We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world elegance with modern trimmings”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 733 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I was so looking forward to staying at The Imperial and it didn’t disappoint. We stayed for 1 night in December prior to our tour of Rajasthan and Kerala.

The check-in was friendly and I loved padding down the scented corridors past art deco furniture, marble floors and being referred to as ma’am. Yes, there are more modern hotels in Delhi but, you really do sense the history at The Imperial, but without having heritage fittings in your room and the service is second to none.

We had a deco room on the second floor. The view was of the atrium so there wasn’t a lot of light but, after an International flight from the UK that was perfect. The location of the room was also very quiet. Inside the fittings were beautiful with art deco touches. There was a slight musty smell on arrival (I find that quite common in hotel rooms in hot countries when there is limited ventilation) and it soon disappeared after having bodies in the room.

That night we had cocktails in the bar and a fabulous dinner at the Spice Route. The food was excellent and the setting sublime. Yes, the prices are way higher than most people think they should be paying because it’s India but, they were no different to any Western 5 Star hotel. The gym is also worth mentioning as it’s one of the best I’ve come across in a hotel.

I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyAnn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,990 - 1,996 of 3,065 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

Our family of 4 had a fabulous stay at this luxurious hotel with old world charm and within walking distance of Connaught Place and not far from Old Delhi. We had charming, spacious, adjoining rooms overlooking the swimming pool and enjoyed strolling the hallways with their antique furniture, paintings, and photographs. Breakfast is great; dinner at Spice Route, with its lovely decor, was overpriced but good. The staff is extremely helpful friendly, almost to a fault. The spa was one of the highlights of our stay. We used the complimentary hot tub and steam room and enjoyed the beautiful marble architecture and great service. The metro construction outside does mean that the front entrance is closed and you have to enter through the back--but we considered this a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking swimming pool offer a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZ08CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed as part of a tour of North India during a friends wedding and were very impressed. The quality of the food and drink was as expected - first rate.

The pedicure was great!

The staff at reception and in the restaurants seemed a little lofty and nonchalant at times, treating different guests with different levels of politeness and respect - which is never good, especially they would have spent years being trained in hospitality, but this would be my only gripe.

Overall, I would encourage all visitors to the capital to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Would not stay anywhere else in Delhi. Best breakfast in Town in a very colonial atmosphere. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Delicious room service menu. Very nice and clean swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights before going on a two week trip to see Tigers and it was excellent. Only small annoyance was overnight building noise from adjacent Dehli Metro being built next to hotel. I mentioned it in feedback. I got a prompt reply from the GM. Whe we came back worse for wear and a bit sick from our trip they had upgraded us to a fantastic suite in a quiet area. This was so so welcome. Not being part of a chain it has still retained the service and attention to detail of the best hotels with many more resources at their disposal.
The concierge was great and had some good recommendations even if we had been to Dehli before.
The breakfast is superb by Indian standards. The bars and restaurants were of a very high standard. The decor is stunning and so much to see.
All in all makes you not want to leave the hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheenaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

A 30 min taxi from old delhi, with advantages and disadvantages. Lovely building , great photos on the walls. service excellent. Beware the road outside is a building site and can be noisy as the Metro is constructed. Many rooms have no view, and although we were upgraded to Junior
suite , with a good sized room, the windows were tiny, and the view non-existent. Be careful.
The main restaurant has inside terrace and verrandah overlooking the gardens. Buffet breakfast and lunch good, the lunch excellent wit tapas style dishes , indian food meat and vegetarian and a chefs station. We ate at the 1911 Restaurant one night and they specially did sauteed foie gras one night and a delightful prawn stuffed with crab. The Italian restaurant is also a high standard but the inside room is dull, the outside area better but cold at night in January . They did have heaters though. Make sure you book if you want to be inside. the Indian restaurant is good as well. Room service 24hrs a day did a 3 course meal on arriaval at 4.00am!!! free bottled water in the room. Ithink I may have wanted to be more "in the action" as it didnt feel like India at all. on a Par with top notch hotels world wide, but not Indian enough in style or its location for the Indian Experience. i would go back.

Room Tip: ask for room with aview. dont get a front road view at present, they are building the Metro. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

rooms are large-separate shower in bathroom-best of all is staff--we went to varanasi for a night leaving luggage at hotel.Weather related problems gave short time for transfer from domestic to international.We were met by hotel staff at airport with luggage and Mr.B.Singh manager-airport helped us into airport,with forms and luggage check-in

Room Tip: third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louis8160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 733 in New Delhi
2,989 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 733 in New Delhi
2,974 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 733 in New Delhi
4,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 733 in New Delhi
2,879 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 733 in New Delhi
2,159 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £214 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing