We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely modern oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #39 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely modern oasis”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

After backpacking throughout other areas of India I wanted to treat myself a bit when I arrived to New Delhi, so I picked the Lalit. I stayed here for seven nights. It was a beautiful hotel, modern rooms and amenities, and a lovely staff. Everyone was very friendly towards me. Many people took their time to help me make train or bus reservations, book tours, find restaurants, and more. I forgot the particular man's name at the front desk, but it was a absolute STAR for all that he did for me.

The breakfast buffet was also delicious. They had specialities from north and south India as well as the typical continental things you would expect from a four star hotel. I had a fresh made paratha with my own mix of fillings made right in front of me with delicious fresh fruits, uppma, and more.

I slept so well here. The bed was very large and extremely comfortable.

I would absolutely stay here again in the future. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.
Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,235
    513
    145
    120
See reviews for
714
760
257
1,550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great location, whether you are on business or personal holiday. The best part of Delhi to stay in. I had a great room on 21st floor - a beautiful view of the city and area around. The service was reasonable, front desk was extremely helpful and efficient. Room service can get better to ensure that Kulfi stays Kulfi and not molten milk when delivered. The indian restaurant Baluchi has some outstanding food which we enjoyed. The room is large but I would suggest better planning to cater to Business travellers. I was disappointed with the bathroom - very basic and few leaking taps.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms cut out the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garimav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.
We have noted your feedback with regards to Room service and leakage issue in the bathroom that did not measure up to your expectations. Please be assured that each of these points have been addressed with the concerned team members.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.
Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide, south australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a wonderful time at The lalt recently and my wife and all of her family (8) will be going there again in Jan 2013. It is a very confortable hotel with all the "oasis" features you look for in the hot climate that is India and the food has to be seen to be believed!

Our oversized and very confortable room overlooked the town, the huge Delhi railway station and the boy's school and provided a view to the horizon of some parts of Delhi - the lifts were first class and lots of them - great when checking out from any large hotel. The lobby is a great space for casusl enterning casual guests and the shops provided great oportuity to take a piece of India home.

Room Tip: get a deluxe room it is worth it every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com for any assistance so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms - 4 nights at the Lalit with booking.com but found out at the hotel that only 3 nights had been booked so had to sort this out.
The receptionist offered us a room with a pool view , only to find out that we could just barely it it and had a full view over the roof full of pigeons - not very impressed...
The facilities are good but the service is not up to the mark for a 5 stars hotel.
I tried to get the price list for the massage parlour and it took me almost 2 hours to get it after numerous calls and complaints to the receptionist and manager on duty.
If a staff tells you something, make sure they put it in writing because most of the time it is not done and they will deny having been told.
The restaurant (breakfast) is good and there is an okay choice. The only key down is again the service. Had to run after the waiters for coffee and our plates were never cleared as they would have been in any 5 stars.
Nobody asks you for your room number so basically anyone can go in an have a free breakfast which made the restaurant quite crowded at times and very difficult to get a table.
The bar is fine and the drinks were not too expensive.
The Indian restaurant is fab and the food is great.
The shops inside the hotel are great and the prices are quite reasonable (if you know how to bargain) a lot cheaper than in all the touristy places your driver and guides will take you to!

Beds are wry comfortable but our room was quite dusty in some places.

Location is good as located within walking distance from the shops or for 10 rupees the tuktuk will take you there.
20 minutes away from the airport which is very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

We have noted your feedback with regards to Front desk, Food& Beverage and Housekeeping services that did not measure up to your expectations. Please be assured that each of these points have been addressed with the concerned team members.

We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you and would request you to please treat the above incidents in isolation as it is certainly not the manner in which we treat our esteemed guests.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Well located business hotel. However, the room design needs greater planning and thought. There is no phone line on a wide and long table and one has to cross the large bed to reach the phone at the corner of the room. For a business hotel, this is not acceptable.

Otherwise, excellent property and well maintained. Food and beverages staff is good. Excellent coffee shop - particularly the Kashmiri buffet.

Overall, can improve in the value for money proposition.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadwarriorS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you with regards to the room design and the same has been shared with the management.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Lalit in New Delhi is well located and like most of the 5 star hotels in Delhi provides an attentive and friendly service. The room i stayed in, which was a double on the 25th floor was large, clean but felt a little 'damp' when I first walked in. Not enough towels but the bathroom was large and clean. Cable TV was a bit limiting. The main all day restaurant was pleasant enough, but the breakfast offerings are nowhere near as good as say the Westin in Gurguan. I eat in the Indian restaurant on the third floor which was lovely and had a drink in the bar on the ground floor whish was also fine. I didnt use the 'health club' facilities nor the night club which is apparantly popular with the New Delhi youth.
In short the hotel was fine but not great, but if location to Connaught Place is an important factor, then its very close. Btw I dont know why CP is percieved to be so important. Other than its proximity to Govt buildings it a bit of a dump.

Room Tip: Stayed in 2534.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gummo0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

We have noted your feedback with regards to the Housekeeping services, choice of TV channels and Food& Beverage services that did not measure up to your expectations. Please be assured that each of these points have been addressed with the concerned team members.

We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you and would request you to please treat the above incidents in isolation as it is certainly not the manner in which we treat our esteemed guests.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We thought this was a very good place to stay in New Delhi,

Firstly the location is very good, just a short walk from Connaught Place, and close enough to all the sites. the hotel room itself was very clean and quite big, we were on the 20th floor so had great views over the city. The room was of a good quality for the star rating. The hotel has a swimming pool which was nice, and there is also a gym which we didnt use.

Perhaps the best thing about the hotel is the food. We used two of their restaurants, the 24/7 restaurant, which as the name suggests is open all the time, this does a range of international cuisine and the food was good quality. We also ate at Baluchi, the indian restaurant, the food here was fantastic, and there is even an Indian bread bar where you can watch them making indian bread fresh in the clay oven.

A word of advice about Delhi, as soon as you walk out of the hotel you will be approached by touts, and rickshaw drivers who are trying to rip you off. They will at first befriend you, then tell you everywhere you want to go is closed, of course they will then offer to take you to a shop they now which is very reasonable, they will also try to get you to go to their office, which they claim is the official tourist office of India Tourism, where they will try to rip you off, we didn't fall for it.

There is only one official tourist office in New Delhi, it is in the road called Janpath at number 88. It is only a short walk from the hotel. Come out of the lobby into the car drop area and turn right, walk out of the gates at the hotel here and turn right, then walk straight, crossing two main roads until you get to Janpath, there is a McDonalds on the corner, turn right here and walk up the street, on the right hand side is the official tourist office, it is on the main road so don't believe anyone who says you need to go down a side road. Outside the tourist office is a prepaid Auto-Rickshaw stand where you can get good value rickshaws that will take you straight where you want to go without trying to rip you off.

Hope this helps, but the hotel Lalit is really good so stay there! The hotel also does a really good breakfast buffet, which we had included in our price, it was well worth going to, with a lot of different options.

Room Tip: Ask for as high a floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,772 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
2,948 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,832 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing