We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence in India”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Opulence in India”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This grand colonial hotel has been extensively renovated to provide first class accommodation in the heart of the city. Service is good and the rooms are of a high standard. My only gripe is that a great deal of the old colonial character of the hotel has been lost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful comments. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,037
    556
    189
    86
    42
See reviews for
415
1,095
221
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Four of us stayed three nights 22–24 February 2014 could not fault the hotel but unfortunately we choose to celebrate our coming three week holiday in india by eating at the supposed top restaurant the Spice Route within the Imperial Hotel, we came down with sever diarrhoea and for me vomiting as well overnight and the next morning, I am still suffering and spent a lot of the holiday in bed and could only eat plain rice.
Avoid at all cost unless you want to loss a lot of weight.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doichuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I would request you to share your details with me at vwanchoo@theimperialindia.com as I would like to investigate on the matter and thus require more inputs from you. We have a Food safety and hygiene lab where food samples get tested regularly and I assure you that we are very particular about the hygiene and safety standards of the food we serve.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A unique combination of luxury while keeping a warm sence of hospitality.
We have stayed in this hotel for the last day of our trip in India and now we wish we have stayed there for more than that!.
The room was absolutly amazing - well designed and very clean.
Service is fabulous and very pleasant.
We tried the italian resturant in the hotel. it was also great and very genuine
One last thing... we have booked the superior room and have been upgraded to the suite (no extra charge). a nice surprise :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shlomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful comments. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Your feedback is very motivating for our staff.

Thank you once again. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

A class of its own, elegant and full of charm this hotel is a happy fusion between tradition and modern needs. Great service and good restaurants, with the famous 1911 overlooking and extending into a big garden. I loved details such as the art deco lifts. And the halls, that are bright and coloured and big enough to be imposing but still proportioned far from todays Grand Hotels that remind more about shopping centres or air terminals rather than a place where to enjoy a stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marconiada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful comments. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is simply a beautiful and stunning hotel in New Delhi and definitely among one if India's finest.

A very welcoming lobby to start off with and I simply love the rooms. Spacious and very well maintained, felt like living in a palace. The bed is very comfortable and with the high ceilings and non-carpeted flooring (not sure if it is marble or not) also make it very homely and cosy. Absolutely love the spacious bathroom with separate bathtub and shower. Housekeeping and laundry service was good too. Clean and fresh linens and very good laundry service too. Had 2 shirts laundered and very nicely laundered and pressed. 5 Stars!

Was almost 11pm or midnight and there were still very loud AV noise from the wedding, but luckily it only lasted for like 5 minutes, but hey, this is India and weddings are a big thing there!

Breakfast at 1911 was good too. Adequate spread and accompanied with good service.

Nice swimming pool as well and I love the spa too with jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Wish I has more time to try out the massage and service.

I would like to stay in this hotel again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the courtyard aka the wedding grounds so that you will be away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JevJev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful comments. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Cracking hotel with bundles of Colonial charm and Indian Heritage. A lovely bustling hotel with spacious clean rooms - cracking restaurants for lunch and dinner - and a splendid quality of staff more than happy to help. The Pool area is lovely with the echo of
Prayers over the speakers will either relax or irritate - I like on this quick break and the location is perfect for exploring both Old and New Delhi

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loftie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad to note that you had a lovely stay with us.
The team will be elated and motivated to read your feedback.

Your patronage is valuable to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I had spent the last two months backpacking our way round India staying in all sorts of cheap local accommodation. At the end of our adventure we spoilt ourselves with a two night stay at the Imperial Hotel New Delhi.
It was magnificent. We were greeted at reception with a warm welcome and two fragrant chilled hand towels. We were told that we had been upgraded from a Grand Heritage Room to an Art Deco suite free of charge. Wow that never happens to us. The receptionist then showed us to our room giving us a short synopsis of the history of the Hotel and pointed out various items of interest including the various themed restaurants. We reached our room which was just what we had expected and more. We had a separate living room with settee and chairs a large flat screen TV and writing desk. The spacious bedroom had a huge soft bed with sumptuous fluffy pillows. The bathroom had a separate shower room and toilet. There was another separate area with a dressing table for my wife with a film star mirror surrounded by dimmable light bulbs. There was a second bathroom that we had missed on our first look round. My wife found it ten minutes later and shouted we've got two bathrooms .It is a truly magnificent hotel bursting with character and Olde Worlde charm but with slick modern overtones. The staff are very courteous friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. It's a pleasure to talk to them.

We spent most of our time relaxing by the beautifully clear swimming pool and did not take advantage of the extensive spa facilities.

The first night we ate in the Spice Route Restaurant which was a very memorable occasion the food and wine was expensive but worth every rupee. The second night we ate in the 1911 Restaurant and there was no problem getting a curry even though it was not on their menu. The waiter quietly said that's on our Coffee Shop Menu Sir let me get a copy for you.

It was a refreshing change from the rest of India that nobody but nobody at the hotel neither asked or even expected a tip.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Yes it's expensive but worth every penny. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anth6ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a delightful description of your experience at The Imperial. I am elated to note that you had a wonderful stay and cherished every bit of it. Your lovely comments will be a great motivation for the team.

Your patronage is valuable to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,799 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 716 in New Delhi
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,701 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,748 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing