We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper 5* Luxury - Top Class”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Proper 5* Luxury - Top Class”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Wonderful hotel with a colonial feel everywhere. It has a great atmosphere, excellent staff, comfortable surroundings in a good location in New Delhi and facilities. We we’re treated with the utmost respect, had an excellent room and felt safe and secure at all times.

It also has a fabulous selection of restaurants including the Spice Route which we loved.

Make no mistake about it, this is a 5* luxury hotel in name and reality. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,004
    548
    187
    83
    42
See reviews for
412
1,083
215
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

if you are in Delhi on a Sunday, the Sunday brunch at the Imperial Hotel's 1911 restaurant is NOT to be missed.
Extraordinary selection of delicious food in a wonderful ambience. TIP: stay clear of the entrees in the bain maries on the buffet. Stick to the carvery and the fresh cooking stations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We were at the hotel for three nights and our overall experience was excellent. Our suite was quite spacious, well appointed and full of light. The rooms were kept fresh and clean and housekeeping was on their toes, responding to requests promptly and pleasantly. We really enjoyed the selection of restaurants and the breakfast buffet, seated on the patio, overlooking the lawn was always a treat. The hotel has a grand, colonial, style to it and the lithographs and statues a study in of themselves. The only negative was an impersonal front desk staff, who were quite transactional and unengaged beyond.... all in all, a minor issue against the backdrop of great service and space. It is a bit pricey but worth it at least once.. if you decide not to stay, visit for lunch on the patio when visiting Connaught Place or the Cottage Industries Store across the street.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank discovermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The old good times of the imperial are over...I can remember how good was the past french GM and the results of his hard work for our best enjoyment. Since then he was replaced by an ex Lalit Staff wooshoo fired from there and placed at the Imperial because of a corrupted system. The new german Chef has transformed the dining experience into a Mac Donald with croc madam and monsieur he doesn't even know how to cook. This hotel relies on his past. We used to stay there with our whole family, cousins and childrens but have now shifted to much better hotels such as Hyatt or Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vikramoberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This is an excellent hotel quite central in New Delhi. The hotel has some higly recommended restaurants and eating options most of which deserve their high ratings (atleast the ones I ate in). The hotel's public places are very cosy and nice. This is a 70-80 year old hotel with history so most walls have paintings / pictures from early 1900s etc. The hotel attempts to mimic an english lodge from 1940s so most things are wooden, lighting is soft and dim, place for fire place, large public restrooms on most floors etc.

The rooms however disappointed me. The category of room I had had a window opening inside the hotel. I could see a small sit out below and an aisle accross my window giving zero privacy. So if I left the curtains open, I would have everyone staying on the floor and service staff look into my room. The lightly, like I said is designed to be dim. It was abit too dim in my room and bathrom to the extent that I had to call and ask them for more light (I need glasses to see so while shaving without them I managed to cut myself becasue of the dim light). They changed the old bulbs but dint really make a big difference. Claustrophobic in one word. Having said that the rooms are very well appointed and are luxurious. The bathroom still had old faucets and fittings so gettiing desired pressure or temperateure of water in the shower was a bit of a challenge.

I was told by a long staying italian gentleman that the other rooms facing outwards are much better and nicer. I suspect some rooms are more recently renovated than the others - I may have got an older room.

The quality of service is average and not really worth writing about. The gym and spa are is very nice and well appointed.

Over all a nice hotel but look for an outward facing new room if you stay for a value for money experience given the rates at this hotel.

Room Tip: Look for an outward facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Hands down, this is the best hotel in Delhi. From the minute you drive up until your bags are packed and back in the car to leave, you are treated like royalty. Everyone from the housekeeping staff to the General Manager want to ensure you never have a problem, and want you to feel like you are at home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoneiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

All of my colleagues love this hotel and it's certainly up there with the Mumbai Taj and the Singapore Raffles as one of Asia's great historic hotels. A beautiful Art Deco building with classic English lawns, its simple exteriors are matched by all marble floors, gilded chandeliers and a fine collection of British Raj art adorning every conceivable hanging space (including a cherub in my bathroom).

The service is understated but effusive - a polite mention that a fly was spotted at breakfast brought a uniformed man whose pest controlling purpose was clear. I was a little disappointed to have a room facing into an internal lobby, that the main lawn had a half-constructed marquee on it, and that the water in my bath was brown for the first day. Would I come back? Absolutely

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letranger90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Palace Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing