We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge disappointment to a once loyal customer... NOT recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #46 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment to a once loyal customer... NOT recommended”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

In December 2012, I stayed at the Lalit on 3 separate occasions during a month long tour of India, using Delhi as my hub. I chose the Lalit based on a previous visit to the hotel in 2009.

During my most recent trip, it is my impression that the standards of guest relations and basic cleanliness have dramatically fallen. No longer do I consider this hotel to be one of the best in Delhi, but far from it and I will never choose this hotel again.

There are a few positive aspects to staying at the Lalit:

Great location, within walking distance to Connaught Place

Good buffet breakfast, including eggs cooked to order and a balanced mix of Indian/western foods

An outdoor heated pool and good steam room/sauna

Now for the negatives.

I pre-paid for an executive level room with twin beds and NOT ONCE was this honoured without receiving an argument from front desk staff.

Upon check in, the reception staff was consistently dismissive, distracted, and rude. They appear to HATE their jobs and were seemingly 'at the ready' to deal with angry, disgruntled guests (and by my estimation there were many).

During our first visit, having just stepped off of a 10 hour flight, the Front Desk Manager was rude to me when I demanded an upgraded room with twin beds, for which we had pre-paid. She informed me that these were simply ‘requests’ and were not confirmed in the Lalit’s system, which later turned out to be untrue. When I asked her to contact our local travel agent in Delhi, she said ‘Would you rather have me find you a room or get in a fight with your agent on the phone?’ I didn’t return to the Lalit looking for a fight and yet during our second and third check in experiences, an upgraded room twin room had not been assigned, causing further confusion and a long wait. Abysmal.

After all this hassle, the Executive level upgrade is quite bluntly NOT worth the money. Although staffed by a keen army of servers, the club level lounge is cold and dreary, sparsely furnished with very limited food and drink options and short serving periods. The staff in the lounge was however fantastically accommodating, eager to make up for the bleak provisions supplied to them by the hotel itself.

Our various rooms at the Lalit were seriously worn and falling apart and in need of a good deep cleaning... the attached photos of room 2325 prove it. The furnishings are chipped and stained, the showers are mouldy, the windows and curtains are filthy, and the aircon intake vents are dusty beyond belief. The rooms make a decent first impression, but soon we realized they are in desperate need of repair and renovation. After our second bad experience, we dreaded returning for a third time at the Lalit, but we felt as worn down and tired as the rooms, so decided to just deal with it for one last night.

On our final evening in India, the Front Desk Manager felt compelled to call and apologize for the way she handled our interaction weeks before, and sent a complimentary bottle of wine to our room.

Take my advice and stay somewhere else.

Unless the Lalit makes some dramatic changes towards improving guest relations, front of house attitude and basic housekeeping, this once 5* property is a huge disappointment. AVOID staying here as there are much better luxury hotels in Delhi for the same price. Trust me.

Room Tip: Don't bother with an upgrade; the executive level rooms are not worth the additional money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar!!

At the outset let me thank you for your feedback wherein you have outlined the dissatisfying experience you had at The Lalit New Delhi during your stay with regards to the hotel services.

Pease accept our most sincere and profound apologies for the annoying and dissatisfying experience caused to you.

This incident is unfortunate and regrettable and we understand the anguish and dissatisfaction experienced by you. The entire team of The Lalit New Delhi joins me in extending their sincere and profound apologies. I have taken up your feedback seriously with the concerned Head of Departments for immediate corrective action. Request you to endow with your contact details for further information.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance we look forward to working towards regaining your faith and confidence in our brand.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

I hope to welcome you back to The LaLit New Delhi in near future.
Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,582
    1,188
    496
    140
    118
See reviews for
665
719
244
1,405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed at The Lalit with my young family during 2 spells from 02/01/13 for 2 nights and then again from 09/01/13 for another 3 nights.

The level of service and room quality experienced on both occasions was excellent. Rooms were modern and had a large TV, cable, DVD player (very useful for playing movies for the kids to keep them occupied), kettle and refreshments, mini bar, iron and board, daily complimentary mineral water bottles, climate control, complimentary bathroom items - like soaps, shampoos, toothbrushes etc, king size bed which accommodated 2 adults and 2 kids (3 & 6) bath robes and slippers which we felt added that extra bit of luxury to the stay :)

Hotel facilities were great, heated swimming pool, well equipped gym, spa and great buffet breakfast. If there was one negative then it would be the lack of free WIFI, which in a 5* hotel I would have expected for free in comparison to other hotels I've stayed at.

All of the hotel staff, porters, reception, concierge, security and back room staff really knew how to treat their guests and were very accommodating. As it was the month of my wedding anniversary, the hotel arranged for a bouquet of flowers and cake for us, which was well received by my wife and kids.

Location is ideal, walking distance from the metro rail station, Connaught Circus (plenty of shops and restaurants to keep you busy) and the well regarded Bengali Market - which is famous for its Nathus/Bengali Sweets restaurant and bakery - very useful for topping up on snacks etc to bring back to the hotel.

The bell desk placed the bulk of our luggage in storage whilst we went away for a few days sightseeing outside of Delhi, which we found invaluable.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much larger, however, avoid rooms facing the railway line as you can hear the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayItLikeItIsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
171 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

A nice hotel with a good location in New Delhi. We stayed for one night here and managed to get some sightseeing done because of the location. Rooms were nice and big and the staff was helpful. Got especially good service with our bags and at the concierge.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webjorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
463 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We used the Lalit as home base for two weeks of travel in India. The kept our luggage as we took overnight trips to other locales. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All of our rooms were very comfortable. We enjoyed using room service on a couple of occasions and they were very prompt and friendly. We did experience one issue with water coming up from the shower drain. We called and they immediately sent someone who took care of the problem. Housekeeping was right behind them to clean up. In the meantime they were prepared to move us to another room. That turned out not to be necessary. We would definitely recommend the Lalit. The location is also very central to shopping.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Travel-4funNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is nice and modern. rooms are clean and spacious.
location is good. relatively short distance from eveything.
it certainly soften the blow of the "Indian shock" as it is a nice escape when you had enough with the chaos.
breakfast was very good. dinner as well.
internet was expensive.
I faced the train station, and you can hear trains horn for part of the night, and very early in the morning. if you really need your sleep, this will be a major disadvantage of this hotel and the oveall rating will be 2. maybe not the fault of the hotel (I'm not sure if soundproofing will solve this completely), it's just the location. at the end of my trip I stayed in the Hilton Garden in Saket, and you could hear yourself blink.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

We have also noted your feedback with regards to the Sound proofing and the same has been shared with the management. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This Hotel is lovely and the staff so very helpful.

We stayed her for 6 days over Christmas, Our room was beautiful could not fault it one bit huge bed and bathroom. The hotel its self was extremely impressive clean and modern. The concierge was brilliant and very helpful when we decided to book a last minute trip to the Taj Mahal. There was a little confusion with the trip and everything didn’t go quite to plan, this was mainly due to the weather however the concierge manager sorted this for us quickly and effectively and we couldn’t have asked for more really.

My partner and i went to the nightclub that was in the hotel one of the evening which was good, a real American style club vibe going on down there!! (wasn’t brave enough to go to the bar for a drink as we weren’t sure of the prices which can be a little scary at the Lalit)

The only cons were that we found the restaurants in the hotel were very expensive and overpriced and that you have to pay for Wi-Fi in your room was a bit of an inconvenience as all the hotels I’ve been to over the last year Wi-Fi has been included even if for only an hour a day, I think this is something the hotel should really look at offering as that would be a major plus for them.

Location was good right round the corner from the hustle and bustle of Connaught place an New Delhi.

Oh and the breakfsat buffet in the morning was amazing...

Overall was a fabulous hotel and we really enjoyed our stay at the Lalit and would most definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCC1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

We have also noted your feedback with regards to the pricing and the same has been shared with the management.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. Big, well laid out rooms with great beds make sleeping easy, and multi-pin sockets mean you don't need an adapter for your laptop. Breakfast buffet is really good, and when I had a problem booking a domestic flight, the hotel stepped up and sorted everything out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#19 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#54 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#31 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing