We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary staff, great location and beautiful architecture”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #12 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Imperial may not be what it once was, but its location, and incredible staff still hold a standard of excellence. They are attentive and particular about finding the very best, whether this is through dining (if you meet Mukesh Jha), in reservations management (Rohit Bhandari) or the tremendous spa staff. I am always happy to return to a place that makes you feel as if you're at home and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Day2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words. The Imperial takes pride in living up to its name since 1931 and its biggest strength is the staff who make it happen every day. I am grateful for your appreciation for our team members and recognizing them for their effort. Your feedback has been greatly motivating for our team and shall encourage them to work even harder.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 3,106 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel but not what it is advertised as. Rated as a five star luxury hotel it falls short. We checked in at 1 am after 18 hours of travel, therefore taking the room the have us for the necessity of a comfortable bed. And yes, the bed was comfortable. Two of us checked in and there was 1 bar of soap, 1 pair of slippers, 1 bathroom, 1 chair...you get the picture. That ok if you are in a 3 star but not in a 5 star. Ratings have to mean something.

The staff is very friendly but not able to properly direct clients. We wanted to take a yoga class and on Sat. Evening asked the concierge about the Sunday schedule. "No class on Sunday M'am." Disappointing but oh well. The next day we see a little card in our room, private yoga available. Had we been offered that option we would have taken it.

We had a similar half complete service experiences at tea time, at breakfast, and in the business centre. So stay here only if you like the location and don't mind paying the price for a 5 star but expect the service and accommodation of a 4 star.

BTW, the paintings are worth seeing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eviactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience you had to face. The standard set up for the room is according to single occupancy but the amenities are added if there is double occupancy. Please be assured that this is just an exception as the room was allocated to you at the last moment due to technical reasons. The housekeeping did provide you all the amenities according to double occupancy soon after. Once again I apologize for the inconvenience and have taken strict measures to ensure that similar confusions are not repeated. I am also disappointed to note that certain information was not completely passed on to you which I again deeply regret.

I do hope that you will not let this influence your original perception for the Imperial and give us another opportunity to serve you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very nicely appointed deluxe guest rooms which compare very favorably to Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton properties we have stayed at frequently. We were there for a professional conference, and the facilities were excellent for our group of about 30 people, the feeling was very luxurious along with the touch of British Era.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gautam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for Your feedback. I am delighted to note your appreciation for the guest rooms and other services. I am glad to have succeeded in delivering as per and beyond your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was visited with my family. And that was a nice experience. All the family members are enjoyed soo much. I stayed here for three days. The room was excellent and the service was gorgeous. Also the tests of foods is awesome. Keep it up guys...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahillucknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you back home.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Everything about this hotel was amazing. Walking around the beautiful grounds, you feel like you've been transformed to the elegant old world. All of the restaurants were gourmet especially the Italian restaurant. I custom ordered different things every night and the chef always impressed me. The staff is wonderful from the older man in the lobby that greets you to the attentive waiters at breakfast. I would highly recommend this to everyone looking for an elegant experience. I visited the Oberoi and the Taj and the Imperial was superior.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixiegal2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

I am extremely elated to note your kindest words of appreciation and praise for The Imperial. Your feedback is a great motivation for the team. Patrons like you make our efforts seem worthwhile.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Imperial is a majestic property reflecting the grandeur of the 1930's centrally located in the center of New Delhi. The unique architecture and interior provides a uniquely New Delhi experience as opposed to another big city hotel. The arrival at the hotel can be a little disconcerting. There is significant construction of a new metro station on the arrival street blocking most of the street, followed by a high security checkpoint as you enter the Imperial property. Once inside the property everything changes the service is top notch, the public spaces and rooms are quite elegant, and the breakfast buffet is possibly the best in India. There are 4 active restaurants and a full service gym on the property.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conradsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments. I am glad to note that you had a memorable stay.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Imperial is an incredible hotel. The service is fantastic, the rooms are beautiful, and the breakfast at 1911 Cafe is literally the best breakfast I've ever had. The grounds are romantic and a nice break from the hustle and bustle of New Delhi. It's also in a great location, near Connaught Place, the metro, and a fifteen minute walk to Old Delhi. There's also a great spa and fitness center. My wife and I came here on our honeymoon and were extremely happy with the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments. I am glad to note that you had a memorable stay.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,037 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,057 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 777 in New Delhi
4,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#28 of 777 in New Delhi
2,936 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 777 in New Delhi
2,199 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £201 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing