We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star ?????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #39 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star ?????”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We expected more from this hotel having read the reviews on Trip Advisor and accepting it's stated 5* rating.
The breakfast buffet food was good although the service was poor, it was a challenge to get tea and coffee and the noise levels in the restaurant prohibited coherent conversation.
The rooms look good, clean and modern on the surface, but the bedding is not comfortable. Our air conditioning was broken, not cooling the room and the machinery was loud. The fridge was warm and the drinks the same. Both were aledgedly fixed on day 2 after we reported problems but the fridge problem was not resolved. Bath robes were not in the room when we arrived, they were presented on request but on day 2 they disappeared and we had to request them again. The speakers on our new flat screen tv were faulty.
We consulted the consierge as to the cost of transport to a shopping area we wanted to go to. They quoted us a price 5 times more expensive than we eventually got by using a Delhi City Taxi - the same for the Airport transfer. Luckily we had the confidence to checkout the perfectly good black city taxi service.
They charge exorbitant rates for Internet Access and the worst experience we had was in their 'Grill Restaurant' on the 27th Floor. This restaurant advertises a mouth watering meditteranean menu. We ordered a starter and main course each and a bottle of wine and paying €100 for the priveledge, found the food to be practically unidentifiable, inedible and the wine was of bucket standard, not worth €5 retail in Europe and they charged €45 for the bottle of substandard plonk.
We made a point at the end of out trip of informing the Duty Manager, Ashish Singh Bhau about our experience. His eyes glazed over and blankly offered to provide us with an upgrade on our next visit - a visit we can assure you, we will not be making. Pay a little more for an authentic 5* experience or pay the Lalit prices and accept that you are actually getting a 3 and maybe 4* experience. This place is all surface and no substance. An illusion and ultimatley a rip off!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,235
    513
    145
    120
See reviews for
714
760
257
1,550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable and clean rooms.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank birdget2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed here for a week - so that we could explore Delhi on our Honeymoon. We were upgraded on arrival and presented with flowers and a huge cake so was immediately impressed. Security is very tight - which is reassuring in light of Mumbai attacks last year. All staff we encounted from security to door staff to drivers were very professional. Room was fabulous and incredibly clean. Cleaning staff do an amazing job as our room was immaculate on return every day.
We only ate in 24/7 bar but apparently the other restaurants in hotel get excellent reveiews. 24/7 was amzing to grab food at any time - pattiserie is fantastic and reasonable and buffet breakfast beats any I have ever had with a choice for every taste and good times. Swimming pool was perfect for my husband who likes to swim and good if you want to just relax. Gymn looked very good and empty but didn't take trainers.
All in all no major problems after a whole week - only small gripes being not loads of information in lobby on extra services and places to visit - would have liked price list for spa to be displayed and also restaurants and also a guide for getting around delhi. Also suppose I would say cost for extras - eg restaurant and use of cars is a bit pricey for my liking considering it is in India - and it is dirt cheap to get a taxi or rickshaw from outside of the hotel. Would however warn anyone who chooses to take a rickshaw or outside taxi - do not expect them to want to take you where you want to go. Every day we had same trouble being told Connaught place and Delhi haat shut!! - we ended up walking a lot of time as got sick of arguing it wasn't closed and didn't want to shop - drivers only want to take you to shops to get commission - so it is hard work if you actually want to go to see the sights and temples and galleries. This did spoil my overall impression of Delhi as felt I couldn't believe anything anyone said to me. One final note - ARTWORK IN HOTEL WAS EXCELLENT - LOVED IT.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Stayed here as an alternative to more expensive 5-star properties, had a very pleasant stay. Rooms were nice, location was good, and service was OK but not exceptional. Like most business hotels, restaurants and internet connectivity are good but overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

This is a pretty standard business hotel, and the rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet (included in my room price) was excellent. Unfortunately, wireless internet at this place was a complete rip-off at around 1000 INR a day.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank privypurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2009

This hotel is not for bagpackers. Ther is a swimingpool, fit center, shop center,art galery, restaurant with internacional and local foods.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MilanZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

I stayed at this hotel in November 2009...for an official training...the hotel is quite nice...the rooms are spacious and well done..and the location is also superb..absolutely in the heart of the city!

The food was very good..breakfast spread was nice..both Indian and continental...the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and provide great service..always attentive to our needs and always had a smiling face...quite commendable...

Overall a nice experience and I would definitely love to stay in this hotel again......

  • Liked — the rooms and the service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rinky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,772 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
2,948 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,832 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing