We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lalit is a sufficient hotel, but rather bland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Lalit is a sufficient hotel, but rather bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

My first room was on the 14th floor by the railway tracks. It had a big stain on the carpet, the carpet had dust settled in the cracks, the mini bar looked like it had just been fished out of the river and the trains woke me up at 5am every morning. I also couldn't get internet connection up there. After 2 nights they moved me to a much nicer room where it looked like it was part of the 21st century and I was finally relatively reliably connected the internet. The main facilities were fine - good breakfast resaturant, nice outdoor, space, beautiful pool. The restaurants were also very good after busy business days. It was fine for a business trip, but I certainly wouldn't stay there personally.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dollyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    1,160
    491
    138
    117
See reviews for
647
702
239
1,374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

We felt we had gone to heaven when we entered the hotel lobby! This hotel is an oasis in a loud, dusty, polluted city! The hotel staff were extremely courteous and professional; the room was gorgeous (beautifully designed, very quiet and clean); breakfast was delicious, ample and served in a gorgeous setting; the rooftop pool beautiful; and all centrally located in downtown Delhi! Beware of the inflated prices in the hotel boutiques, however! We would recommend this hotel to anyone: it's well worth the price!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeTravellers57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

I arrived very, very late in the evening to check-in and was immediately asked to scan my luggage and walk through a metal detector (consistent with the rest of the country). Then, entering the lobby, I was initially impressed with the grand marble floors and walls, then accosted by loud, blaring music, though the lobby was empty. Check-in went smoothly, as there was no one else around.

The room was decent upon first glance, with its modern decor, stone bathroom, and satisfactory amenities. There was even a small sack of colored glass on the bed with a small description card detailing how various colors assist with various body ailments. Saturday's color is purple, by the way.

Upon closer inspection, I found the room wanting for minor improvements. For example, I wished the teapot had actually been cleaned. I wished all of the lights would turn on (bulbs were out). I wished the air system did not hiss and crackle quite so loudly. I wished the hallways absorbed more sound as there was a definite party across the hall into the wee hours of every morning of my stay. I wished the alarm clock was not battery powered and instead had a power cord to alleviate my fear that the alarm battery would die and I would not get the necessary alarm each morning. More than anything, I wish I hadn't needed to pull the shower knob with enough force to break two fingernails in order to turn on the overhead shower head.

Overall, the hotel is an above standard business hotel. There was a good desk on which to work. There was ample counterspace for luggage and briefcase. The bed was superbly comfortable. The bathroom, though only lukewarm water, was grand and spacious with a separate tub. Amenities were provided, though no hair conditioner was supplied. I remember seeing laundry request bags, shoe polishers, and plenty of Indian and US programs on the television.

One major downside with a very bright silver lining: At the time of my stay, internet was absurdly expensive. However, I quickly noticed, due to my odd sleeping hours from jetlag, that internet was free from about 1am to 6am. I am not sure how or why, but I certainly did not complain. When you open an internet browser between those hours, there seemed to be no charge or login page that you would otherwise encounter.

The concierge was only slightly helpful when I requested assistance. I called to see if a box had been delivered to me and the concierge stated they would check and call me back. Of the three times I called and received this answer, I never once received a call back. Each time I needed to call them again. So don't expect a call-back.

Additionally, the food was well-prepared. The included breakfast buffet was more than satisfactory and the room service was quick and delicious.

Last comment: The hotel is very close, three minute walk, to a metro station. Very convenient.

Overall, very nice business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rileigh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

I stayed here for 2 weeks and really enjoyed it. The rooms are wonderful and new. The business centre was good without being outstanding, but we could do anything we wanted there like laminating etc etc. The breakfast was great and the food in all the restaurants were also of a high standard. I had wonderful staff doing both morning and evening services and used the laundry service regularly with no problems. The hotel is also in an excellent location and its just a short walk to Connaught which has more shopping and eating options. If you want cheap food, there is also a few small markets around in the neighbourhood and also a cheap internet place in one too.

My only qualm was the construction works that went on around the lifts. It didnt really inconvenience me & the noice was kept to daytime only, but it was a little unsightly is all.

We got a reasonable deal, but in general the hotel is quite expensive. Still I really enjoyer staying here and if I can get a good deal again will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

its average if u compare it to a 5 star
on entrance......we had a single room booked but the receptionist said but we had too......we too were suprised.....after checking for a few minutes,she told its one.....hotel is a good one....but for the same price u can get better..also everyone over here is hungry for tips.....u get to know from their face...the rooms were in good condition....no newspapers or magazines(but a bhagavad gita and a bible were available)....however on checking out....even after calling the service desk thrice for picking up the luggage,no one arrived....finally had to take down luggage on my own since was gettin late for my flight...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartboyz022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

It was really the work they implement is appreciated

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mohammed_sanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Service in Delhi is generally not as good as in more touristy resorts. This is a business hotel.
We stayed during the auto conference, the hotel were not able to cope. Had to wait ages to check in. Bar service very slow as was the service in the restrained. Breakfast does not start until 7.00 am despite the restaurant calling its self 24/7.
A large hotel in a good location, but needs management to take a look at the service provided. There was plenty of staff on duty they just didn't seem to know what to do. Lots of management on the floor but seemed to miss the point of providing a quality service. At times I thought I had taken invisible tables because I was ignored by both bar & restaurant staff..
Had a good bathrom with glass walls that had blinds could be opened to have the natural light from the bedroom .

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dundrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#58 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Property: The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Oriental food, The Woks serve authentic Oriental food while The Grill serves European food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing