We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel-stay I ever had”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the best hotel-stay I ever had”
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

very luxurious, top standard service and facilities. Colonial but in a tasteful and not too heavy way. Gym absolute world-class in equipment selection and luxurious ambience. Pool and pool-side very spacious but exposed to busy main-road traffic noise. Cannot imagine that I'd get tired of the amazing selection and quality of the breakfast buffet in a month! Spa superb. Room on arrival a bit stuffy due to monsoon dampness but was fixed with scent from oil-lamp. Excellent value for money. Would go back any day for business or pleasure; this is the new benchmark for all my future travels (previously Traders, KL)

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Floh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,037
    556
    189
    86
    42
See reviews for
415
1,095
221
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Staŷed twice now. Very well appointed hotel with some great decor. Very friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Very smooth airport transfers to/from airport even with late running inbound flight. Good breakfast spread. Ate twice in Daniell's Tavern - really tasty and authentic Indian dishes at reasonable prices. Comfy bedrooms. Both the Patiala Peg and the 1911 bars are very atmospheric and good for pre/post dinner drinks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

All the superlatives have been used about the fabulous art deco surroundings, the delicious food, the great location and the comfortable rooms but I would like to mention the warmth of the service. Perhaps I was expecting a trifle on the stuffy side but thankfully that was not the case. The Imperial staff were welcoming and genuinely proud to be working in such a glorious property. The lovely maitre'd of the Spice Route gave us an illuminating guide to the artwork and layout of this beautiful restaurant.
Even with some minor room refurbishment going on in the property, our stay was a delight. My only regret is that our 3 days passed so quickly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamingSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Elegance, history, luxury, comfort, beauty, art, food, service....and the list can go on and on....It is deffenetly the BEST hotel I have ever stayed! We travel lot and usually stay in 5 stars hotels around the world but The Grand Old Lady as they like to call this fine fine property is one of its kind. We stayd in the Grand Heritage Room, timeless elegance, comfort and beauty!
The spa is fantastic too. Well worth the money!

Room Tip: The Grand Heritage Room was fantastic but I am sure any room you stay in is just as beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatianaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

One of my favourite hotels in India. The heritage rooms are comfortably colonial, bathrooms spacious. Deco suites are beautiful and luxurious. Service is usually quite prompt and efficient. The choice of restaurants is great, some of the best dining in Delhi. Love the breakfast spread - a definite highlight of the day. The location is perfect, it is fun to walk along Janpath and visit the Tibetan market, lots of trinkets to be found.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Imperial exceeded all our expectations. Our room was spacious and comfortable, extremely good mattress and pillow library to go with it - good aircon, Bose TV, writing desk with stationary, a complimentary fruit bowl on arrival, lovely bathroom with hot water 24/7, and all amenities. Service in all the restaurants was faultless. The atmosphere in the hotel was friendly and felt boutique - it didn't feel like a big hotel at all. The art and interior decoration is a fine balance between colonial nostalgia and modern chic. Spa was also highly recommended and yoga at the health club. So lovely we hardly went out!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExperienceKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

If you have a little extra money left at the end of your trip (which we did) a night's stay at the Imperial in Delhi is well worth it - it is a classically restored heritage hotel, which has both stayed true to its roots and moved with the times. It is fantastic just to walk around the hotel's public areas and see the fantastic Art Deco architecture and art, as well as spend time in the lovely restaurants, by the beautiful pool or in the fantastic rooms.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was also one of the best I have experienced in any hotel that I have ever stayed in - a massive range, but all top quality and delicious.

It is an expensive place to stay, but I felt it was really worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahlrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 716 in New Delhi
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,698 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing