We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chilly night at the imperial”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

After a back breaking ride from agra, the imperial awaited us like a star in the night sky, the ever friendly door keeper just kept on greeting all of us without a frown. Luggage was taken to our rooms even before we could get in. The cosy rooms and the much needed hot water was just too soothing for my body. The staff were just too courteous and attended to our every need. And of course the restaurants in the hotel are just mindblowing.

The Imperial does give you that imperial, rich feeling.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crisfan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,069 - 2,075 of 3,047 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is by far the best place to stay while visiting Delhi. The hotel is in the centre of everything! The ground floor is terrific - the afternoon tea superb - the dinning an ultimate experience - the rooms are simply lovely!! The gardens are well kept and the service is great. There is a lovely bakery with goods not easily found in and around Indian hotels in general. Exercising is a treat with individual attention given to anyone wishing it. It is royal treatment and a must stay at least once in a lifetime!!

Room Tip: All rooms a quite different but the garden rooms are terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarunChanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed in Imperial 5 nights during which w enjoyed the elegance of the hotel and attentivness of its service a lot. We had a groundfloor room which was very comfortable, clean and elegant, although I felt a bit too small.
The hotel has a very nice swimming pool which offers a possibility of proper swim. The service was very attentive and sometimes funny (once I was politely 'refused' the morning toast until the toast manager is back :-)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My stay at The Imperial was outstanding in every way. The building itself is historic and beautifully maintained. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed, the restaurants have character and delicious menus, and the staff are wonderful, from the drivers to the front desk to the housekeepers to the management. I stayed for several nights in one room at the beginning of my trip, and one night at the end in a different room. I would be hard pressed to say which was nicer, as both were superb. I had at least one meal in each of the hotel's restaurants and was never disappointed. Take an art tour of the hotel's collection if you have a chance. You can also arrange for a hotel car and driver to take you around Delhi and beyond. Indeed, I spent three days in the company of one of their drivers on a private side trip to Agra and Jaipur. He was excellent, not only driving me wherever I needed to go, but also gently advising me about some tourist guide and shopping pitfalls. At one point or another during my stay I had the personal attention of General Manager Vijay Wanchoo, Sales Manager Neha Negi, and Guest Relations Manager Laila Singh. I suspect they spend much of their time making guests feel as welcome as I felt. None of them seemed too rushed to talk with a guest, answer questions, give advice. The Imperial is not an inexpensive hotel, so be prepared. But if you can afford it, you will treat yourself to first-rate service and an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have wanted to stay at the "Grand old Lady" ever since coming to dine here at The Spice Route several years ago and then again in 2008. Well we finally got our chance through a wonderful 'Long Stay' offer by the Imperial that made a fantastic 9 day stay possible. This stay comprised a special room rate, breakfast, free internet and airport transfer to and from the hotel.The hotel was charming sophisticated old worldly and elegant. The service was endlessly superb. The array of restaurants bars and coffee/ tea rooms was fabulous and the attention to their individual decor and service was first class. The food and restaurant service was second to none and the breakfast has to be seen to be believed.But above all the service rendered by all of the staff was courteous warm and genuine each day, all of the time. Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable,fascinating and memorable especially the staff in 1911for your attention and warmth to us aussie travellers. Sensational!! GEOFFREY F.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank geoffrey_fafard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Imperial New Delhi offers one of the best fine dining experiences in the country, The spice route, 1911 and San Gimignano are comparable to the best in the world such as Noma in Copenhagen and Le Chateaubriand in Paris. When it comes to fine dining the thing that sets apart the best in the world is service and this is one area where The Imperial excels and flourishes thanks to its highly courteous staff and the F&B director Mr. Surinder Thakur. I have seen this gentleman every time I have been to The Imperial, he's always there at breakfast/Lunch/Dinner greeting the guests cheerfully and going out of the way to offer world class service of the highest standard. Keep it up and I highly recommend The Imperial.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paramNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Although the hotel lobby areas are beautiful the rooms all smell of mildew. The staff showed us three rooms to see if we could find one with no mildew smell. WE were so tired that we settled on a room and I woke up congested from the smell. It was night time when we arrived and the staff told me it was a beautiful garden view room. The next morning we woke to a wall where pigeons live and the entire wall was covered with pigeon poop. Plus, they nickle and dime you for everything. One of the staff made a toll free call to Am Ex (from the number on my card) for me from my room and we received a phone call saying that the charge would be over $100. (Yet they say it's an American Express affiliated hotel) My husband argued with the manager and they kept reducing the cost down to $75 then $50, etc.
There are a lot of hotels in Delhi -- next time we'll skip the Imperial.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 728 in New Delhi
2,963 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 728 in New Delhi
2,943 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#36 of 728 in New Delhi
4,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 728 in New Delhi
2,857 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 728 in New Delhi
2,144 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £225 - £548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing