We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #9 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great position (easy to reach most sights), great staff, ( always keen to help) biggest swimming pool around, and great choice at breakfast.
This hotel gives all, and the afternoon tea is to die for, served in the tranquil surrounds of an indoor cool atrium. the pool area is always spotless and pool is not only great, but there is the biggest hottest Jacuzzi I have ever seen or been in.
We stayed both at the beginning and at the end of our trip through Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, and could not have began and ended our trip better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worker033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad to note your appreciation for the wonderful facilities, atmosphere, location and the warmth & friendliness of the staff at The Imperial. I am especially happy that you enjoyed the atrium, the pool & Jacuzzi.

We thank you for your patronage & look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,989
    540
    186
    83
    41
See reviews for
411
1,071
214
637
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a beautiful 5-star hotel with wonderful facilities and lots of atmosphere, but what sets it apart is the genuinely friendly welcome from the staff who go out of their way to make one's stay special. All the restaurants are excellent in their different ways, the rooms a delight, the pool, salon and spa wonderful. Just wandering through the corridors is a feast for the eyes with furniture, prints and flower arrangements to stop and admire, and everywhere the perfume of jasmine. A very useful location for exploring the city. We will return every time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJPfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad to note your appreciation for the facilities, atmosphere, location and the warmth & friendliness of the staff.

We thank you for your patronage & look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A great place to retreat to if you find the pace of New Delhi to frantic. High Tea is served from 3pm onwards in the Atrium at this beautiful hotel. Places are generally reserved for those staying at the hotel, so it is a good idea to arrive early. There is a choice of different types of tea and a three tiered plate per person. Staff were warm and friendly. Alcohol including cocktails is available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad to note your appreciation for the high tea experience, and the warmth & friendliness of the staff.

We thank you for your patronage & look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you are traveling to Delhi, then I would highly recommend their lunch buffet. My parents live in Delhi, so we did not stay at the hotel. We went there on a Tuesday afternoon and decided to have the lunch buffet. There are many upscale hotels in Delhi, but what makes the Imperial unique is the ambience. The hotel dates back to the British era, and the beautiful artifacts take you back in time. The hotel has all the modern amenities while preserving its rich heritage. The food was excellent and was complemented by excellent service. We sat on the patio since it was still nice outside. The food had a good mix of Indian and Western items, and the desert menu was to kill for. We ate more than we should have, and then had a wonderful time walking through the public areas and viewing the historical pieces of art. The buffet cost about $ 50 USD per person. We will definitely go back for another meal or two the next time we are in Delhi!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsPATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you had a wonderful experience at The Imperial, and enjoyed the lunch buffet at 1911 restaurant. Its a pleasure to note your praises for the ambience, art and historic value of the property.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Did not stay here but visited the bar which is in a class of its own
The bar run by Suraj and Jatinder.Greeted by Niva.

This hotel idealy located fro visiting central Delhi and CP, and since the introduction of the magical metro life has become more relaxed when travelling by the Metro

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin4sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you had a wonderful experience at The Patiala Peg. Your kind words of appreciation for the team members have added to their motivation levels.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went to the Imperial for an anniversary staycation. We enjoyed so many aspects of it; the amazing service to the infinity pool. The included breakfast buffet was great and definitely highlighted the Imperial's bakery. It is a nice relaxing place away from the busy streets of Delhi.

The restaurant choices were good also, including the Spice Route which is always rated high. The high tea is also very good with a good selection of savory and sweet (we had a high tea buffet for the weekend).

It was well worth the money (it was cheaper in September than other times of the year). I highly recommend it for anyone that has the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannahK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and services at The imperial. I am especially thankful for your praise for The Spice Route & Atrium and the overall ambience of the hotel.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

4th time staying here. Stayed for a week. Its FAR too expensive really compared to other 5* hotels in Delhi but I still love the hotel for its atmosphere of peace and serenity - somehow I am always soothed here and stress melts away. I dont know how they do it but it just feels so quiet and unhurried here even when its busy. The welcome on arrival each time was great when we were in the hotel car but not always so good when we arrived in a taxi or on foot. Clearly the mode of appearance matters a lot. Service was generally very good although rather impersonal and concierge desk can be very busy. We had one or two excellent encounters with staff such as Sanisha from the front desk cashiers and one of the pool attendants who was very efficient and on the ball. We had problems getting the internet one day and the chap who came to the room to sort it out was very quick and helpful. The food and drinks were generally very good in the restaurants and room service and the dal makhani was amazing. The pool is lovely but unheated and was really a little cold - fine once you got going but getting in had to be fast and determined. All the facilities we used were very good. The pillows on the bed were the most comfortable I have ever had. One peeve (apart from cold pool) is that if breakfast is part of your package you apparently cant pay a room service charge to get it delivered to the room but apparently have to pay for the whole breakfast which seems very unfair.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freespiritsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am grateful for your kind appreciation of the hotel’s soothing environment, facilities, staff, food & service. I am deeply apologetic to note your views on the welcome on arrival via taxi or foot and would like to assure you that we welcome all our guests with equal warmth & enthusiasm. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience if you felt otherwise at any instance.

Also, I have noted your disappointment with the charges of breakfast served in room and would like to clarify that the breakfast included in the room package is only the ‘Buffet breakfast’ served in the 1911 restaurant. This is clearly mentioned in the reservation confirmation sent while booking. Breakfast ordered via room service is separate from the buffet breakfast and thus is chargeable.

Your kind words of appreciation for the team members have added to their motivation levels and we do hope for another chance to serve you soon.

Thank you once again for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back home.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing