We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars? I think not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #34 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The first issue was that the pool was being redone. There was no communication of this and no apology. This was a big factor in the selection. The food didnt live up to scratch. The concierge was consistently trying to rip us off with overpriced options on everything. Noise was a big issue. There's a cheesy nightclub in the hotel and we kept getting drunken people outside our door. I'm no prude, but 6am louts are not cool.
Although the rooms are OK, I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyrusvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the dissatisfactory experience at The Lalit New Delhi. The concerned Head of Departments have been counselled to take immediate corrective action, and I hope you will offer us another opportunity to be of service.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you plan to come to Delhi, India and we will ensure you have a fanastic stay
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,773 - 2,779 of 4,139 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Outstanding staff, location and rooms. I had a short wait to check in as I was behind a very large party and received an outstanding upgrade to a spacious suite. The hotel is expensive, as is the Restaurant but you really get what you paid for. They actually had imported Australian Beef on the Menu, I didn't think this was even legal in Delhi, this was the only time I saw beef on any menu in India.

My only complaint is having to pay so much for the wifi. My connection didn't work well, but in the defense of the Lalit they did send someone up immediately to fix it but I later had additional problems.

The hotel is a very short walk to Connaught Place and you can make it to the Government Shops rather quickly by Taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your recent stay at The Lalit New Delhi ! I am happy to inform you that we have recently added free wifi in our Club Rooms and above category as an inclusion.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

What a sad start to our 2014. We went for a Chinese lunch to Wok only to find it empty and the food non flattering. Our sweet corn chicken soup was average. After a special request for a better main course we found the fish too oily, chicken just okay and the chilly garlic noodles very stale!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank guptaratika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
At the outset please accept my most sincere apologies for the dissatisfactory experience at the Woks. We have done a detailed investigation with the Executive Chef for the lapse, as this is certainly not the manner in which we would have liked you to start the New Year.
My apologies again and I would like to invite you to have a meal at The Lalit New Delhi and am certain you will find a marked improvement.

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We ended there after a little search in Booking.com and finding a reasonable last minute price for 4 nights (around £90 per night) in a 5 stars hotel including breakfast. The hotel is located in a good place, at walking distance from India Gate for example if you don't mind getting the auto rishkas drivers asking you all the time why are you walking and where are you going :-). All the staff we encountered were really friendly, well manner and helpful all the time. Check in went smoothly and we got our room promptly. We got the room 2211 which is huge, with very modern but functional decoration, nice for young couple as we are but I wonder what my parents would think looking at the kamasutra-style picture that was placed on the wall and some kind of little aquarium containing kinky sentences... The bathroom was big and with a glass wall that allowed you to take a bath while watching TV. Impressive... The breakfasts were great with a huge variety of options ranging from Indian to asiatic, american-style and so on and the possibility of getting decent coffee.

The bad sides of this hotel were 3. First, internet is not free and we had to pay around £10 per 24h access: unbelievable in a 5 stars place. Second, the restaurant the Grill, even though offering fantastic views to the city at the 28th floor and excellent staff, is really overpriced and we got too salty food in my opinion. Third, the hotel had hidden costs when having food there. For example, the dinner buffet was announced as a £20 per person with a nice bottle of wine around £24. The final bill for 2 people including all the hidden taxes and service charge was £90 in the end. No need to omit this information in my opinion...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViatjantPelMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. The decor of 2211 is inspired by Kitty Su, our Nightclub, all other rooms have very different interiors which I am sure your parents would appreciate. We are also happy to advise you that now Free wifi is available on booking a Club Room and above category.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com on your next visit and we will ensure that you have another great experience
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I have been coming here since 90s. I love everything about Lalit. People there take care of my every single thing. I always happen to spend my new year at the Lalit and enjoy the moment the most. I just love their lounge the staffs are wonderful they make me feel special.
Rockey always gives me warm welcome so does Kanya they are like my family members and I like coming here because of them.
I recommend Lalit to everyone.
It's location is best, you can walk out and you reach out to happening outlets. They provide the best security to guests.
I love lalit
Surila Bajaj

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurilaBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Ms. Bajaj,
Namaskar !

Thank you for the lovely comments! Mr.Rocky Kalra & Kanya are humbled to read your words of appreciation.
We hope to continue to be your home away from home and are always eager to be of service

Warmest regards

Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have been using the Lalit Hotel since August 2013 and its my third visit. I have to say that the service is excellent here. The staff caters your needs at a very high standards. This time i am staying here for ten nights and it feels like a home to me. I strongly recommend to anyone who would like to have a world class service.
Thank you
S S Gill

Room Tip: My favourite room is room no.2011, and i always make sure that i am in that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nandini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Ms. Gill,
Namaskar !

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We are thankful for your continued patronage and for being a true Lalit Ambassador

I look forward to welcoming you very soon

Warmest Regards
Vivek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great Ambiance
Great Location
Great Hospitality
Good Hotel staff,Prompt and well trained
good comfort rooms with good lighting,Bathroom is Big and with modern bath fittings
comfortable King size bed with TV DVD and BAR
Hotel : Good and well decorated,Reception to Waiters all are well trained and well behaved,
Food: Breakfast are is world Class with Lots of Variety,automatic coffee machine is excellent,Expensive too.
Spa,Gym and Swimming Pool: its great to see swimming pool with temperature control and open till 10 pm,spa has sauna and all with instructor too.
Hotel Vehicle: its latest and well on Time at Airport,Drivers are well dressed and well behaved.
Barakhamba metro is just 50 METER (Next to HOTEL)
Lots of Shops to buy in Hotel..but slight expensive
Overall feel is very good
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: different rooms on same floor..some are quite big with small suite type 10th to 18th floor is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UPSINHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for the wonderful comment about the overall experience. We are truly humbled and motivated to do even better.
We look forward to being of service again in the near future

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 736 in New Delhi
2,980 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 736 in New Delhi
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 736 in New Delhi
2,994 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#31 of 736 in New Delhi
711 reviews
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#44 of 736 in New Delhi
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £90 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing