We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imperial ~ redefining luxury”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Imperial ~ redefining luxury”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I am regular vistor to the hotel , & over the years i have seen this hotel change from best to the besets , the service was phenomenal at san him special mention to mr rawaat the manager at san gim. The staff is the best in the class i travel the world and if anyone can beat a oberoi clan that would have to be THE IMPERIAL NEW DELHI .

Few Staff people i would like to mention would be
MR ALTON JOHN ( FRONT DESK )
MS NIDHI RAWAT really made us comfortable all the staff was over my expectations

MR wanchoo good work !! ONCE A HOLD ALWAYS A OCLD .
GOOD . APPRECIATED

Room Tip: 1991 is awesome .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulraj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise for our staff and service. Your feedback is a great motivation for the team!

Thank you once again. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,037
    556
    189
    86
    42
See reviews for
415
1,095
221
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This must be many visitors first impression of India (as it was our ours) and the Imperial really camps it up, making you feel like the Queen of Sheba. For a city centre hotel it is lavishly laid out, supremely comfortable and has a lovely pool area. The spa is great and the food which we had was first class. It is not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uplifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise for our property, service, food and staff!

Your patronage is valuable to us.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A group of us recently visited India and The Imperial was our first hotel stay. After a 15hr flight from Australia, it was a delight to arrive to this, not striking building (my opinion), sort of a bit art-deco in design. Once past security (a sign of the times in India these days), we entered a magnificient, elegant, palatial etc. etc. lobby. We were presented with a beautiful flower lei, drink. Shown to our rooms, as it was already evening, my room was turned-down for night... slippers, water beside bed... all ready for me to crash! It was beautiful, classy, old world luxurious room. I had a separate changing room and bathroom. The insignia on the toweling and bathroom toilettries, all rather up-market. We stayed here on arrival into Delhi and on departure, both occassions I had a room facing the front driveway. The Imperial is popular for functions and several occurred during our stay, so if you can get a room towards the front, I am sure you will have a peaceful night. However, those in our group at the back, did not find it too much of a distraction. Ample choices in the breakfast area... my omelettes were made just the way I like them. One morning there was no salted lassi, however, no problem, the chef made one for me! Beautiful gardens (smallish) and lovely pool/spa. On our departure day back to Australia, we treated ourselves to high tea in the atrium (about AUD30pp, all you could eat), very good value and plenty of choices. My only shock, or maybe dissappointment is cost of alcohol in India... for example a glass of wine, foreign or domestic (the hotels really push local wines from Sula Satori), costs around R700; then you add 20% VAT and service, my glasses of wine cost around AUD18 each! Gin and Tonics marginally cheaper... It's a bit messy in the street out front, due to the metro line being built.... am sure the Imperial cannot wait for it to be finished! Is The Imperial worth a stay .... most definately

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit of a walk from the lifts, but I think that is a minor issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback ! I am glad to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your kind acknowledgement of the same.

Your patronage is valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel and grounds are just what you'd expect from an historic hotel. The grounds, building, and art in the hallways were just beautiful and different. We felt very comfortable at this hotel. The service was fine. It wasn't the greatest we've ever had and it was far from the worst. Our room was comfortable. Though it was a corner room so slightly larger, it was on the front of the hotel where we could hear activity on the driveway throughout the day. Looking forward to returning the next time we're in Delhi!

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the front drive are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback ! I am glad to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your kind acknowledgement of the same.

Your patronage is valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at Imperial upon arriving and leaving Delhi three weeks later and found it a wonderful introduction into the wonders of India and concept of Indian hospitality, which has to be one of the highest in the world. Could not find fault with any aspect of our stay and we sincerely appreciated the attention, courtesy and kindness shown to us by every member of the hotel staff.

We liked it so much we've written two posts about it at greater length on our blog and would be happy to answer any questions our experience. Nothing but praise for this incredibly well managed and beautifully maintained property!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeandHeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback and praise about the Imperial! I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your kind acknowledgement of the same.

Your patronage is valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in the Imperial on our first night in India. Expectation was high as we knew that this was probably the best hotel in Delhi and on arrival we were not disappointed. The service was first class when checking in and the young lady who escorted us to our room was very courteous and knowledgeable.

The room was very comfortable and all we had hoped for. It overlooked some of the gardens where there appeared to be some construction work going on to build a stage (I later found out it was for a Tata car launch) .

No problem as construction work does stop, HOWEVER at 2am in the morning there were still people working on this stage, hammering wooden frames together and generally creating a ridiculous amount of noise for that time of the night. Surely the aims of any hotel are to do everything in their power to ensure that their guests have a restful night, constructing a stage at 2am isn't achieving this objective.

The breakfast was superb, the best we had anywhere during our three week stay in India.

If this stage construction situation hadn't occured, I would have no hesitation in giving the Imperial 5 stars. Sadly though this left us with a very mixed opinion of the Imperial.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanm1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a generous feedback about our facilities and staff. I deeply regret and am genuinely troubled that the Tata event had caused so much distress to you, our valuable guest. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We do seek another opportunity to be able to provide you a truly memorable experience.

Your patronage is valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is almost young because it was built in the second quarter of the 20th century and reflects the European architecture dominated in that times. Pure lines of the French Art Deco will accompany you during your stay. Nice breakfast room with the both inside, verandah and outside sitting give you the additional time either for the business talk and a friendly conversation. Rooms are comfortable enough but a little bit old fashioned.

Room Tip: Taste the sweets choice from the hotel confectionary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max120368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback about the beauty, architecture and ambience. We value your patronage & look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,799 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 716 in New Delhi
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,701 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing