We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Young Traveler (I love this hotel!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #39 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Young Traveler (I love this hotel!)”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I am a young traveler who's parents love traveling. I thought this hotel was very kid-friendly, easy walking distance from markets etc. (Connaught and Bengali escpecially), my parents loved the work out facility, and I loved the pool. The people there were very helpful and I belive staying there just made our trip that much better. My nine year old brother says the same.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Can I say, that this is the most wonderful feedback we have ever recieved.
Thank you ! Our young guests are very important to us and we are glad you enjoyed

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,794
    1,235
    513
    145
    120
See reviews for
714
760
257
1,549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had a nice stay at The Lalit with friends for a day. Got our room upgraded to a Executive Business Suite, which was very spacious and nice.Rooms are cozy and comfortable. The hotel is located right in the center of the city and its proximity to Connaught Place is simply awesome. Impressed by the room service and the food.

I would love to try out the other Lalit properties.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeesippper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed our hotel and its services
Look forward to welcoming you back

Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have stayed several times in The Lalit New Delhi. It is a very nice hotel with wonderfully comfortable beds and well appointed rooms. I am a budget traveller but even the smaller rooms are very comfortable. When I have stayed at The Lalit alone, I was impressed at how the staff greeted me and were very helpful. When travelling with friends they are equally pleasant and I felt as though I was a valued guest. Their desk staff are exemplary. I have stayed at several hotels in Delhi but I think I have decided on the one that I will always use from now on.

Shortcomings? The first room had an excellent view but the smell of stale tobacco smoke was overpowering. We were moved immediately on request. The air conditioner unit was poor on the first night and was attended to at our convenience the next day. The Lalit staff want their guests to be happy. I commend their management.
However, perhaps their housekeeping manager needs to do better quality assurance. Two guests require two facecloths, teabags etc and the mirrors need to be cleaned and the corners vacuumed but the room was far from being unkempt. Food costs are very high but service is very good with requests acted on immediately in a very busy dining room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. Your feedback goes a long way in boosting the morale of the team.
Thank you for your patronage & support to The Lalit Suri Hospitality Group
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Owing to our touring schedule in India, we checked in and out of this hotel three times over a period of two weeks. Overall, we spent six nights at LaLit, so this review reflects my perceptions across all those visits.

LaLit is (yet another) of those Indian hotels that does everything it can to appear five-star and misses it by just a bit. Their public areas are great, their breakfast is excellent, and many components of their service are quite good. And yet...

Their reception desk can handle only a few guests at a time, and then it goes into a mode of paralysis. They have no clear queueing system, so those waiting are unclear if they are facing a "multi-queue, multi-server" or a "single-queue, multi-server" setup. This leads to confusion and occasional anger.

Most requests for services receive fast responses. However, some are inexplicably bungled - for example, a simple request for another roll of toilet paper led to three different calls to housekeeping and - guess what - no toilet paper.

Room service is prompt but quite pricey. A short walk to Connaught Place (admittedly, via a congested area with lots of dust) yields a multitude of cheaper dining options, but LaLit seems to take advantage of many visitors' fear of leaving the premises. Thus, they charge a premium for things inside their safe facilities (all adult males are wanded by a security guard before entering the lobby, and all luggage and carried bags are x-rayed outside the front door).

My other experience in New Delhi with a hotel in this price range was Le Meridien, which I prefer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jeffsm5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback. We are cognizant of your feelings and will do all that we can in our capacity to ensure we meet and exceed your expectations in your next stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to your HOME in Delhi
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After a great stay a year ago we decided to stay at the Lalit again bearing in mind the great staff, varied buffet breakfast and the warmed up outdoors pool.
The staff remains excellent and helpful. The breakfast keeps the same quality.
This year our family booked two rooms. The rooms were still cosy with comfortable beds but uncared.
We had to call for a variety of repairs, non working taps, blocked sinks and others.
The rooms were kitted slightly differently; for example one room had a kettle, or gowns, the other did not.
The room cleaning never cleaned under the beds where there a consistent and tick layer of dust could be seen.
The outdoors pool was closed for repairs during our stay. This was disappointing but understandable. When asking the reception for an alternative they suggested a couple of cold outdoor pools but no warm indoor.
One evening my son was vomited on the floor of my bedroom. I called the room service. They came and cleared most of the mess without disinfecting it.
One evening when feeling poorly with influenza and in need of borrowing a thermometer there wasn't one. I would imagine that hotels, particularly 5 star would have well equipped emergency kits.
Overall the standard was disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for room in higher floors as these are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpoirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for a very insightful feedback. All the points highlighted by you have been investigated and the concerned team members counselled. Please accept my apologies as this is certainly not the manner we treat our esteemed guests. I hope you will treat this stay in isolation and offer us another opportunity to re-gain your trust.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have a fantastic stay
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very good hotel, fantastic services, amazing staff. A dream in India, I strongly suggest it. Breakfast is the best point: very good. Quality/cost is very good. Very good food alzo in any restaurant of the hotel, expecially the root top.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangergabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
I am delighted to read your feedback ! Thank you for the wonderful words of appreciation, they certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team.
i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was our first trip to Delhi and coming from London it was a definite experience. The hotel is marketed as a 5 star but compared to UK standards it's more like a 4 star as the room was pretty dated. It's location is very central, it was clean, breakfast was good with plenty of choice, but service was generally very average throughout our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower levels have very limited views, so worth getting a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback. Its feedback like yours which helps us learn and grow. We, at The Lalit New Delhi are committed to providing exceptional customer service to all our guests and I am certain you will find a positive change in your next visit. The next time you stay with us, try one of our newly renovated rooms which you would find to be very contemporary.
Do write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, and we will ensure you have a fantastic stay
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,770 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
2,949 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,828 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing