We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lalit New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #43 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

This is a nice 5 star hotel just off Connaught Place, New Delhi. I happenned to stay here for about four times in this year and I find it a very fine place for a discenring business traveler.
The main lobby is an atrium of about 50 feet! This magnificent area is tastefully decorated with large tapestry and paintings of Hussain, Gujaral and other noted artistes. The bronge bulls by Gujral are other attraction, The back lighted Marble work stations and pillars are eye catching and so is the generous usage of anthuriums of various hues .
I was given room in 24th floor with a great view of the city. The bath room has got a glass window so that you can look at the TV while soaking in the tub. The speaker in the bath room is a nice touch. This glass partition is great if you are staying with your spouse. The roll down blinds are useful if you are with business associate. The quality of the bath room supplies is excellant and is top class. Unless you ask, the bath robe and sippers are not a part of the standardy supply. The hotel must look into this.
The in room dining menu is not very exhaustive but definetly meet your non-restaurant dining needs. The in room food served ( taste, service and presentation) is definetly one of the best!
The restaurants were well appointed and the food is real value for money. The spread in buffet counters was good, well presented and the cutlrely was innovative.
The fact that I could find so many Japanese guests speaks volumes about the cleanliness and class of the rooms, service and food.
Being in the close proximity to Connaught place, you can be assured of good shopping and time pass!!
The in house spa is very good and plesant - though a bit over priced! Excellent service and soothing environment.
There is a small shopping arcade to meet your immediate needs and good collection of books too..
The location, the rooms, the food - altogether make the stay at this hotel a memorable one.
A must try!

  • Liked — Every thing
  • Disliked — umm... lakck of business paper supply in the room
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kamesh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,476
    1,125
    479
    133
    115
See reviews for
619
677
235
1,338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Having read a few reviews that complained about the noise from an adjacent railway station, I was a bit concerned about the Lalit, but thankfully the concerns were unfounded. We could hear no railway noise at all - I don't know if our room was just facing the other way, but we literally never heard a train. We were facing the main road, so there was some traffic noise (we were on the 20th floor), but I'm a light sleeper and the traffic noise didn't bother me.

The room itself is spacious and modern. The bathroom is okay, but the bath/shower is a bit grotty. The bathtub itself was clearly made of cheap material which had greyed/yellowed in certain areas and generally made it look dirty. The public areas in the hotel are nicely done out and have a modern feel to them.

Breakfast was complete chaos - it took an age to get something as simple as a fork,! Getting coffee and tea was equally difficult, and as a result of the staff being useless, we had to have someone at the table the entire time (ithere is a buffet) to "guard" our prized possessions as the only way to get cups/cutlery/jams etc is to pilfer them from other tables.

Delhi was our first stop so we were exhausted and jet-lagged the night we arrived and decided to have dinner at the hotel. Whilst the staff at dinner were much more courteous than those at breakfast, the service was painfully slow. However, the food was very good so almost made it worth the wait..

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whirlwind79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

the hotel is gr8 after renovation, need to gear up for the service standards...............

  • Liked — centrally located
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vishuksharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

I stayed in Lalit during my brief weekend trip to Delhi. I was positively surprised. Rooms were spacious and decorated with good taste, service was discreet and not too much. Suited well a Scandinavian traveller.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tuplae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Not a bad stay. Location is ok, not exactly in the middle of things, but it's fine. We had a room on the 22nd floor overlooking the city which was nice.

Our only complaint is that the reservation wasn't ready when we got there and we had to wait for them to input in the computer again.

Otherwise, the rooms were clean, the food service was excellent and we had a great view. The breakfast was good and had no real complaints.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBrendanDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

I dont know where to start,it was a bad experience beginning with reservation till check out.I made reservation for two rooms and when I called they told me suite is 19000 per night.I said I would call later to confirm.Called 2 hours later and now they quote rate of 28,000 for same room.Asked that person to talk to manager and they agreed to give rate of 19000 per night.I gave them my credit card number and reservation was made.Then called them later to book another room they could not find my reservation adn had to rebook the room.
This is terrible standard for 5 star reservations.Then food taste over there is terrible.We had a function and had 10 things on menu .Out of 10 prespeciifed things there were only 8 of them and all of them tasted terrible.
Then come to check out process,the staff has such an attitude - even the person who comes and get your luggage.
We conveyed all these things to hotel manager at the end.He made some concessions for our bad experiences.But overall it was terrible stay,there are many 5 star hotels in same area with much better service.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ishsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

I stayed here for four nights in November 2009, and am so disappointed that despite the facelift since last year, the service is still the same: slow, unfriendly and depressing. There is a real problem in this hotel with the staff and customer service compared to any other 5 star hotel. The Taj puts the Lalit to shame, mind you so would the travel lodge. Let's start with the pick up service at the airport. It was complimentary. Great. He nearly went without me though! Two names on the same board. Because it had been booked by the same tour company, the driver assumed that when the first person arrived, they could go without me.. It was the other lady who saved the day by asking the driver to wait behind for me, otherwise they would have gone. Thanks to this lady! Secondly, on check in. 45 minutes this process took. I had requested a "quiet, non-smoking room" and called that day to confirm this request. They didn't have it!! Eventually after much negotiation they had a room, but when I got there, it was facing the train station, and had no bath. So I called up, and they showed me two other rooms with another compromise: one was smoking, one was adjoining room. I went with the "quiet adjoining" - my god bad choice. The hotel might have been refurbished, but the soundproofing at this place is dire. The next door neighbours could be heard rustling their newspapers and stirring their coffee - no joke! It was awful. Also, they decided to start smoking in a non-smoking room as the smoke smell went right under the door and stank my room out. I called front desk to report this, but who knows if they done anything!
Laundry service is late. My trousers were 1.5 hours late.
Breakfast was nice but again bad service, I was made to sit down at a dirty table, no one cleaned it.
Upon check out, they had preauthorised the charges to another guest's credit card, and no one asked me how was my stay. They dont have questionnaires in the room and its no wonder, they know about the hotel's problems I am sure they must get lots of complaints.
PS rooms are nice but not functional. Trying to figure out the shower, the button is hidden behind the dial.
I wont stay here on my next trip to India.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Weecathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#57 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing