We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“120v Outlets and location would probably have to be the only highlights of the Hotel I experienced...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“120v Outlets and location would probably have to be the only highlights of the Hotel I experienced...”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Lets just say that the video that comes on when you first turn on the television regarding the owner Mr.`Lalit, would be very disappointed with the service that I received.

1) First Day, First Impression: Lack of Customer service & Communication at the 24/7 bar on the first day of my arrival. Presented my Credit Card for payment after eating the $1850Rs per person buffet (Approx. $45/pp CDN) and inputted my 4 digit pin code at which point I was not told that the transaction was cancelled because the exchange rate needed to be printed first. The server or Bus Boy that took my payment then proceeded to assist and take payment from 3 other guests before processing my payment again. So in my eyes, I felt like I paid twice and at this point I had no clue what the hell was going on. First I should be served first as I was there before the other 3, second - I should be communicated with and third, the server should observe and communicate better as my credit card clearly was not a domestic credit card!

2) I called front desk for heating issues for which they said they would send someone up, and no one came for at 20mins at 12:30am in the morning. I called back and cancelled and went to bed. As a result, I caught a cold.

3) I asked front desk how late the connaught place was open and they said 9:30 to 10pm. So my wife and I went. Upon arriving at 9pm, all the stores were closed. Upon coming back to the hotel, we were asked by the same front desk person on how the stores were and we said they were closed at 9pm and he then responded, thats because today is the Lowry Festival in Delhi.

My Question here is, if he knew then why would he not tell us this information and furthermore why would you send us to something that is closed?

4) We walked into the room for the first time, with picture frames crooked on the wall, clock with the wrong time and little things just out of place. The shower is manual labour and when checking in be sure to bring a pen as all rooms are equipped with pencils only!

All in all, Stay at the Oberoi!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucreativemedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback. I also sent you an e-mail earlier and once again sincerely apologize. We hope that you will be kind and offer us another opportunity to serve you.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you plan to come to Delhi and we will ensure you have a great stay

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    1,158
    491
    137
    117
See reviews for
646
701
239
1,373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

great food and amazing stories as the GRILL BOY prashant always ready with their
unique stories about the origin of dishes we had ordered . might be lalit having a very fresh concept but truley impressed by the brief knowledge of dishes and taste both at same time THUMBS UP FOR FUTURE

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harshita t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are indeed proud to have Prashant in our team and will certainly recognize him on your behalf.
We hope to welcome you back to try the other Food & Beverage offerings by The Lalit New Delhi

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
200 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Lalit in Connaught place is the classic delhi experience. Great people, great food and a truly pampered feeling . Food is very good. The open buffet at the ground floor or the Chinese restaurant on the top floor or the indian specialty restaurant. All places are great and so are the rooms. Great pricing is the liking the perfect incentive to come here again and again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ru80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We are thankful to you for your kind words of appreciation. Our endeavour is to always delight our guests by exceeding their expectations

Thank you for your support & patronage to The Lalit Suri Hospitality Group and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

As a 5 star hotell, this is average at tops. It is really starting to show wear n tear after several years in business.

I have stayed here a few times, and it is allways nice. There is no major issues...its just a lot of those little things that is starting to show. Its basicly just very worn..

But I do recomend staying here, the location is great. And so is the hotell, but compared to other 5 star it is in the bottom half.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Trond-J-oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have undertaken renovation & refurbishment of many parts of the hotel and do plan to cover the entire hotel.However, its a slow process since its an operating hotel and we dont want to disturb our guests with the noise that comes along with any renovation.
We thank you for your continued support & patronage to The Lalit Suri Hospitality Group & hope to welcome you back really soon.
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

good hotel have a good service cleanliness prompt services good foodHad a nice stay at The Lalit with friends for a day. Got our room upgraded to a Executive Business Suite, which was very spacious and nice.Rooms are cozy and comfortable. The hotel is located right in the center of the city and its proximity to Connaught Place is simply awesome. Impressed by the room service and the food...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garg_yk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for the glowing review. Your kind words go a long way in boosting the morale of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

after having the longest check in at this hotel, as the staff was very slow
this hotel is centrally located at cp, close to old delhi and everything around new delhi close to the major attractions in delhi
room is clean and tidy with all the amenities expected from a five star hotel.
the breakfast is decent the hotel has a 24/7 bar which attracts all sorts of crowd in the night, not a very pleasant site
the lobby is not very grand and has a weird feel to it as everything has been thrown right in the centre as you check in to the hotel, the bar the club the hotel the shops
the night club entry staff are rude and out of order.
has a clean spa and gym area
for future stays i would skip this hotel and consider other options like shangrila or maurya

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFarhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
Thank you for the most insightful feedback about your recent stay at The Lalit New Delhi. Few points highlighted by you are of concern and we will certainly do what's in our capacity to bring them up to the level of expectations.
I hope you will offer us one more opportunity to be of service.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, and we will ensure that you have a memorable experience

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel is gorgeous, there's no denying that. We checked in and were handed our keys. We made our way to our room. The receptionist was nice enough and made small talk. However, when he asked us whether we were on business this was probably him sifting us.

The porter came with our bags a few minutes later and didn't do the usual formalities of showing us our room.

The hotel is best suited to sportsmen and business men.
Not two young ladies who just wanted to enjoy their last days in Delhi.

At dinner the server sent me on a futile journey back to my room to search for the hotel card envelope that had our room number on it, as the card alone wasn't good enough, he said. After speaking to reception I realised he was having a laugh at my expense.

Twice we requested our complimentary fruit basket- nothing. At check-out when we brought up the issue. We were offered apples and pears-pathetic.

The food was poor, compared to some of the other places we stayed in India. In particular the scrambled eggs and Japanese selections. So as you can imagine we needed the fruits, to settle our stomach.

When making the booking we specifically stated that we would like a Birhday cake - to celebrate my friends birthday- nothing.

To top of the terrible experience I was up all night due to the awful food we ordered for room service.

CAUTION: Stay well away from the purple artificial looking burger and chips and the equally as bad club sandwich. These meals didn't come cheap either.

When we brought up the issue about the cake and fruits with reception- he said 'I'm sorry ma'am' and stood still as if to say , that's all, you may go now.

The Lalit was disappointing. we stayed in lesser star hotels and had no problem with food and service, but The Lalit seems provide customer service and focus to 'a selected few.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J81_J82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !
At the outset please accept my most sincere apologies for your dissatisfactory experience at The Lalit New Delhi. We are committed to providing exceptional service to all our guests, especially our lady guests. It is indeed unfortunate for us that you did not experience that and thus your review.
I invite you to stay with us one more time so that we can showcase to you "Limitless Hospitality".
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, the next time you plan to come to Delhi and we will ensure you have a great stay.
Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 707 in New Delhi
2,598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 707 in New Delhi
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#57 of 707 in New Delhi
2,750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 707 in New Delhi
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing