We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gives nice view from top.....”

Malai Mandir, New Delhi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.40*
and up
8-Hour Private Custom Tour of Delhi
Ranked #63 of 417 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Gives nice view from top.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

very well build south Indian temple as well as very clean.........and it also gives a nice view from the top of it .........

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank freebirdflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    49
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A special place for Lord Murugan devotees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Visiting this place of worship was a special request I made to our travel agents. We are staunch Lord Murugan devotees, thus, we truly loved the visit there. The temple is situated in a moderately big area by a main road and the temple is on a much higher ground which allows you to see the sky view of this part of city. We spent a good one hour plus there, and loved the ability of meeting fellow Tamil speaking natives of New Delhi. Definitely a must visit for Tamils.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShaluShalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean South Indian Temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The temple is cleaner than the temples you normally find in South India. However very calm and spiritualistic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJG-Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
540 reviews
275 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Hill top Temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is one of the finest South Indian temple located in South Delhi on the Airport to Nehruplace road near the Vasant Vihar area. Located on the sides of the main road , the temple is over the hill top . One of the oldest temple in South Delhi , it is very popular among South Indians and people gather normally on Tuesdays and Fridays for Archana , Poojas etc . Very peaceful atmosphere and the mild wind blowing over the hill top smoothens ones feelings. Nice place. Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Unni2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spiritual evening @ Malai Mandir, New Delhi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

It was the occasion of Maha Shivaratri on 27.02.2014. I took this as an opportunity to visit Malai Mandir with my friend Rajiv We went to the temple by bike. This temple is visited by me as early as in the year 1999 / 2000. The main temple of Uththira Swami malai is located at the top of the hillock, it is the replica of one of the six dhams of Lord Muruga / Kartik bhagwan, viz., Swami malai. All the six dhams of Lord Muruga is located in Tamil Nadu. Myself and my friend got the Archana tickets, in which we got coconut, beetle leaf and bananas. The first deity we visited was Lord Ganesh and later the Shiv ling, Nav graha moorthis and later the main deity at the mount Lord Kartik. After worship we get delicious prasad, we loved so much. We had got the Kesar semolina (Kesari) and Tamarind rice (puli saadam). All together it was a great experience. Visit this place and you love to visit often.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karthigaikhumara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malai Mandir, New Delhi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Malai Mandir, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing