquiries immediately and ensures guests are comfortable. All staff are very helpful and whenever there is a request or technician problem, they all make a huge effort to carry out their duties as quickly and efficiently as possible.

The hotel restaurant deserves similar high recommendation. There is always something new for breakfast and unlike other hotels, the breakfast is individually served. The staff get to know your likes and dislikes and are keen to serve your breakfast the way you would like it! On one occasion, I overslept and I got a call asking me if I still wished to have breakfast. I was very pleased to find that they had waited for me before clearing away. Although I did not get the opportunity to have other meals there, I am sure that, like the breakfast, the other meals were just as splendid.

The suite is one of the best rooms at Grand Vikap. It is spacious, well-maintained and has a Jacuzzi, which is very rare for a hotel in Delhi. The suite is reasonably priced considering the fact that the price includes a Jacuzzi, breakfast and wifi. The room is divided by a glass screen. One half is a sitting room and the other contains a double bed. The room would be ideal for couple or a family or for anyone who wanted to have a separate space for meetings. The bathroom consists of a walk-in shower and Jacuzzi. As it is the only suite in the hotel, advance booking is highly recommended, especially during peak seasons. The suite is worth taking if you wish to treat yourself!

I have been lucky enough to stay at Grand Vikap on two separate occasions and each time I have had a memorable experience. I would certainly highly recommend others to consider Grand Vikap as their first choice of hotel in Delhi, and I would, once again, like to thank everyone at Grand Vikap for making my stay so enjoyable and my visit to Delhi so worthwhile.

Room Tip: Get the suite or the room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank write2spidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Nasty damp mouldy hotel, much better hotels available for the same money in locations know by the drivers.
Dodgy market round the corner worth a visit just to watch the traffic chaos. Western union provides good rates there.
Room too small to open the average size suit case unless on the dreadful bed.
Avoid

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidP6207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a good stay overall when we were here for four nights recently. The first night we had a room on the ground floor, which was very noisy, but after that we were moved to the third floor which was much better. The room was very nice and the location was good. The food in the restaurant was also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h_rossbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Emblem Hotel New Friends Colony
#211 of 705 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Greater Kailash I
Hotel Meridian Plaza
Hotel Meridian Plaza
#148 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Dee Marks
Hotel Dee Marks
#419 of 705 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Roseate New Delhi
#110 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
The Umrao
#36 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Tavisha Hotel
#186 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Vikalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Vikalp

Property: The Grand Vikalp
Address: C-48A, Greater Kailash | Part One, New Delhi 110048, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #445 of 1,049 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Vikalp 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxury at the budgeted price". That is what this hotel is based on. We have all the facilities that a luxury hotel would have at the price that you haven't even ever thought of. 24x7 staff committed to work for you always. Come and see the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Vikalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing