We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in the world”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

If you want to feel like you are back in India during the colonial times, stay at the Imperial. From the moment you walk in, you know you are someplace special. The smell of jasmine rolls over you like a wave of sweetness after braving the streets of Delhi. The hotel houses a beautiful art collection and you can just walk the halls and feel like you are in a museum. The restaurants are fabulous and the service is exceptional. It is an oasis in the chaotic city and a respite from the heat. After a long day of shopping, enjoy a Kir Royale in the conservatory while munching on a lite sandwich. While not as modern as some hotels, there is something so special about this place that is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Singapore_Holly1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,985)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,936 - 1,942 of 2,985 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

We had 'high tea' in the atrium. It was wonderful in terms of service, quality and choice of food, and ambience.Well worth the money at about £15 each. We didn't need to eat any more that day.A marvelous hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed for five days at the Imperial, New Delhi with my husband who was on a business trip and always stays there. Dificult to add to what others have said. It’s a five star hotel with five star service. Lovely, art-deco, post-colonial building with masses of marble. Gorgeous swimming pool. Four restaurants,all good – I especially liked breakfast on the terrace in the 1911 restaurant and for me the Spice Lounge is the best for dinner. Excellent Indian food in wonderful, colourful surroundings.

The staff is invariably friendly, helpful and professional. One night we met the director of catering and hospitality in the comfortable 1911 bar where we had our pre-dinner drinks. His enthusiasm for and knowledge of the hotel was evident. Our evening steward Mr Mohamed, has worked at the hotel for over 20 years and remembered my husband from previous visits.

The Imperial is a wonderful retreat after a day out in the maelstrom of Delhi which is a very full-on and fascinating city of noise, dust, animals, temples, forts, cars, rickshaws, beggars and children. I hope that I’ll be able to stay there again. One of the world’s great hotels and one which also welcoming and helpful. It seems nitpicking to say that I would have liked to have had a full-length mirror in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

during my recent visit to delhi. I stayed in several hotel of reputes in India but Imperial stands out. They are very attentive of your need .rooms are excellent,food was superb and staffs are attentive of our need. by any measure Imperial is best hotel in Delhi by hands down. my next stay will be at Imperial.Please share it with others, Thanks, Sanat Roy,Lincoln,nebraska,USA

Room Tip: heritage room was excellent
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sr0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I went to India for two weeks and started my trip at the Imperial Hotel. Delhi itself is quite hard work, so it was a real pleasure to stay at a place which seemed removed from the hassle and bustle. Staff were very friendly and since I arrived early and my room wasn't ready, they upgraded me to a bigger room. The concierge also organised a good tour of Delhi for me which was informative.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Grand and impressive hotel, that offers you the highest standard of comfort and customer service. Rooms are clean and very large, the beds enormous. Bathrooms are well equipped and again very large. The over all experience is really very special.
The hotel boasts a number of restaurants (you must try the Italian and award winning Thai) Afternoon high tea is also an experience not to missed.
Grounds of the hotel are well kept and the pool glorious.
Just outside hotel is a retail experience (ask concierge to point you in right direction)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

As ever, the management and staff at The Imperial are to be congratulated on their service and hotel facilities. A nine day stay at the hotel whilst on business was just perfect - from the room to the standards of service offered by every member of staff. A very small problem with the room was rectified straight away and I received a hand-written apology and a hotel gift the next morning - completely unnecessary but very much welcomed. I look forward to my return visit in March. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
2,871 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 713 in New Delhi
3,906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 713 in New Delhi
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#27 of 713 in New Delhi
2,779 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £191 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing