We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money - a most outstanding stay”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

If you have a little extra money left at the end of your trip (which we did) a night's stay at the Imperial in Delhi is well worth it - it is a classically restored heritage hotel, which has both stayed true to its roots and moved with the times. It is fantastic just to walk around the hotel's public areas and see the fantastic Art Deco architecture and art, as well as spend time in the lovely restaurants, by the beautiful pool or in the fantastic rooms.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was also one of the best I have experienced in any hotel that I have ever stayed in - a massive range, but all top quality and delicious.

It is an expensive place to stay, but I felt it was really worth the money!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahlrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,825 - 1,831 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

We were only in Delhi for the night and although stayed at another hotel, we spent the latter part of the evening in the 1911 bar and restaurant overlooking the floodlit lawns. The service was impeccable. The right balance between attentiveness without being too intrusive. The decor is just jaw-droppingly beautiful and interesting. A far better way to learn about the history of the land than a museum. Food was delicious. A real treat. Magical evening and will definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gaby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This exquisitely restored property is a perfect delight in very way. From the first moment of arrival with the splendidly-attired doorman ushering you into the cool and elegant interior the service is impeccable, the surroundings fabulous and the attention to detail superb. Rooms are enormous and decorated 'British Raj'-style and the well-appointed bathrooms have plenty of the requisite fluffy towels and good-quality amenities. The hotel is tastefully adorned with beautiful antique pieces and plush carpeting, making it a peaceful haven in the bustle of New Delhi, however there is plenty of shopping to be had close by, and there is a nearby dining district.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chinababe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The Imperial isn't one of those glass and aluminum "business hotels" that have proliferated in Delhi over the past five years or so. No. The Imperial is very much an old world hotel that provides truly magnificent service to its guests. My first stay here was in the early 1990's - pre-restoration - and I lived through the many years of jackhammers as the place was restored in what seemed to be innumerable phases. But that's all done now. And what a restoration it is! Sure from the outside it really doesn't look like much but that's part of the Imperial's charm. I've heard that the architecture was modeled after some prince's mauseleum. Be that as it may, inside the Imperial it is all understated but elegant style. I've stayed at many of India's five star hotels but The Imperial is far and away my favorite. The staff is unobtrusive yet they always seem to be right at hand when you need them. And if you ask for help - trust me, you will get it in spades from the Concierge to the cleaning staff. In the nearly 20 years I've stayed at the Imperial I've never ever had a less than stellar experience with the hotel's staff. They are truly wonderful. For me the location is top flight. I love walking to Canought Place, the National Gallery, the Khadi Emporium and all the other nearby attractions. And now the METRO is only a couple of blocks away. True, the Imperial isn't cheap but not any more than the other 5 star hotels in Delhi but none of the others can hold a candle to the Imperial.

Room Tip: During one of the restoration periods I was "upgraded" to the Presidential Suite" at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed there for a day with a few of my friends. Rooms were beautifully designed and decorated. They offer variety of food and I like it so much. Pictures and paintings were really very inspiring. the garden view from room was really good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhagyashree05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

visited what probably is the only "ARTOTEL" (ART HOTEL) in the world 'THE IMPERIAL, NEW DELHI' recently

the worth of the art on display at hotel is at par if not more than the entire value of the sprawling hotel

add to that "World's only swimming pool " with a underwater music system

Spice route- easily among the best 10 restaurants in the world- meal for two @ 10,000/USD 200

and a uber chic/India's toniest board room

their underground SPA has all the ingredients to celebrate special occasion with your spouse

do not get disappointed by the hotel entrance experience which is currently getting killed by the ongoing road construction

very rewarding discovery/also very tiring- the entire show around took over 90 minutes

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeevanjagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights on business but this was fantastic property.

Grand but not prudish, lots of class and courteous staff.

Hotel has amazing collection of rare pictures, paintings and memorabilia from the era bygone.

Definitely worth a stay or five!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guarangd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 727 in New Delhi
2,955 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 727 in New Delhi
2,942 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 727 in New Delhi
4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 727 in New Delhi
2,851 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 727 in New Delhi
2,141 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £229 - £562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing