We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Centre Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #8 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“City Centre Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was the first time to India for us and we stayed here for 2 nights straight off the overnighter from London. First impressions were of understated opulence and very efficient friendly service. We were given an upgrade to room 103 which is a suite. The sitting room was large and beautifully furnished, a good sized bathroom and dressing area and nice bedroom. The downside was only a rather small window overlooking an enclosed courtyard. Pity we had no view but the rooms themselves were very clean with nice luxury touches. The Bang and Olufsen television was very good but we struggled to find the volume controls! We took a late lunch in our room and it was very quick to arrive, well presented and delicious.

Pre-dinner drinks at the Patiala Peg bar were fine but it is small and though nicely furnished, didn't have a lot of atmosphere. For our first dinner here we ate in the 'Spice Route' restaurant and had a superb meal, beautifully served. A knowledgeable and attentive restaurant manager not only helped us understand the menu options and the spiciness of certain dishes. He asked after the first course how we would like the main course 'paced' and subsequently slowed down the delivery to suit us. Now that is very good service.

Although the weather was cool we did get out into the pool area which was very nice with good changing rooms just inside the main building close by. On our second night we had drinks in the 1911 bar which is larger and brighter and liked it very much. We ate in Daniell's Tavern, the Indian cuisine restaurant interestingly themed around the travels of two British painters. With a live kitchen to watch and different dishes to explore this was a great experience with some terrific food and again, beautiful service. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice.

All in all a very, very good hotel, excellent service and if you like good food, you'll not be disappointed. We'll be back I hope.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the food, service and facilities at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,955
    535
    184
    79
    38
See reviews for
400
1,056
211
631
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

In January 2014, we were fortunate to spend 2 nights in a suite at the beautiful Imperial hotel in Delhi. This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The suite, the butler, the service all around was exceptional. It was a wonderful way to start our 16 day tour of Northern India. The Imperial introduced us to the outstanding hospitality of the Indian people. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, not too soft or too hard, just perfect. There was plenty of room in the living room of the suite to entertain guests. Everything was spotlessly clean.

We enjoyed the service and drinks in the Bar 1911. The servers couldn't do enough for us.

A lavish, delicious, breakfast buffet was served in Restaurant 1911. This is where I enjoyed my first cup of morning Chai Masala, a habit I continued throughout the trip. This was also the best breakfast buffet of our trip.

Our first dinner was in the Italian restaurant where service reigned supreme! Food was good as well.

Our second dinner was in the Spice Route, a highly acclaimed restaurant. Unfortunately this was the only thing we were not happy with. I suppose we read so much about this restaurant, it was truly a let down, service and food wise. The decor of the restaurant is amazing.

Take some time to wander the halls and appreciate the art work through out the hotel. There is much to see and appreciate.

I can highly recommend The Imperial Hotel and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOF/A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise for our property, food and service.

I have noted your disappointment with your experience at The Spice Route and would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Please treat it as an exception to our otherwise high standards of product & service. I do hope we are able to change your perception on your next visit.

Your positive feedback is a great motivation for the team!

Thank you once again. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I am regular vistor to the hotel , & over the years i have seen this hotel change from best to the besets , the service was phenomenal at san him special mention to mr rawaat the manager at san gim. The staff is the best in the class i travel the world and if anyone can beat a oberoi clan that would have to be THE IMPERIAL NEW DELHI .

Few Staff people i would like to mention would be
MR ALTON JOHN ( FRONT DESK )
MS NIDHI RAWAT really made us comfortable all the staff was over my expectations

MR wanchoo good work !! ONCE A HOLD ALWAYS A OCLD .
GOOD . APPRECIATED

Room Tip: 1991 is awesome .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulraj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise for our staff and service. Your feedback is a great motivation for the team!

Thank you once again. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This must be many visitors first impression of India (as it was our ours) and the Imperial really camps it up, making you feel like the Queen of Sheba. For a city centre hotel it is lavishly laid out, supremely comfortable and has a lovely pool area. The spa is great and the food which we had was first class. It is not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uplifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise for our property, service, food and staff!

Your patronage is valuable to us.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A group of us recently visited India and The Imperial was our first hotel stay. After a 15hr flight from Australia, it was a delight to arrive to this, not striking building (my opinion), sort of a bit art-deco in design. Once past security (a sign of the times in India these days), we entered a magnificient, elegant, palatial etc. etc. lobby. We were presented with a beautiful flower lei, drink. Shown to our rooms, as it was already evening, my room was turned-down for night... slippers, water beside bed... all ready for me to crash! It was beautiful, classy, old world luxurious room. I had a separate changing room and bathroom. The insignia on the toweling and bathroom toilettries, all rather up-market. We stayed here on arrival into Delhi and on departure, both occassions I had a room facing the front driveway. The Imperial is popular for functions and several occurred during our stay, so if you can get a room towards the front, I am sure you will have a peaceful night. However, those in our group at the back, did not find it too much of a distraction. Ample choices in the breakfast area... my omelettes were made just the way I like them. One morning there was no salted lassi, however, no problem, the chef made one for me! Beautiful gardens (smallish) and lovely pool/spa. On our departure day back to Australia, we treated ourselves to high tea in the atrium (about AUD30pp, all you could eat), very good value and plenty of choices. My only shock, or maybe dissappointment is cost of alcohol in India... for example a glass of wine, foreign or domestic (the hotels really push local wines from Sula Satori), costs around R700; then you add 20% VAT and service, my glasses of wine cost around AUD18 each! Gin and Tonics marginally cheaper... It's a bit messy in the street out front, due to the metro line being built.... am sure the Imperial cannot wait for it to be finished! Is The Imperial worth a stay .... most definately

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit of a walk from the lifts, but I think that is a minor issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback ! I am glad to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your kind acknowledgement of the same.

Your patronage is valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel and grounds are just what you'd expect from an historic hotel. The grounds, building, and art in the hallways were just beautiful and different. We felt very comfortable at this hotel. The service was fine. It wasn't the greatest we've ever had and it was far from the worst. Our room was comfortable. Though it was a corner room so slightly larger, it was on the front of the hotel where we could hear activity on the driveway throughout the day. Looking forward to returning the next time we're in Delhi!

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the front drive are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback ! I am glad to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your kind acknowledgement of the same.

Your patronage is valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at Imperial upon arriving and leaving Delhi three weeks later and found it a wonderful introduction into the wonders of India and concept of Indian hospitality, which has to be one of the highest in the world. Could not find fault with any aspect of our stay and we sincerely appreciated the attention, courtesy and kindness shown to us by every member of the hotel staff.

We liked it so much we've written two posts about it at greater length on our blog and would be happy to answer any questions our experience. Nothing but praise for this incredibly well managed and beautifully maintained property!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeandHeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback and praise about the Imperial! I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your kind acknowledgement of the same.

Your patronage is valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing