We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Grand Hotel in the heart of Delhi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #8 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grand Hotel in the heart of Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just a one night stay, but enjoyed the friendly and very helpful service. Check-in quick and very welcoming, spacious room, feels very homely. Excellent beds, great bathroom, separate walk-in closet. Reliable, free "regular" internet. Breakfast is average for a 5star deluxe, nothing to complain, but no highlights. Real colonial bar is a must, the "Brasserie" great for a casual dinner with excellent food, try the Himalayan trout...:)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olbra555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s extremely satisfying to note that you had a memorable stay and we are grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the same.

I'm glad to note that you enjoyed the friendly and warm service and appreciated the spacious rooms and décor. We have recently introduced ‘free’ normal speed internet which is much appreciated by our guests. I do regret to note that you did not relish the breakfast spread as much and would like to extend my apologies for the same. Though the menu varies every day, I have communicated the same to our chef who shall look into further scope of enhancement.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,953
    535
    184
    79
    38
See reviews for
399
1,055
211
631
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

"One of the few non-multistoried hotels in the heart of New Delhi’s Jan Path, The Imperial, as the name suggests, is stately. Laid out spaciously, the hotel is nestled amidst gardens and boasts of a nice pool. The rooms are, of course, royal. The spread of cuisine is there but prices run too steep. The location is simply superb and you are able to visit Jama Masjid, Rajghat, India Gate and Red Fort easily as they are just within six kilometers from the hotel.
If you are a single lady on a business tour or seeking solitude, then the hotel is just for you. Apart from all the safety features provided for the single lady guest, the lady would be able to quickly hop across to Chandni Chowk, nearby, and feast on the myriad of products on sale. "

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s extremely satisfying to note that you had a memorable stay and we are grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the same. I'm glad to note that you enjoyed your stay in the Eliza room which has been specially designed for our single lady guests.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

So after 3 weeks traveling in India, we thought it would be fun to have high tea at the Imperial. What a mistake! Tea in tea bags, not even a pot on the table. No cake stand. Buffet style. However the scones were delightful. But for a world class hotel the Imperial needs to take a look at the Peninsula in Hong Kong, Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok or Gleneagles in Scotland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rosemary767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I have noted your feedback and am surprised to note your disappointment.

Please be assured that we offer highest level of high tea experience to our guests, and the same is much appreciated all around the world. With regards to your feedback, I would like to inform you that we do high tea in buffet style for the weekends and it has been appreciated by lots of guests and has wide variety to choose from along with the hot snacks. However, we do high tea on stands on week days. We don’t leave the tea pots on table for high tea orders because the staff is instructed to refill it with hot tea and there are instances when guests like to change the tea and try another variety. I do regret that you did not appreciate this format of service and do hope that you come back on a weekday and experience the usual high tea experience as you had expected.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Senior Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Love heaps of thing about this hotel.

New Dehli is more organized than our expectation, it's a green city. The hotel just a few minutes walk to local market. If you can, take a trip to Old Dehli to see the real India.

I love everything about hotel decoration, I feel like staying a museum. Many staff are friendly and helpful. The reception could be a bit better, they are not so friendly as others, I guess coz it's busy but we love an old guy who always walk around the lobby helping with newspapers, he was really nice.

Cheers

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sokny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s a pleasure to note that you had a memorable stay and we are grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the same. I'm glad to note that you appreciated the hotel décor and its proximity with the local market.

I regret to note that you found our reception staff less friendly as they were busy. Let me assure you that each and every staff member is warm and helpful alongside being professional and responsible. I do hope you will consider this as an exception and not let it influence your perception.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I enjoyed this hotel because it has personality… from the age of the structure, to the uniforms of the staff, to the layout of my hotel room, and the historical art and photos that adorn most interior wall spaces. This hotel is a nice change from the high-rise, overly commercial hotels that I usually stay at.

The excellent level service was very impressive.

I’m looking forward to staying there again the next time I travel to New Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbengwi_RPCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s a pleasure to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and we are grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the same.

I am glad that you have noted details like the uniforms, layout and the décor. We derive encouragement from appreciative guests like you.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I must say that the Imperial has the strangest security policies of any hotel i have stayed at...i was sketching the wonderful building facade and was informed that the hotel has a no sketching or photography "rule". Its apparently too close to the parliament where i was sketching yesterday...I stopped of course but imagine my surprise when i saw the millions of photographs fellow travellers had submitted on Tripadvisor...totally ruined my stay...last time i stay at the Imperial...which is really too bad...

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ShashiRaghunandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Mr. Raghunandan,

Greetings from The Imperial!

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.

I have noted your feedback regarding your unhappiness with not being allowed to make a sketch of the hotel building. I regret the inconvenience caused to you due to this. However I’d like to inform you that such policies are meant to ensure the safety and security of our guests and employees and are followed by all hotels of similar level.

As a security measure, we do not allow such pictures and sketches to be taken which show the hotel layout, its entry and exit points. It’s a possible security hazard and we have trained our staff to remain extra vigilant after a few unfortunate incidents that happened in the past in other hotels.

We do allow pictures to be taken inside the building, in the dining area, lobby, next to the flower arrangement or next to the vintage car. Please be assured that our staff was only following the security protocol and this remains the same for all guests.

I have taken this up with the concerned staff and briefed the security department to be more discreet in communicating such rules to our honorable guests. I would like to assure you that such rules are standard for everyone and it is only to assure the safety and comfort of all our guests and not to be a cause of their inconvenience. I hope you would understand the sensitivity of the policy and not let this incident influence your perception of the Imperial.

We value your patronage. I look forward to welcoming you back home!

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our delegation stayed at the Imperial where we hosted an event. The hotel is incredible- majestic in so many ways, from the colonial decor (the hotel was built in the 1930's) to the impeccable service by well-trained, hospitable, beautifully-uniformed staff; sumptuous breakfast buffet, excellent spa and gym facilities (great swimming pool). Easy access to Connaught Place ('CP') shopping area, and nearby cottage industry shops for local crafts. It is, quite simply, a remarkable hotel with impeccable credentials- I look forward to going back to stay one day.

Room Tip: First floor Garden view room had a nice view of the east (?) lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carcasailles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. VP & GM at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback about The Imperial.
I'm glad that you had a wonderful stay and thoroughly enjoyed our facilities. I feel extremely elated by your kind appreciation of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.
Thank you
Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. VP & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing