We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 733 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for our first two days in India. Opulent surroundings, lovely staff, good food. We enjoyed Spice Route one night and Bhukkara at ITC second night. brilliant food and fun.
Only mark down is the hotel charging for wifi, which is a necessity rather than a luxury for most. They even stopped me at 5am to pay 300 rupees for a few minute connection that morning.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the décor and service at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience due to the internet. We offer free internet usage of 512 kbps to all our resident guests unless they select another plan of more data usage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,348 - 1,354 of 3,064 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

What a lovely stay we had last week. Amazing service and a beautiful hotel with a lot of history .
Each floor was representing a different city in India . The whole hotel smells wonderful , so we bought the same jasmine oil they use and we are enjoying the lovely fragrance at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parmila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the décor and service at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What an introduction to India.

We were met and charmed by our driver who showed us the sites of his city driving in from the airport. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival. Breakfast was a feat - warmed croissants easily to London standards. for supper, we ate so well in Daniell's - Indian food from the Raj, with live - but not intrusive- Indian music and singing. We had complimentary yoga in the spa - what a wonderful teacher with us, very awkward 60 year olds. The concierge and security staff were exemplary.

And all this on top of the beauty and history of the property so centrally situated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London-Silver-Tongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the Property, food, service and our staff at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The main problem with this hotel is that the Metro is currently being built right along outside. This makes moving outside the hotel a problem. However, the service is exceptional, the food excellent and the room we had was very good for a city hotel.
The Imperial certainly has a contemporary colonial style and the bar has atmosphere.The public areas are impressive with a wealth of 18th and 19th century art.
We were there on Valentine's night and every restaurant had a Valentine's special which we didn't want. After some negotiation we got what we wanted but, although this was only one night of the year, I don't think we should have had to go through hoops to get what we wanted.
There was a function on which made the room quite noisy (2nd floor) but this did finish at a sensible time although we were tired having just arrived on a UK flight.
Overall, a beautiful Hotel but, to be honest we would probably have preferred the Taj or Leela.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the food, service and facilities at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage. I regret to note your disappointment with your experience on valentines night and would like to extend my deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to make up for the unpleasant experience and will not let it affect your perception about The Imperial.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was the first time to India for us and we stayed here for 2 nights straight off the overnighter from London. First impressions were of understated opulence and very efficient friendly service. We were given an upgrade to room 103 which is a suite. The sitting room was large and beautifully furnished, a good sized bathroom and dressing area and nice bedroom. The downside was only a rather small window overlooking an enclosed courtyard. Pity we had no view but the rooms themselves were very clean with nice luxury touches. The Bang and Olufsen television was very good but we struggled to find the volume controls! We took a late lunch in our room and it was very quick to arrive, well presented and delicious.

Pre-dinner drinks at the Patiala Peg bar were fine but it is small and though nicely furnished, didn't have a lot of atmosphere. For our first dinner here we ate in the 'Spice Route' restaurant and had a superb meal, beautifully served. A knowledgeable and attentive restaurant manager not only helped us understand the menu options and the spiciness of certain dishes. He asked after the first course how we would like the main course 'paced' and subsequently slowed down the delivery to suit us. Now that is very good service.

Although the weather was cool we did get out into the pool area which was very nice with good changing rooms just inside the main building close by. On our second night we had drinks in the 1911 bar which is larger and brighter and liked it very much. We ate in Daniell's Tavern, the Indian cuisine restaurant interestingly themed around the travels of two British painters. With a live kitchen to watch and different dishes to explore this was a great experience with some terrific food and again, beautiful service. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice.

All in all a very, very good hotel, excellent service and if you like good food, you'll not be disappointed. We'll be back I hope.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the food, service and facilities at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

In January 2014, we were fortunate to spend 2 nights in a suite at the beautiful Imperial hotel in Delhi. This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The suite, the butler, the service all around was exceptional. It was a wonderful way to start our 16 day tour of Northern India. The Imperial introduced us to the outstanding hospitality of the Indian people. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, not too soft or too hard, just perfect. There was plenty of room in the living room of the suite to entertain guests. Everything was spotlessly clean.

We enjoyed the service and drinks in the Bar 1911. The servers couldn't do enough for us.

A lavish, delicious, breakfast buffet was served in Restaurant 1911. This is where I enjoyed my first cup of morning Chai Masala, a habit I continued throughout the trip. This was also the best breakfast buffet of our trip.

Our first dinner was in the Italian restaurant where service reigned supreme! Food was good as well.

Our second dinner was in the Spice Route, a highly acclaimed restaurant. Unfortunately this was the only thing we were not happy with. I suppose we read so much about this restaurant, it was truly a let down, service and food wise. The decor of the restaurant is amazing.

Take some time to wander the halls and appreciate the art work through out the hotel. There is much to see and appreciate.

I can highly recommend The Imperial Hotel and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOF/A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise for our property, food and service.

I have noted your disappointment with your experience at The Spice Route and would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Please treat it as an exception to our otherwise high standards of product & service. I do hope we are able to change your perception on your next visit.

Your positive feedback is a great motivation for the team!

Thank you once again. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I am regular vistor to the hotel , & over the years i have seen this hotel change from best to the besets , the service was phenomenal at san him special mention to mr rawaat the manager at san gim. The staff is the best in the class i travel the world and if anyone can beat a oberoi clan that would have to be THE IMPERIAL NEW DELHI .

Few Staff people i would like to mention would be
MR ALTON JOHN ( FRONT DESK )
MS NIDHI RAWAT really made us comfortable all the staff was over my expectations

MR wanchoo good work !! ONCE A HOLD ALWAYS A OCLD .
GOOD . APPRECIATED

Room Tip: 1991 is awesome .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahulraj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise for our staff and service. Your feedback is a great motivation for the team!

Thank you once again. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 733 in New Delhi
2,989 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 733 in New Delhi
2,972 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 733 in New Delhi
4,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 733 in New Delhi
2,879 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 733 in New Delhi
2,159 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £214 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing