We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lalit well situated but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lalit well situated but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

My friend and I stayed here for 4 days in late November. The Lalit was formerly the Intercontinental; it was taken over by Indian hotel magnate Lalit Suri. We had booked our reservation at the Intercon so were surprised to see the Lalit sign and flags in front - we thought the cab driver dropped us at the wrong hotel! It just so happened that we arrived on the day the new name was unveiled.

The entrance to the hotel is almost right off the street, so no grounds to speak of. The hotel lobby is beautifully decorated with modern flair and some enormous paintings of the Suri family. Check in was smooth, although the staff were not especially pleasant. The hotel has several elevators, but it always seems to be a long wait to catch one.

Rooms are modern and well appointed. We stayed in a standard room with 2 double beds - it was a little cramped, but comfortable and clean.

The hotel has a very cosmopolitan feel, with travelers from many different countries. We met people from Africa, China, Europe and Australia and the US. It is situated about a 15 min walk to Connaught Place and within short driving distance to many historical and modern attractions. There are some great restaurants and bars serving international fare in Connaught Place - ask the concierge at the hotel to make reservations for you.

Our biggest complaint was dining at the Lalit. There is a buffet restaurant to the right of the main lobby, but there wasn't much variety nor was the food very good. We had to wait a long time for a server to take our drink orders, and dishes were not cleared away in a timely manner so ended up crowding our table.
There is also a pastry shop that at that time did not sell coffee or small pastries that you could grab on the run. The 24/7 Bar only served food/snacks while the buffet restaurant was open, and it was the same stuff as served in the buffet.
We also tried to eat at Woks because we had heard some good things about it, but after waiting 2 hours were still not seated. It got so late we just got take out and took it back to our room. After all that, the food was disappointing - greasy and tasteless. Needless to say, after that we just ate off site.

Overall - nice, well kept hotel, well situated. Service was passable. Just find other places to eat.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Dining options
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank everywhere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,538
    1,163
    491
    138
    117
See reviews for
649
703
239
1,377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Great large Rooms and ovesized modern bathrooms. Nice views as well. Ate at two of the hotel restuarants, WOK on the top floor surpassed expectations with excellent food, though slow service. The cafe on the 3rd floor was mediocre at best. Service was excellent throughout our stay. Would definitely recommend the hotel for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

Good business hotel, right in the heart of delhi.
situated in the CBD of CP/Barakhamba road and very close to Barakhamba metro station, this hotel smacks of business opulence.
I stayed here for almost three months and became and gold member of priority club.
The deals are normally around 10k INR per night though it might rise upto 15k in the busy season.
it has one of the two heated swimming pools in all of delhi.
Okish restaurents but the coffee shop has a lavish spread for breakfast.
The best thing about this was the quality of the rooms - lots of gadgets, transparent glasses for bathroom walls and clean look to the entire place.

I recommend this.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank humphreyappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

I stayed in the hotel in the month of April '09. The hotel is magnificent and I have just loved the bathroom which has a glass wall. It is so lovely that it was hard to drag myself away from the bath to the room. It was so hot and busy there, I couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility of the bath.
I was expecting a few nibbles but breakfast is a lovely continental spread with cheeses fruit pastries etc. Quite difficult to fit in any meals out after all that!
The hotel lobby is splendid with very good decor & ambience.

3 things I would like the hotel to look into:
- The interiors of the rooms need to be done up. In my room the walls hd some cracks & patchwork of painitngs were clearly visible which does not shw the hotel in the right perspective.

- The other thing I would like to highlight is that the hotel still does not have a loyalty program & no tie ups with any airlines. This is a little bizarre consideing the tough competition that the industry is in.

- Airport pickups & drops are charged......this is something weird I found!! In my view one of the journeys could be charged, but not both!!

BUT overall I would say this is probably the best hotel I have stayed in off late. Perhaps not the most convenient if you have business in Gurgaon!! But if you want to mix of good food, service with the odd trip to connaught place then this is an absolute must!!

Do pay heed to my suggestions....Lalit will definitely go a long way in fulfilling Mr. Lalit Suri's dreams!!

  • Liked — bath
  • Disliked — Painintg color of the rooms & the painitngs patchwork which was visible
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradips28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

I was at The Lalit during a period of 2nights. I visited Delhi for business purpose and decided to be put up at The Lalit. My decision was wise as the service rendered was very pleasing.

The staff was extremely courteous. The food was authentic and delicious.

I was extremely happy with their service & I shall always recommend The Lalit to everybody.

  • Liked — Spacious & hospitable staff
  • Disliked — Security checks
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kainaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

- Stay is calm
- Staff very good
- Excellent place for business events
- Food, excellent and having real taste of India
- Location: in middle of Delhi
- Airport is just 30 to 40 minutes away.

  • Liked — Organized structure of rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bravo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

Much more than expected. I went Delhi to attend a national meeting. My company opted me to stay at hotel lalit. The ambience of hotel is very gud. Service is very fast and courteous.
I liked the food and dining of this hotel very much.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drsanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#56 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,772 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing