We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Posh modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Posh modern hotel”
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Brilliant posh hotel located in the heart of Delhi. The rooms have a plush, modern decor with hardwood flooring, large flat screen TV embedded in the wall, modern bathroom with all conceivable amenities. Our room on the 18th floor had a nice view of Central Delhi. It is a great place for tourists to base themselves for sightseeing in Delhi.

The breakfast spread was excellent and the Baluchi restaurant is a nice place to sample Indian/Mughlai cuisine (dont expect food like at the Bukhara though!!)

  • Liked — the room
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucozade_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    1,158
    491
    137
    117
See reviews for
646
700
239
1,373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Stayed there for a one day business trip. Modern well decorated recently refurbished rooms. great Location on Barakhamba Road close to the business district of Connaught Place.

Very Good breakfast that can keep u going for the entire day.

Great bar - serve some heady cocktails to unwind after a days work. Chinese restaurant was authentic and reasonable priced.

Overall a Fantastic place and good value.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekG_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Stayed at The Lalit, New Delhi for 3 nights / 4 days. The hotel is situated just off Connaught Place and very close to the financial hub. The entire area of Connaught, Palika Bazar are at walking distance. Very close to the Metro Station.
Good eating places like Pizza Hut, Nirulas, Haldirams close by.
The hotel itself is large with a great coffe shop where the buffet breakfast spread was large with a very good Indian, Continental & Japanese spread.
The rooms are on the slightly smaller side .. just about ok for a couple. However, large bathrooms with good toiletries etc. good spa & gym also.
Service was ok.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This is a nice 5 star hotel just off Connaught Place, New Delhi. I happenned to stay here for about four times in this year and I find it a very fine place for a discenring business traveler.
The main lobby is an atrium of about 50 feet! This magnificent area is tastefully decorated with large tapestry and paintings of Hussain, Gujaral and other noted artistes. The bronge bulls by Gujral are other attraction, The back lighted Marble work stations and pillars are eye catching and so is the generous usage of anthuriums of various hues .
I was given room in 24th floor with a great view of the city. The bath room has got a glass window so that you can look at the TV while soaking in the tub. The speaker in the bath room is a nice touch. This glass partition is great if you are staying with your spouse. The roll down blinds are useful if you are with business associate. The quality of the bath room supplies is excellant and is top class. Unless you ask, the bath robe and sippers are not a part of the standardy supply. The hotel must look into this.
The in room dining menu is not very exhaustive but definetly meet your non-restaurant dining needs. The in room food served ( taste, service and presentation) is definetly one of the best!
The restaurants were well appointed and the food is real value for money. The spread in buffet counters was good, well presented and the cutlrely was innovative.
The fact that I could find so many Japanese guests speaks volumes about the cleanliness and class of the rooms, service and food.
Being in the close proximity to Connaught place, you can be assured of good shopping and time pass!!
The in house spa is very good and plesant - though a bit over priced! Excellent service and soothing environment.
There is a small shopping arcade to meet your immediate needs and good collection of books too..
The location, the rooms, the food - altogether make the stay at this hotel a memorable one.
A must try!

  • Liked — Every thing
  • Disliked — umm... lakck of business paper supply in the room
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kamesh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Having read a few reviews that complained about the noise from an adjacent railway station, I was a bit concerned about the Lalit, but thankfully the concerns were unfounded. We could hear no railway noise at all - I don't know if our room was just facing the other way, but we literally never heard a train. We were facing the main road, so there was some traffic noise (we were on the 20th floor), but I'm a light sleeper and the traffic noise didn't bother me.

The room itself is spacious and modern. The bathroom is okay, but the bath/shower is a bit grotty. The bathtub itself was clearly made of cheap material which had greyed/yellowed in certain areas and generally made it look dirty. The public areas in the hotel are nicely done out and have a modern feel to them.

Breakfast was complete chaos - it took an age to get something as simple as a fork,! Getting coffee and tea was equally difficult, and as a result of the staff being useless, we had to have someone at the table the entire time (ithere is a buffet) to "guard" our prized possessions as the only way to get cups/cutlery/jams etc is to pilfer them from other tables.

Delhi was our first stop so we were exhausted and jet-lagged the night we arrived and decided to have dinner at the hotel. Whilst the staff at dinner were much more courteous than those at breakfast, the service was painfully slow. However, the food was very good so almost made it worth the wait..

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirlwind79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

the hotel is gr8 after renovation, need to gear up for the service standards...............

  • Liked — centrally located
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vishuksharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I stayed in Lalit during my brief weekend trip to Delhi. I was positively surprised. Rooms were spacious and decorated with good taste, service was discreet and not too much. Suited well a Scandinavian traveller.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tuplae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 707 in New Delhi
2,598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 707 in New Delhi
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#57 of 707 in New Delhi
2,750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 707 in New Delhi
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing